5/17 JuJu AMPS 474 +6 194 PMPS 203

Status
Not open for further replies.

JuJu09

Member Since 2014
last condo 12/14/14

WCR Good

Ketone Neg 5/13/15


Well, the honeymoon is over. We knew there was a high probability JuJu would need insulin again, we just didn't expect it to be so soon. I last gave an update around the holidays and all had been well since, so I never posted.

Last week, Ava, noticed JuJu started drinking from the bathtub faucet. We were testing him periodically (every few weeks) and his BGs were usually below 100, or slightly above. The drinking from the faucet raised an alarm, though, so we tested him and his BG was in the 300's. Having been through DKA with him last year, we decided to get him to the vet ASAP. They tried to run a fructosamine but the sample was...cloudy? The doc wasn't overly concerned about that, she said it's not uncommon, can't remember her explanation. She ran the urinalysis and said he was ketone neg and everything else looked good. She did note some bacteria so she started him on some meds. I'll get the name of them tomorrow. She wants to do a full blood panel within the next week, or so. She feels he could have pancreatitis and the flare ups could be the cause of him needing insulin again.

Money is tight and we have no transportation at the moment so, while we want to get the blood work done asap, we really need to try and get our car back on the road first.

The vet asked if we wanted to try PZI this time because it's about 1/3 of the cost of Lantus. We, Ava and I, agreed to use Lantus again because it worked well for JuJu last time. The vet was understanding and I thanked her for giving us the alternative option.

I just continued the new numbers on JuJu's old SS. I know I'm supposed to start a new tab but couldn't figure out how to get a blank SS on the new tab. I'll try and fix it tomorrow.

He's had some green nadirs the last two nights but some serious bounces have come along with them. We'll continue with the current dose for a few more cycles and hopefully he'll stop the bouncing.

Hope everyone, sugars and beans, enjoys their Sunday.
 
I'm so sorry that JuJu's back on the juice. I'm glad there's no DKA to deal with. Hopefully once the infection is cleared up, he can head back to the falls.
 
AMPS +6 194 PMPS 203

Not sure how to edit the original subject line on my mobile with the new software. Also just realized I forgot to close the url [/url] for my last condo, so my entire post links to it. I thought the entire post being blue text looked funny. :)

We have to leave so I had to shoot a hour early. Gave him a reduced dose of 0.75u. Felt it was safer than giving him a full dose. Especially since he's had a couple PMs <50. Gonna leave some food on the counter for him to find later.


Mary, we're thankful we caught it early and avoided the DKA. The falls would be great but I'm fully prepared to shoot JuJu twice a day, for life. Please let us avoid that dreaded DKA. That's the tough part.

I peeked at RBs SS. I'm really surprised he's still bouncing so much. I hope everything else is going well.


Molly, he has not had a dental before. I did forget to mention the vet did notice his teeth/gums were bleeding. She said it's FORL. She said it's common and didn't recommend anything for it. I plan on doing some research on it later. I completely forgot dental is a primary reason for sugars needing to resume insulin. I'm sure someone on here advised me to get him a dental after his OTJ party, I simply forgot.

His meds are:

Cefpodoxime 100mg once a day for 10 days.
 
Sorry to see you back here Ju Ju :oops::oops: Did they test for hypothyroid? That can mess with TR as well. Also, I would suggest you make sure your vet does a Culture and Sensitivity on the urine, this will identify what the bacterial is and what AB is appropriate for it. Some vets try to save their clients money by not sending out the C & S and just give out the AB which may be the wrong AB. I wonder why your vet suspects pancreatitis? Is he symptomatic? I am praying it isn't pancreatitis, it is very difficult to manage, at least that has been our experience. :nailbiting: RE: Lantus- I will hope and pray you don't need to buy more insulin, but if you need to do so, you might consider ordering from Mark's Marine Pharmacy in BC. I paid $300 for my first vial of Lantus and $400 for our first set of Lantus pens from my regular pharmacy in my neighborhood. Mark's Marine Pharmacy was $155, true, it took one week but it arrived in perfect condition, it was a very pleasant customer service experience for me.
 
Yep, Mikey is still a complete and total rubber ball. Another member referred to Mikey as the "FD Problem Child". I'd say that about sums it up! :)
 
Hey Matt!

Well I'm so sorry you, Ava, and JuJu have to be back. The FORL can cause him to come out of remission as can any potential urinary tract infection or inflammation such as pancreatitis.

We've helped some members get their kitties back into remission. Because you have already been through this and are experienced, you will help him best by being more aggressive than a new member would be. Don't necessarily expect him to react to the insulin the same way (although he might) and don't be surprised if his dose this time exceeds what he was on at his highest last time around.

I'm glad you didn't let him sit at 1u long and got him right into green with 1.25u. Since he got down to 43 and he's still a newly diagnosed kitty, you do need to reduce tomorrow but good job shooting through the bounce. You might just want to shave his dose if you can be around to test him. If not, see how he will do on 1u. For cats that fail reductions, the CGs can allow them to go between 40-50 on three different days before reducing by 0.25u but we should see how he handles reductions before we go there.

I can set up a different tab for you and copy the info over if you will PM me. I can't remember if I still have editing rights on his SS. If I do and you want the help, I can do it fast. If I don't and you want to give me editing rights, I can tell you how in a PM and do it for you :)

Don't get too comfy here, JuJu....we are only going to let you rent the space but you need to get back to the falls.
 
FORL always causes problems. There is pain from teeth cracking, nerves exposed, plus the teeth decaying faster than regular dental issues.
It is essential that you get the teeth removed as soon as you can.... x-rays are needed during the dental so they can see how many are cracked.
We've done the extractions 3 times now....
Sorry that you have so many financial priorities ahead of you.... seems like it's always something, huh?
 
Ruth, the vet was just letting us know the Pancreatitis is a possibility. As you've said, hopefully not. I really appreciate the heads up on the $155 vial of Lantus. I just paid $300.


Mary, that it does!


Marje, Hey! The vet suggested we start with 1u. To be honest, I was a little nervous with that because of how he seemed to display a high insulin sensitivity before.

I gave him his next shot at 1.25u before I saw your advice to shave it. I'll try and get with you before his PM dose (4pm est). I'm not sure about the SS editing, I'll try and give you permission to edit.


Rhi, I'll ask the vet more about the FORL procedures. Get some pricing info from her. I definitely feel like the blood work is a priority, though.

Yes, always something!


Thank you ladies for checking in on us. Much appreciated.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top