5/17 Jack: 201@amps, 71@+4 - food/stress struggles

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Member Since 2020
Last Post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-15-jack-372-amps-183-3.290022/#post-3179488

Technically today is supposed to be the last day on 9.5 units (day 7) I may hold the dose another day or two because we are in the middle of massive food changes courtesy of William Kitten. Feeding time is a nightmare, William has no appetite despite the appetite stimulant they sent home. I think the other meds are bothering his stomach as well, so I'm trying everything I can think of to offer, but that means Jack has to be in the bathroom with Abby until William eats, and Jack is not only stressed about this, but being mean to Abby as well. I fed everyone Weruva Paw Lickin Chicken last night with added water, it seemed to go ok, I thought Jack would have nice low numbers but he stayed in the yellow- William wasn't totally thrilled with Weruva (low carb/low phos) so I opened a can of c/d pate (23% carbs :nailbiting:) and kept having to push Jack away from the bowl- he did get 2 mouthfuls in, I literally sat on the couch and cried after dinner time last night. William still isn't feeling well, not drinking enough- think I'm going to see about some fluids for him today. Also want to get more Purina Pro Plan Urinary Formula cans- Jack was good about that and the turkey is 4% carbs.

It's absolute chaos here, Old Man Otis was at the regular vet yesterday (thus the lack of tests), he has lost a lot of weight- waiting for bloodwork, nothing seen on physical exam. FYI anyone's vet using Antech- the prices are through the roof now, it cost me $415.44 for a comprehensive senior panel with thyroid (code SA080) The regular senior panel is almost $200, I don't know where they get off charging these prices, it's just obnoxious.

Probably won't be on the board this weekend, I'm so far behind in work and house chores. Plus, stalking William when he's in the litterbox really takes a significant amount of time out of my day. Sounds stupid but it's true. :blackeye: Wishing everyone a peaceful weekend, and safe surfing to all the kitties.

Jack won't go by William yet, but Butterscotch and his brothers are all over his hospital cooties, and have been really sweet with him. He has been sleeping with either Butters or Edmund. Below is a pic of William and Edmund sleeping together last night- they bonded as little ones. It's funny, there were 4 in the litter, and Willy and Eddie paired off naturally, just like Runty and Roly-Poly. (William is the orange/white one)

ETA: Jack is down to 71@ +4...that's what comes of not eating enough breakfast :arghh::banghead:
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-5-17_7-32-14.jpeg
    upload_2024-5-17_7-32-14.jpeg
    66 KB · Views: 95
Last edited:
Morning Christine, I'm sorry you're having such a hard time with everything.
Please let me know about Otis ok.
I agree the prices they charge for blood work is crazy!
What a cute pic of William and Edmund . I can't even make out where Edmund's head is lol. What beautiful coloring William has
Oh Christine I feel so bad you cried , but I can see why. I hope things get better for you over the weekend. Sending you lots of hugs my friend :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Morning Christine, I'm sorry you're having such a hard time with everything.
Please let me know about Otis ok.
I agree the prices they charge for blood work is crazy!
What a cute pic of William and Edmund . I can't even make out where Edmund's head is lol. What beautiful coloring William has
Oh Christine I feel so bad you cried , but I can see why. I hope things get better for you over the weekend. Sending you lots of hugs my friend :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
:bighug::bighug:
 
You certainly have your hands full at the moment! :bighug: Doing your best is all anyone can ask, and you are certainly rising to the occasion. Be kind to yourself.

Nice pic! It's good to hear the cootie crisis is over. At one point, I had two boys and 4 girls in our clowder and I used to say, "Dem boys gotta stick together!" They were outnumbered and they frequently stuffed themselves together in small beds, hung on each other, and generally were found together somewhere in the house. Temperament-wise they were complete opposites, but they were best buds.
 
Ugh, male cats have such lousy plumbing (I have one who blocked or partially blocked 5 times). Sending positive thoughts your way. :bighug:

And yes, sometimes life is like a giant game of Whack-a-Mole… :confused:

(The canned C/D “stews” were popular here, including with the blocked guy, but I don’t know the carb percentage)
 
My goodness, Christine. I'm so sorry things continue to be so hectic.
But Awwww, what an adorable pair in the picture. Thank you for sharing!
Hope things will start settling down and calm enough for you to get some relaxing time! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ugh, male cats have such lousy plumbing (I have one who blocked or partially blocked 5 times). Sending positive thoughts your way. :bighug:

And yes, sometimes life is like a giant game of Whack-a-Mole… :confused:

(The canned C/D “stews” were popular here, including with the blocked guy, but I don’t know the carb percentage)
Yeah, according to Dr Pierson's chart all the c/d stews are 28% carbs. I did try a few cans, but they are the smaller sized ones, cost a ton, and didn't go over too well. They work well in terms of adding extra water to make 'gravy' but no one liked the fish and after drinking the water out of the bowl, most left the food. It's too much $ to buy something that they aren't going to eat enough of. I'm keeping few cans of everything on hand, just in case, but for now they seem to be liking the Purina ProPlan UT Health (not prescription, but according to my regular vet very close to c/d) and the Purina UR (prescription) in gravy- which of course Jack can't have (14% and 16% carbs) I appreciate your advice and support- thank you.
 
Back
Top