5/17 Cobb AMPS 330(3uR) +8 154 PMPS 229(1.5uR)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Freakin A. I don't understand the higher morning preshots, especially if he goes lower at night. He does eat more at night. He sleeps during the day. Erg.

So let's talk about what's next...I increased by 1.5u like we discussed in yesterday's condo. Do you think I need to adjust my R scale as well? I just don't see that it is bringing down Cobb's numbers enough to let the Lantus latch on and go to work. He's stuck in this pink streak and stubbornly refusing to move.

Any thoughts? Much appreciated!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 5/17 Cobb AMPS 330(3uR) - dosecrease

No dosing advice from me - just lots of hugs and crossed paws that the dosecrease will help! :YMHUG:

When you mentioned higher morning numbers, it made me think of the dawn phenomenon. Maybe that could explain some of the higher AM numbers???? (I'm just brainstorming here.)
 
Re: 5/17 Cobb AMPS 330(3uR) - dosecrease

I've heard the same thing Suzanne....The Dawn Phenomenon happens in humans and since so many things that happen with us also happen with our sugarcats, it would explain why so many have higher AMPS numbers.

I can't help on the R, but you are so good at figuring out what to try, I know you'll figure that out too. Seems like the easiest thing to do is use it the same way you have been, and if it doesn't do what you need it to, change it. I think you'd only want to change one thing at a time, so if you're changing the lantus dose, seems like it'd be best to stay with using the R the way you have been for now.

Good luck with the dosecrease!
 
Re: 5/17 Cobb AMPS 330(3uR) - dosecrease

I don't have any advise either.. I was just thinking though, did all of his teeth/gums/mouth issues get resolved at his most recent dental check-up? I was reading somewhere how unresolved pain issues will cause a human diabetics BG to go up. I bet it's the same in other animals.

Cobb is probably not in any pain of any sort.. I wouldn't know. I just thought I'd ask to see if that is a consideration.

What about any illness, i.e.; cold, flu, allergy, congestion, stomach pain, constipation or diarrhea? Infection of any other type? Dehydration? confused_cat

I suppose it could be those anti-bodies that are fighting with the insulin.. I know nothing about Acro..

The only other thing I can think of is I read sometimes when a cat is getting too much insulin it can also cause their numbers to go up. @-)

This FD is all so confusing to me. I definitely do not have a handle on it. :YMSIGH:

When you go back and look at your notes for when Cobb was the most recent time getting better numbers, what were you doing differently during those times, other than giving a lesser amount of insulin?

OH.. thought of a few other things.. Is there any activity going on at your house that isn't as per usual? Any construction inside or outside of your home causing loud noises? Heater on or off now? AC or fan on or off now, or moved the location of it? Doors or windows normally closed but now open, or vice-versa?

How about your son, crying more or less these past few days? How about you or your husband, up earlier or later, gone longer or shorter away from the house? To bed earlier or later? Is there a change of anything else that used to be like a routine in your household? Cats can be so affected by even the slightest changes in their home environment, (even outside of it), but it can register as not such a big deal to us because we have been mentally prepared for the change.
 
Re: 5/17 Cobb AMPS 330(3uR) +2 381 +5.75 246(1.5uR)

I'm not sure about the R scale - mostly because i'm not certain if it's the R that's the issue or the L. I definitely think what you did today by giving another R shot at the nadir is a great idea while we're figuring out if the L is going to be enough. With a dose increase and the change in pens, i think i'd just see how the next 2 cycles play out - let the NDW pass and see what he does.

Is this pen the "old" one from pre-dental or is this a completely new pen?
 
Re: 5/17 Cobb AMPS 330(3uR) +2 381 +5.75 246(1.5uR)

Good luck with the dosecrease. I'm so happy Cobb broke out of his pink funk. Neko would get stuck on Pink Mountain for ages it seemed. :roll: She also has a love of higher numbers in the morning and lower at night. I changed everything I could (except her food), even her insulin and still the same a year later. :YMSIGH: For a lot of cats here, it's often the morning PS that are the last to come down.

