5/17 Gideon AMPS 544!!!

Shiloh567

Member Since 2020
Date AMPS U PMPS U
05/12/2020 481 2
05/13/2020 249 1 481 1
05/14/2020 340 1 290 1
05/15/2020 435 1 402 1
05/16/2020 333 1 471 1
05/17/2020 544 1

As you can see, not much success with moving the numbers in the right direction. We will be seeing the vet again on Wed, 5/20. Food is low carb wet. Treats only freeze dried meat like Stella & Chewies.
 
So tomorrow will be a week on insulin. Do you have enough test strips now to do a 12 hour curve? You would test every 2 hours. That is what SLGS have you do. For now that’s what I would do because you don’t have any idea what is the lowest he has gone on one unit. Lantus is dosed on how low a dose takes yiur cat and not on the preshots.

Would you please add today’s date to yiur subject? Thanks. I’m going to link your intro condo to this one.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/05-15-2020-new-member-gideon-blue.229648/#post-2571856
 
Welcome to the group! It looks like you're new to all this...

If you could please put your numbers on the SS it would be very helpful to see the colors, etc. Do you have numbers from the first part of the week?

Also, which dosing method are you following - looks like @tiffmaxee mentioned SLGS - a lot of us started with that method as it's slow and careful...which is a good way to start so you get your legs under you as far as testing and the impact of the insulin. As @tiffmaxee mentioned, it would be great if you set up your title kinda like we all do like this: 5/17 Gideon AMPS ### and if you have a question you can add it to attract more attention to your post...

He's a beautiful kitty btw...sorry about the amputation but there are other 3-legged wonder cats on here and I'm sure you'll meet them soon. Just keep posting! Great having you join us :bighug::bighug:
 
Sorry I don't have the SS working yet. It is fine on my end, but not when I post it to the groups.
Today Gideon is higher that even when he saw the vet last Tuesday, and was started on Lantus. Yes, Started Low and Going Slow. Hoping this is the right thing to do here. Vet wanted 2 units twice daily, but I am only giving 1 unit twice daily at 7A & 7P.
 
Maybe @Marje and Gracie or @Chris & China (GA) can have a look at your SS and see why it's not working for you.

Some cats' stress level increases their glucose number. Freckle's number goes down when she sees the vet. There's no rule when it comes to our diabetic cats.

IMO, 1 u of Lantus is usually a good starting point. How much does Gideon weigh?
 
Maybe @Marje and Gracie or @Chris & China (GA) can have a look at your SS and see why it's not working for you.

Some cats' stress level increases their glucose number. Freckle's number goes down when she sees the vet. There's no rule when it comes to our diabetic cats.

IMO, 1 u of Lantus is usually a good starting point. How much does Gideon weigh?
I already sent a pm to Marje but I think we just figured out the issue. She didn’t use a google account email.
 
Gideon weighs 11 pounds. He is a new left front leg amputee and my vet thinks the stress of having the surgery made him diabetic.
When he sees the vet, his glucose level is higher. It always has been, but Fructosamine test clearly showed he is now a diabetic.
 
Sorry I don't have the SS working yet. It is fine on my end, but not when I post it to the groups.
Today Gideon is higher that even when he saw the vet last Tuesday, and was started on Lantus. Yes, Started Low and Going Slow. Hoping this is the right thing to do here. Vet wanted 2 units twice daily, but I am only giving 1 unit twice daily at 7A & 7P.
I can see it in your link just fine so what do you mean that it’s “fine in your end but not when you post it to the group”? I’m happy to help but just need a bit more info. :) Thank you!
 
I can see it in your link just fine so what do you mean that it’s “fine in your end but not when you post it to the group”? I’m happy to help but just need a bit more info. :) Thank you!
Hi Marje. We have lots of catching up to do soon. Thanks for checking in. She didn’t use a gmail account to set up. I think that’s the problem.
 
Hi Marje. We have lots of catching up to do soon. Thanks for checking in. She didn’t use a gmail account to set up. I think that’s the problem.
No....I have lots of members set it up using a different email account than gmail. That’s allowed. There’s some other issue but we will figure it out!

yes...I’ll love to catch up. Miss you!!!!:bighug:
 
Hello there! I’d like to also ask that you title your subject line in the following format:

5/17 Gideon AMPS 481

and add tests as you get them.

And, as Luci said, please update his SS with all available tests. If you are having any problems with that, please let me know.

Welcome!
 
So tomorrow will be a week on insulin. Do you have enough test strips now to do a 12 hour curve? You would test every 2 hours. That is what SLGS have you do. For now that’s what I would do because you don’t have any idea what is the lowest he has gone on one unit. Lantus is dosed on how low a dose takes yiur cat and not on the preshots.

Would you please add today’s date to yiur subject? Thanks. I’m going to link your intro condo to this one.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/05-15-2020-new-member-gideon-blue.229648/#post-2571856
I actually was going to do a curve on Tuesday. No success with spreadsheet, and I can't stay on the computer much longer today...sorry.
 
Send Marje a pm. She can fix it in a couple minutes. At the top click on inbox and then start a conversation. Then invite Marje&gracie to join. I’ve alerted her to you needing help. I’m so glad you are here.
 
Back
Top