5/17 Claudio AMPS 120 PMPS 149

Susan & Claudio

Member Since 2019
5-16-claudio-amps-170-pmps-206

Quick rundown...
AMPS 120
+2 90
+4.25 43 Knew we would be busy for awhile.
+4.50 49
+4.75 35
+5 51
+5.25 61
+5.75 74

Going to test again in 20 minutes.
Here is my question...
I know I'm supposed to reduce .25 because of the 35.
He is currently at 4.5U. Reduction will bring it to 4.25U.
But he didn't have great numbers at 4.25U. Look at the 11th through the 13th.
His numbers were much better at this dose of 4.5U.
Is it too dangerous to stay at this 4.5U dosage ?
Or for his safety should I reduce to 4.25U ?
 
You really can't predict how well a cat will do on a previous dose that worked (or in some cases didn't)...the thing with cats is the pancreas has beta cells and when those become active they produce insulin - which may be why the lower numbers are appearing today - however, there's no guarantee that the lower dose won't act the same - and since we can't tell how many beta cells are helping or how much longer they'll be helping...all you want to do is play it safe. It's possible that his pancreas is behaving like a normal pancreas and if you were to continue with this apparently successful dose, you may risk a hypo situation...He's giving you signals that he's hit a threshold...so you're wise to reduce.

Never know what's going to happen next...it could be the beginning of many reductions. :)
 
It's possible that his pancreas is behaving like a normal pancreas and if you were to continue with this apparently successful dose, you may risk a hypo situation...He's giving you signals that he's hit a threshold...so you're wise to reduce.

Never know what's going to happen next...it could be the beginning of many reductions. :)

Thanks for that "threshold" indication.
Beginning of many reductions.....I wish I could hold you to that, lol.
 
Nice catch and good job getting him up and surfing. Safety first is our rule for taking those reductions. Marje wrote a great post on Reductions, and why they should always be taken.

Thanks for Marje's post on reductions.
I also read "How Low Is Too Low" by Libby and Lucy. Very informative.
In hindsight, I should have tested sooner when I saw that 90. Then I could have steered him before he hit that 43.
 
He was going to come back up even if I had to drag him up by his tail.
Gave the reduced dose of 4.25U tonight.
I'll see by tomorrow's PM how this dose is working.
Paws crossed.
 
Back
Top