5/17 George AMPS 135 +2.5 183 Yuck!! +6 122 +9 83 pmps 89

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gill & George

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

George's is overall good today, got out of his bed to say good morning, hasn't done that in a while, and he ate on his own no need to be spoon fed. Fur is feeling better too. He also said hello to DH and waited wide eyed for his breakfast, he was plainly hungry.

His BG tells a different story, with that +2.5, I'm thinking of taking the dose up to 0.5u, heard that BFG? Unless we see some nice greens today, there's a dosecrease threat on the table. I had hoped that we would see his BG settle down, it had held quite well also things considered, prior to dental, but even with everything going on I don't think it's doing enough for him. I'll check on him at 3 hourly intervals to make sure I don't miss anything interesting during the course of the morning.

This is probably going to complicate matters for our vacation.:rolleyes: we leave on the 25th, I had hoped that our petsitter would not need to shoot him with insulin. But George may have other ideas. She's looked after him before and shot and tested him, I just hoped that it wouldn't be necessary for her to do, she's already doing/has done so much for us/him.

Off to work in the allotment, have got most of our veggies in, but have some more lettuces to plant and pumpkin, zucchini and cucumber to sow. Hopefully I'll get that done before it turns too hot for me, and then I can plant up some ornamentals too.


Vines and Prayers for all those kitties in need.
Vetty vines for Olive as she heads to the vet for a check up.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
George's BG could still be affected by pain and all the aftereffects of his dental. Don't get discouraged. Many people have found their cats went higher after a dental before going down.

I'm very excited to read he is eating on his own and behaving more like himself. Very good signs!

Lots of vines continue to flow your way! Go, BFG!
 
Great to hear George seems to be feeling good and is eating for you. I agree with Tricia and Lizzie that George may need a couple more cycles for his body to recover from everything. Sending more prayers. :bighug::bighug:
 
Guess what you are all saying makes sense what with the cycle count starting again after the skipped shot.
But even prior to surgery he had been creeping up, so it looks more like an upward trend for me even with that skipped shot in there. I hear you though, and with the teeth being a game changer, maybe waiting a couple of cycles would be the way to go. I'm feeling anxious that we are going away and want to have keep him regulated till then. Can you tell I'm the impatient sort:oops:

It's been a while since I had to wear those patience pants.
 
I think it's the post operative pain that is making his number shoot up and since they did dramatically after eating which was probably sore for him. Also the skipped shot. Did he have extractions on both sides of his mouth like Bubba did? Oh, and just curious, was one of the extractions a canine tooth? Did they extend the AB for him?

He's got time to pull it together again before you leave on vaca. At least you have someone competent to take care of him. :)

Garden time! It has been so wet here that we have nothing planted. We do have lots of rhubarb and asparagus , but waiting till it dries to rototill and plant ( DH's job) I am the picker and process person. ;)
 
Did he have extractions on both sides of his mouth like Bubba did? Oh, and just curious, was one of the extractions a canine tooth? Did they extend the AB for him?
Both sides of his mouth, but he's kept his canines.
hey did dramatically after eating which was probably sore for him.
most of the tests are done just before I feed him, so he hasn't eaten for at least a couple of hours before the test. I think pain is a factor, I'm giving the meds at PMPS so it stands to reason that 18hrs later he may be feeling his mouth more.
We do have lots of rhubarb
I've not been successful with my rhubarb, it's a bit hot here. I transplanted one that I had brought from the UK with me in the hope that it would do better, but I think I've killed it. Another one I had sent from Germany is looking pretty wimpish, not enough rhubarb on that to make a crumble for Barbie and Ken:rolleyes: But at least it's not dead.
When we go over to UK DMIL has a fab rhubarb patch I passed on a recipie you gave me last year for a rhubarb preserve, hopefully we'll get some rhubarb crumble when we are there, they are in the rhubarb triangle after all;)

I have a spot that I am planning to plant up with asparagus, didn't get round to it this year, heavy clay and it's been very wet, I should be a lot further along with things in the veggie plot by now.
We've been harvesting broccoli/cauliflower and kale, coming to the end of that (they overwinter here) and we are in full swing with the broad beans and our peas have just started to produce too, as have the carrots celery, beet and lettuce. Potatoes, onions, garlic will be a few more weeks yet.
Toms, aubergine, peppers, honeydew melon, watermelon, zuchini and cucumbers have just gone in. I've been trying to make a trellis to grow the cucumbers up, we'll see how that goes LOL.

DH is the muscle in the garden, but I do the planning, prepping, planting, processing and preserving. (see what I did there? 5 p's:p)
 
Gill, your garden sounds fantastic. I am a bit envious. It's more than I could handle, but still I am definitely green tinged! I hope you get your rhubarb crumble.
 
planning, prepping, planting, processing and preserving. (see what I did there? 5 p's:p)
That was a good one!! Your garden sounds extraordinary!

ETA : Have DMIL make some rhubarb preserves if she hasn't all ready and bring some back with you. You could make them into rhubarb bars. Just follow a good lemon bar recipe. :joyful: The rhubarb does not like it when it gets reallllly hot. That is when we have to water it otherwise it self maintains.
 
Well we have a green pmps:D, looks like he doesn't like the idea of me taking the dose up.

Got a hiss from him at shot time, but he was CPC with his dinner, I do think his teeth are bothering him though he doesn't look too comfortable when he is eating.
He has had his pain meds, I'll get a +1 as I head out the door, on my way to yoga, DH will be left in charge of the crew.

Surf safely kitties
 
Sending heaps of vines for George’s recovery.

And....rhubarb rocks! My Danish grandmother made a summer dessert, rød grød med fløde, made with fresh rhubarb from their garden, and fresh cream poured on top.
 
Last edited:
What a garden you must have. There's only 2 of us so I don t plant much. Tried different melons for years, they never grew. Pumpkins, garlic didn't either. I think I messed up my asparagus as I have little of it. Even my pickles have been less every year. I have to get a good crop this year because we are almost out of them.

Hope George comes down for you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top