@Tina - Both IAA and acromegaly add a degree of randomness to blood sugar readings. The acro tumor can grow and wane on it's own with no outside influence. The IAA antibodies can capture and release injected insulin on their own schedule too. You kind of have to go with the flow and increase/decrease to follow the numbers. Cobb's numbers do not say "too much insulin" to me. Suzanne is doing a great job with Cobb, but you often feel like you are chasing after a speeding train on a curvy track. :roll:
 
Re: 5/17 Cobb AMPS 330(3uR) +2 381 +5.75 246(1.5uR)

oh definitely - i didn't pick up on that, wendy, but I agree with you completely. There's nothing in Cobb's situation that says it's too much insulin. That typically manifests when cats get started on a too-high dose, or get increased by too large of increments when they are starting out. Suzanne followed the protocol so we know there is no chance of that situation here. Cobb also has a diagnosis of iaa, and a possibility of acromegaly, both of which require larger than typical doses of insulin and cause changing insulin needs.

High dose cats are more difficult than the average cat to manage and Suzanne is doing a fantastic job.
 
Re: 5/17 Cobb AMPS 330(3uR) +2 381 +5.75 246(1.5uR)

I went with a completely new pen. I couldn't find the other one last night. A odd of a place for it to be, I think it's in Matty's diaper bag. :roll: It's probably best to not ask. :lol:
 
Re: 5/17 Cobb AMPS 330(3uR) +2 381 +5.75 246(1.5uR)

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: love it!!

for some reason, i don't even think you need to explain! You're a busy mom of a toddler with a diabetic cat - that says it all! ;-) :-D
 
Re: 5/17 Cobb AMPS 330(3uR) +2 381 +5.75 246(1.5uR)

Julie and Wendy, thank you! It's always helpful to hear!!

I got some love this morning when Cobb jumped on the bed. He hasn't come over to me, well, really since before Matty was born. But we had a few minutes. His coat feels divine. It's been years since it has been so soft, not brittle at all. He's jumping around, more playful than he was previously as well. So...I'm not incredibly concerned, just curious what to tweak in my strategy. :smile:
 
Re: 5/17 Cobb AMPS 330(3uR) +2 381 +5.75 246(1.5uR) +8 154

Suzanne I must agree with the girls assessment as well. Giving a bit more R to help stave off a higher pre shot number tonight, couldn't hurt. I've done that so many times and most of the time it did the trick. I'm really happy to see that blue and to hear that Cobb is being well.... Cobb! :smile: Isn't it wonderful when they act all silly and happy and lovey like nothing is wrong at all. As for the pen disappearing, that gave me a tickle :lol: . I hope you're having a good weekend.
 
Re: 5/17 Cobb AMPS 330(3uR) +2 381 +5.75 246(1.5uR) +8 154

Sorry Suzanne, Wendy, and Julie..

I never meant to suggest or give you any insulin dosing advise. I couldn't give ANYONE on FDMB insulin dosing advise. :lol: I was speaking off the top of my head, running through other scenarios of why a diabetic cat's BG could go higher. I think that I read the higher number thing on Tilly's page, again, about too much insulin can sometimes cause a cat's BG to go higher. I don't think she mentioned that it was usually when the cat first starts insulin injections, but she may have said that. It's good to know though, even though I'll never mention anything about insulin in another person's condo again, unless I'm talking about my Rocky. ;-)

Suzanne you ARE being such an awesome cat mom-nurse to your Cobb.

It's excellent, excellent, excellent to see Cobb back in BLUE!! Woot Woot! party_cat party_cat
 
A nice, lower yellow preshot for tonight. That blue was nice to see as well. I know the last time Cobb hit green, and got that 39, he had a lot of R that week. I remember we discussed if that was the reason and I wasn't going to take a reduction, until that 39 popped up.

Even though he was in the lower end of the yellows this evening, I gave him some R. Hopefully it'll nudge him down into a blue surf for tonight - although I could certainly use some sleep. Our +2 or 3 will tell us where we are headed though.

Side note: <stepping on my soapbox>I know we have an influx of new members that week. I haven't caught up on all the condos yet (which I do read but don't always comment). Please note Cobb requires a lot of insulin. Please don't copy any dosing you see in his spreadsheet. We've gotten to this dose safely over the course of many months, diagnostic tests, lots of frustration, lots of questions and a LOT of patience! Give the insulin time to work. FD is frustrating, tricky, and yes, annoying. You might not think your cat is getting it, and then suddenly it clicks into place. We all want to see green. We all want our cats in remission. Remember your cat is more than their BG numbers. Cobb showed me that this morning. Remember why you're treating this disease. If you aren't going to love and enjoy the cat you have (high numbers and all), what's the point in treating this disease and prolonging their life? <stepping off my soapbox now>
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top