5/17 Gracie PMPS 86 Gus Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

5/16 Recap:
AMPS: 87
+2: 108
+4: 120
+6: 112
+7: 95
+9: 98
PMPS: 109
+2: 113
+4: 100
+6: 100
+8.5: 128


Happy Friday! Lots of caring thoughts to those who need them today and hope there is a ray of sunshine for you :-D

Gracie is sitting here with me having a bath. She's already toured the catio (too hot...sun is out there right now), we played, she laid on her meow lounger to grab a quick nap (Tobey kept aggravating her...see below), and now she is just gearing up for.....the dreaded LUPITA :evil: :evil: :o One more hour of quiet and then more aggravation for the Principessa! Sixth cycle today on the reduced dose and we think she's looking pretty good. She surprised me with that 63 but she's all about surprises.

We had a BIG scare last night with Gus. He got very agitated.....crying and crying, walking wobbly, walking in circles, pupils dilated, drooling. Mike checked everywhere to see if he had been stung by a scorpion or bitten by a spider. Gussie was purring the whole time but his respirations seemed faster....so hard to tell when he purrs. He ate and ate and ate....just gulping it down like he hadn't just eaten two hours before. He just seemed confused and disoriented. We almost headed for the ER but he settled down within about 1.5 hours. He didn't seem in a life threatening medical emergency and we didn't want to stress him more. I have a call into the vet this morning. I don't know if his BP could have spiked or his potassium is too high....both of which could cause a seizure and I wonder if that's not what happened....a little seizure. OTOH, if it was a seizure, I would expect for him to want to sleep a lot but he's pretty alert and active this morning....doing all things normal for him. His BP and potassium have been great but, as you all know, at the time they do it, it's just a snapshot and things can change; with CKD kitties, they can change rapidly. He is on amlodipine for his BP. After he settled down and quit crying and drooling, he ate a little more, peed, and then got his bed and went to sleep. I checked on him several times during the night and he seemed fine.....responsive. Mike had to leave for work today and he was very worried but, right now, I can't see there is anything wrong with Gus. We'll see what the vet thinks.

Here are the kittens....one trying to nap, one being the aggravator :lol: He kept reaching up and slapping her LBG toes :roll: :lol:


Have a great day!
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +1 75 Pic

Hi Marje. Great to see Gracie keeping these nice numbers. The pic is cute. I hope Gus is OK and that he didn't have a seizure last night. We're sending him healing vines and have you both in our Prayers.

Have a great day Marje.
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +1 75 Pic

Glad you got your condo up early.
I was a bit nailbite_smile. Hope it wasn't a mini stroke.... or anything serious.

poor Lupita...
gets the "dreaded" adjective..... :lol:
pfft pfft pfftt will be Gracie's comment when she gets there......heh...

Tobey is cute with his poke poke sister....
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +1 75 Pic

Oh, ((Marje)), I'm so glad Gus is doing ok today.
I was doing some condo lurking last night after Ripley's midnight test and read what you wrote Cain's condo about Gus ~ BIG scare!

Lovely numbers for Gracie today! And that pic captures the dynamic duo's personalities purrfectly!!!

Enjoy your day, and give Gracie, Tobey, and especially Gussie scritches and hugs for me.
:YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +1 75 Pic

Oh Marje, you must have been so scared, about Gus! Bet you're watching him like a hawk today. I'm so glad he's okay.

Brothers do like to aggravate sisters....cute pic :-D

I get a kick out of Gracie's attitude towards Lupita. :lol:
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +1 75 Pic

Yikes on Gus! I hope it was nothing more than a senior moment. I'd be frantic.

Surf safely today Gracie, you're momma's got lots on her mind. Cute pic of the dynamic duo - good to see Gracie is on top of things. :lol:
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +1 75 Pic

(((Marje))) what a scare with Gus. Glad he's okay. I hope the Vet returns your call. And the whole time purring, too, sweet Gussie. Glad he settled down and seems alright and alert, good signs. Sending vines for Gus for all to be okay.
What a cute pic of Gracie and the wide eyed Tobes. No rest for the sleepy Principessa! Tobey sure is up to no good and looking playful. :lol: Oh no on the Lupita visit today and now Gracie must supervise with little sleep. :lol:
Keep us posted on Gus. Lots of hugs and scritches.
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +1 75 Pic

Thank you all....he seems fine this morning. We really appreciate your concern and support.

Sienne PMd me that she wonders if it could be the bupe? I know Mike got the dose right but I accidentally left it out of the frig for a couple hours and Sienne suggested it could have become rancid if it is oil based (which i believe it is). We were almost at the bottom so I'd already called in a refill....need to pick it up as soon as the compounding pharm opens this morning and I will also ask the pharmacist. Waiting for vet to call.
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +1 75 +2 64 Pic

Really glad to hear Gus is okay... that must have been quite scary!

The pic is sooooo cute!! Looks like something my cats would do!!
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +1 75 +2 64 Pic

Great numbers for Gracie, that is just the cutest picture ever, and sending a ton and a half of prayers that all remains well with sweet Gussie.
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +1 75 +2 64 Pic

Wonderful numbers for the Principessa! Keep them down just to show Lupita she doesn't frighten you, Gracie!

:o On Gussie, I'm so glad that he seem all right now. Pwas crossed tht you find a simple cause for it.
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +1 75 +2 64 Pic

Seems like CKD seniors sometimes just have episodes?

With SubQ I wonder if they don't get temporarily under or over hydrated for instance with temperature changes.

