5/17 Gobbles AMBG 75 - OTJ TRIAL DAY 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=95400

Team Gobbles' 6 P's are in place!!!

Well, today is Gobbles' 6 month FD dx anniversary. I thought it only appropriate to start his OTJ Trial today if I could!!! He dipped to 56 last night at +5 so I'm almost certain he would of went 50 or below by +6!!! I hope this isn't premature, but I am going for it. I couldn't of given him his shot this a.m. anyways because I'm not going to be home this morning. I have to leave here shortly and won't be home to monitor; my husband and I promised my Mother on Mother's Day that we would be over this week to do yard work and clean out her gutters. I will check his BG when I get home; probably about +6-ish...

OMGee...this is kind of scary; I don't want to screw up nailbite_smile
 
How exciting. Congrats on Day 1! Nice start. :mrgreen: dancing_cat dancing_cat

Kat, I hope your eye is doing better.
 
Kat, how exciting to log on and see Gobbles's condo starting a Trial. So happy for you and Gobbles

Congratulations to Kat and Gobbles on OTJ Trial Day!!
:RAHCAT
 
WOOHOO!!!​

Yes, you're right, the day has good Karma. Paws SO crossed - this is so exciting!!! And since you had to skip anyway, you'll get an idea, even though the beginning will be just dumping shed so let's see what the next couple cycles show! :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D
 
I'm sorry Kat. You're welcome to start a trial but my crystal ball doesn't work when it comes to guessing where the numbers "might have" gone. The consistent feedback you requested yesterday was:

Jill & Alex said:
i agree with sienne. gobbles is very, very close to an OTJ trial! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
if i were in your shoes, i would continue with 0.1u until either gobbles earns a reduction by dropping below 50 again or maintains "normal" numbers on 0.1u for a week.
 
Hi Kat!
Happy 6-month Anniversary to Gobbles!
Good luck with the OTJ trial (we're crossing all of our paws and fingers here!)
Sending feel-better vines to you ~ I hope your eye is healing well.


:RAHCAT
 
Hi Kat. Congrats on Gobbles OTJ trail. We're pulling for Gobbles to be successful over the next 14 days.

I hope your eye is improving and that you wear eye protection when cleaning the gutters.

Have a great day.
 
Look how far you and Gobbles have come in six months! Good job!!

I tend to agree with Sienne; but since you have started, here are the instructions:

  • Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).

  • If he is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!

  • If the trial is successful, after 14 days, we have a party!!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck with the trial. Hope his ears and your eye are better today. :-D
 
Great Start SIR GOBBLES!!! & Happy Anifursery!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Kat!....Good luck with the OTJ trial & I hope Gobby has no surprises for you...tell him he better start convincing Sabrina OTJ is the way to go, she's still not holding the doses :? I hope your eye is feeling better! :RAHCAT dancing_cat :RAHCAT dancing_cat (((((BIG HUGS & SCRITCHES))))) Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
I'm sorry Kat. You're welcome to start a trial but my crystal ball doesn't work when it comes to guessing where the numbers "might have" gone. The consistent feedback you requested yesterday was:

Jill & Alex said:
i agree with sienne. gobbles is very, very close to an OTJ trial! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
if i were in your shoes, i would continue with 0.1u until either gobbles earns a reduction by dropping below 50 again or maintains "normal" numbers on 0.1u for a week.
Hi Sienne, I was not home to monitor to Gobby today; I tested him when I left, at +2 (BG 64) and just got in 15 minutes ago, and therefore, he was alone for 5 hours. I left LC out for him and I just fed him some LC 5%. I am on my way out the door; won't be gone too long. I didn't know that I wasn't supposed to test him during the day when on an OTJ trial; I thought he could still go low even though he had no shot this morning (how long does it take for the insulin to leave the body)?? So sorry

Here's part of my first post today:

"... hope this isn't premature, but I am going for it. I couldn't of given him his shot this a.m. anyways because I'm not going to be home this morning. I have to leave here shortly and won't be home to monitor; my husband and I promised my Mother on Mother's Day that we would be over this week to do yard work and clean out her gutters. I will check his BG when I get home; probably about +6-ish..."

So I shouldn't test him till what would of been his PMPS, correct?
 
You can test whenever you want. The point of testing at the usual pre-shot times is so you can catch any change in numbers quickly if the trial isn't holding and numbers deviate from a normal range.
 
Happy anniversary! Good luck on the trial. We have paws crossed here. You and Gobbles are doing so well.

Hope you eye is getting better! Don't work too hard today.
 
So exciting to see the start of another cat on an OTJ trial. Keeping all our paws and toes crossed for success.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top