5/17 Chico

Status
Not open for further replies.
Chico was here in 2005 while on Lantus for 3 months. He has been off the juice since 03/2005. However, he is needing some help again & this time we're on PZI, 2 U once a day.
But I think we should be trying 1 U twice a day:

AMPS 282 @ 7:00 - gave 2 U
+2 he's at 173 now

Chico can crash very quickly - I think we should be doing 1 U twice daily instead of 2 U once daily - even though I totally hate needles!
 
Yes, like all feline insulins, PZI works best for a 12 hour cycle and needs to be given twice daily. So I think your idea of cutting the dose in half and giving it every 12 hours is excelllent. It is wonderful you are testing - if Chico has a history of unpredictable responses, it will help you prevent any unexpected surprises.

PZI is a small but friendly forum. It is not as busy as Lantus or the Health forum, but when you post in the morning or evening, you will get responses. If you need immediate help, post over on Health.

Have you seen the PZI document: viewtopic.php?f=24&t=32799 It will give you some great info on how PZI works. Also, it may be helpful to look at a few posts here and check out the spreadsheets. PZI works very differently than Lantus.

BTW, a spreadsheet is a great tool for you and us. It will help you see trends and patterns, and when you need help with a dose, it helps us see your history at a glance. It is slow to load and a little tricky to get started. If you need help, just ask. viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207
 
Welcome! That's not a bad PS at all for SID dosing, wow! Yes, I would go with 2x a day and the lowered dose. When you say he crashes easily, what do you mean? Has he hypo'd?
 
Thanks everyone - I did take the suggestion & created the spreadsheet for Chico.
I've been using the little booklet that came with my meter, but I see the value of the spreadsheet & will start being more aware of what Chico is doing.
Right now, Chico is spending his days sleeping quite a bit.

One thing with the Google doc - I didn't quite follow how to get the link to look like 'Chico SS' instead of the provded link.
Anyway, doesn't matter as I am able to link to the spreadsheet, so hope you all can as well.

Thanks -
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top