Of course males occasionally get yowly and agitated for no apparent reason.
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +1 75 +2 64 Pic

So glad Gussie is feeling better today. That was so scary. Hopefully it is something simple like the bupe.

Such wonderful numbers for Gracie. You go girl!

Have a good day!
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +1 75 +2 64 Pic

Of course males occasionally get yowly and agitated for no apparent reason.

Gus never has.....he is super laid back. Always has been. He might talk sometimes but not like last night...it was distress.

I picked up his new bupe prescription. The pharmacist said that leaving the old one out for a bit wouldn't have mattered. But she said if we weren't really shaking the bottle hard to mix it well, especially as it got to the bottom, he could have gotten a higher concentration of the drug which could have caused his symptoms.
He's been his normal self today. Still waiting for the vet to call. Sure wish our regular one was here but she's cruising the Med :-D Wish Mike and I were, too :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +1 75 +2 64 Pic

Prayers and best thoughts for Gus. Pretty sure you've been shaking the bupe well, but the info that if you don't, it can make the concentration increase as the vial empties is something everyone is now aware of and needs to know.

I dunno, from that pic, it looks to me like Tobes is the innocent one, and Gracie's near "stink eye" look seems like she's the instigator. Like she's daring the poor guy to smack her toes. :lol:
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +1 75 +2 64 Pic

Just getting caught up - so sorry Gus had a scary event! Glad to see he has settled down. I hope he just got a little too much joos and gets back to his regular self. Great pic of Tobes and Gracie! Too cute!
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +1 75 +2 64 Pic

That had to be scary with Gus last night. I'm glad he's better today. I hope it was just a reaction to the bupe. Nice numbers for Gracie. That's a great picture.
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +1 75 +2 64 Pic

I think I'm just as impatient as you are to hear what the vet has to say! Great numbers for Gracie and an adorable photo. (Now....... If the vet would just call!)
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +1 75 +2 64 Pic

Cute pic and glad Gus is ok - great numbers for your girl.

Hope all is well now...
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +1 75 +2 64 Pic

Love the pic! And Gracie's numbers! So glad to hear that Gus is feeling better! Hope you hear from the vet soon!!!
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +2 64 +4.5 76 +6 89 +9.5 73

Thank you all for your concerns about Gus. It means more than you can imagine.

Evidently, the vet (not our regular one) THOUGHT she called at noon but she evidently dialed the wrong number and left a message at someone else's number. I finally couldn't take it anymore and called them back just a bit ago.

She said she feels certain that it was (in order of what she thinks is most likely) either (1) bupe issue or (2) BP. She said she is 99.999% certain it was not a "vascular event" (e.g. seizure or stroke). She said it would be best to recheck his BP but if he has been fine ever since the initial issue resolved, she even more leans towards it being a bupe issue. She still wants his BP rechecked within the next week just to be sure it is still stable and if he shows any change in his condition at all, get him in to see them or to the ER if the clinic is closed.

He has been fine today.....acting normal, eating, responsive, etc. I picked up the new bupe and gave it to him and he did fine with it. He's been very steady on his feet and alert today.

Thank you all again for your caring thoughts.
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +2 64 +4.5 76 +6 89 +9.5 73 Gus Upda

Wow, I'm glad he's doing better, and hope that the problem was just the Bupe. That's a good lesson to us all about making sure meds are completely mixed. I'm guilty of that sin at times for my meds too :oops: :oops:

Great picture!!!
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +2 64 +4.5 76 +6 89 +9.5 73 Gus Upda

I have some prefilled syringes of bupe in my fridge and didn't even know they needed to be shaken or mixed.

I'm glad your vet is 99.999% certain it wasn't a seizure or stroke. I hope he does fine from here on out. Hugs and skritches.

Cute picture of your kitties :cool:
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +2 64 +4.5 76 +6 89 +9.5 73 Gus Upda

OMG, we totally missed your condo today. We've been a little crazy around here. Paws crossed for the beloved Gus the Gentleman Cat. We sure hope it was just a meds issue and nothing more. Oh, and then there are all the greens from the Queen too. I hope you have a bottle of wine set aside to recover this evening! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/17 Gracie AMPS 63 +2 64 +4.5 76 +6 89 +9.5 73 Gus Upda

Hi Marje - so sorry I missed this today. How scary for you, but I am glad things seem OK now. What a relief. I so hope it was just the meds, sounds logical to me, from all you have said. Be well Gus.

And Gracie - nice greens today!
 
Thanks again for all the visits.

Dyana....you don't have to shake the prefilled syringes because that is not the compunded bupe. That is just the pure injectable. The compounded also has an oil or water base and we have it flavored so it has to be well mixed.

Perfect :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: day for the LBG. It's been cooler today and she's been on the catio with me most of it.

Dinner and condos!!! :-D
 
Marje, I'm just reading your Gus report. How scary that must have been! We are so glad that he recovered well from whatever it was. I hope that Gussie will be just fine now. Sending "be fine, Gus" vines.

Love the pic of Gracie and Tobey. Tell Tobey he can ride on my bike with me any time, but not in the basket, since I don't have baskets on my bikes. He'll have to balance on the rear rack of my Bike Friday!

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Hi Marje. So glad that Gus is doing better and that it wasn't a serious medical problem. Great start of the evening for Gracie.

Have a great night Marje.
 
So glad that Gus is better! Love the photo; I'm with Carl - LBG is taunting Tobes in that photo :lol:

Nice long green surf today :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top