5/17 Blackie+8 198 pmps 173 +2.25 108 +3.5 68 +4 58 +4.5 51

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
After almost 2 days of rebound, Blackie gave us some good numbers last night. He had a nice low blue surf.
pmps 195
+3 107
+5 106
+7 169
+11 206
amps 222

I think I'm giving a fat 3.75, but what is the difference between 3.75 Fat and 4.0 Skinny? Even with my strong reading glasses, I can't see where the difference would be on the syringe. Also, what are the best syringes to use? I use Relion, but I often get a tiny bubble that I can't get out and I also have trouble sometimes moving the plunger to the exact place I want. I twist it, but it doesn't move smoothly.

WCR: Blackie had a good weekend with lots of trips outside since our weather was so nice yesterday. He has continued to be very affectionate and getting lots of lap time.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14707&p=147307#p147307
 
Re: 5/17 Blackie amps 222

Beautiful blue cycle for Blackie last night! Hopefully he gives you some more numbers like that today!

I can't help you on the dosing question, as I am struggling myself with nearly the same thing. Roni suggested to count drops, or that a skinny is the nearest dose minus one drop. So a skinny 4.0 would be 4.0u with one drop taken away. However, that advice may be flawed for your situation, I'm realizing as I write this, because the percentages are not the same for a 0.5u dose and a 4.0u dose. One drop would make much more of a difference on a 0.5u than it would on a 4.0u, at least in my own mind. Sooooooo, ignore everything I've just said and wait for somebody better to come along. ;)

As far as the syringes, air bubbles are DRIVING ME CRAZY too. I use the Monoject syringes from Hocks, and I do know that I have to slide my plunger up and down a few times before drawing the insulin. Otherwise it sticks and doesn't slide so much as jerk. I'm actually thinking of getting the vial of Lantus next time rather than the pens because I waste SO much insulin with these darn pens. I never had air bubble issues with PZI, and I think the difference must be in pen vs. vial. Like Man vs. Wild but for insulin. Wow, I think I didn't get enough sleep last night; I'm losing it!! :o

Sorry that I really didn't have any helpful advice for you in two paragraphs of rambling! Just know that I feel your pain and will be reading this to see if you get any good tips. ;-)
 
Re: 5/17 Blackie amps 222 +5 162

Nice numbers Blackie and I have trouble with air bubbles too but I have both relion syringes and monoject from Hocks love the monoject hate the relion, relion stick much worse and I think its easier to measure smaller amounts between lines with monoject, relion are the brand we use at work so its what I started with.
 
Re: 5/17 Blackie amps 222 +5 162

Hi Ele, Hi Blackie, I agree that it is almost impossible to measure accurately. I have an old syringe that I keep set at the place where I "think" I'm supposed to be, just so I can compare it with the syringe I'm actually using. We use the Monoject syringes, too, but sometimes I get massive air bubbles that go down the whole side of the syringe. I have had the best air-bubble success with the Precision Sure-Dose Superb Slimline Needle, 29 gauge, 3/10cc. But they do not come with 1/2 unit markings. Still, I like them a lot (they have longer needles, too, so I know I'm not getting a fur shot). Maybe I'll go back to them when I finish the box of Monoject!

Keep those good numbers going!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 5/17 Blackie amps 222 +5 162 +8 198 pmps 173 +2.25 108

Since Blackie is dropping from before pmps, I guess I'll be checking a little more often tonight. Maybe we'll see some green. :-D
 
Re: 5/17 Blackie amps 222 +5 162 +8 198 pmps 173 +2.25 108

I use the GNP brand from Hocks. I only infrequently have a bubble problem.

I also slide the plunger a few times to make sure it moves smoothly.

Nice numbers for Blackie tonight.

ETA: I just saw your post in our condo. Thank Jill. This is a strategy she uses with Alex. The idea is to gradually increase the dose so you get greens but manipulate the curve with food to prevent reductions as much as possible. Gabby's dose may need to be a tiny bit higher but with my being at tbp, I think this is working for now.
 
Re: 5/17 Blackie amps 222 +5 162 +8 198 pmps 173 +2.25 108

greg/carmelita started a thread in the lantus kitties speak out forum on the backup board: Essay Question: How do you get rid of bubbles? Please describe in excessive detail your step by step for shooting insulin into your cat, instead of air bubbles.

here's greg's method:

We use the BD Demi+ syringes, and hold them with the needle pointing at the ceiling for most of this process.

For each shot, we do these things:

1. Throw away the plunger cap and move the plunger a couple of times. (Jojo told us that spreads the plunger lubricant)
2. Make sure the plunger is all the way to the needle end, uncap the needle, and insert the needle into the insulin cartridge.
3. Pull the plunger back pretty far, maybe the 4 or 5 IU mark. The vacuum inside the cartridge "fights" this; it goes slowly.
4. The insulin will start moving into the cylinder very slowly, watch to see how much is in the syringe.
5. When there is about .5 IU more insulin than needed, withdraw the needle from the cartridge without moving the plunger.
6. This causes the insulin to move down to the plunger (away from the needle), and the air goes up to the needle end.
7. Put the cartridge back in the fridge; do the rest of this over the sink.
8. Press the plunger to expel the excess air at the top. (don't skip this step, even if there are bubbles! The less air is in the syringe when you flick on it, the easier it is to form a single bubble that can be pressed out.)
9. If there are any bubbles at this point (often there are not), flick the syringe to bring them to the needle end.
10. Twist the syringe while pressing the plunger slowly to expel any remaining air, and to "dial in" the desired dose. This way, you can see if the bubble is sticking to the side, because you're rotating the syringe and looking at it from all sides.
11. If there's a bubble stuck to the side of the needle collar, draw a tiny bit more air in to join it, and then rotate the syringe the opposite direction to last time, while pressing the plunger. This spins the bubble together and hopefully centers it on the needle hole so you can squeeze it out.
12. Because we do micro-dose, when dialing in doses, we try to hold the syringe so the angle on the needle is facing up. This way, the little drop of insulin that forms there can be pulled back into the needle without bringing air, if we accidentally dial the plunger in a drop too far.

That's it, ready to shoot. Now... find the cat....image

This method gets easier with practice, and seems to make it snap to get rid of bubbles, without introducing air into the cartridge. The trick is, unless you can make a cartridge that works like Lantus, there's no way to practice this with water or whatever. It won't work drawing liquid from a drinking glass. Maybe this is what old Lantus cartridges are for...


quite a few others added their own tips and tricks in the same thread.
 
Re: 5/17 Blackie +5 162 +8 198 pmps 173 +2.25 108 +3.5 68 +4 58

I'm up past my bedtime. :mrgreen: Mr. Blackie is very hungry and letting me know it. He's been getting less than 1 Tb food at each test.

Thanks for the great info, Jill. I will try that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top