? 5/17 Bian AMPS 75 +3 35

bijer

Member Since 2022
Hello everyone, Bijan is staying consistently between 50-80 and doing great and earning more reductions quickly/I am learning that may be faster than I expected/planned out. I am hopeful he can come off of the Lantus soon. I will reduce him to .5 this evening.

I woke him up to test him and now he is currently eating and I gave him some higher-carb treats to help him back up. Will test asap again but normally this has done the trick.

Can you provide guidance on the next few reductions after .5 and less? Is there a case where we go to 0 too soon?
 
Thank you should we work our way down from here?

  • 0.5U = exactly half a unit
  • 0.4U = skinny 0.5 touching the line
  • 0.3U = skinny 0.5 with daylight under the line
  • 0.2U = fat zero with daylight over the line
  • 0.1U = fat zero barely touching the line
 
He's still in the 40's, if you are giving him high carb food, add something like honey, karo, or syrup. He needs to come up now!
could you please link me to where it says this?

With a below 40, it is strongly recommended you take a 0.25 unit reduction. Details of reductions are in here:
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR) and here are the specific sections:

  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
  • Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s. Please ask for advice immediately.
  • If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are few exceptions given to caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
  • We've found many kitties benefit from reducing the dose from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin complet
Bijan is considered to be a newly diagnosed diabetic as it's less than 1 years since diagnosis. The 0.25 unit reduction is for safety. If you don't take reductions when earned, you can be fighting lows for a long time, as you are right now. Sometimes it's like a light switch come on, and they zoom down the dosing scale. And now, more than ever, it's more important that you get that second test at night. It's possible he's been going too low at night.
 
He's still in the 40's, if you are giving him high carb food, add something like honey, karo, or syrup. He needs to come up now!


With a below 40, it is strongly recommended you take a 0.25 unit reduction. Details of reductions are in here:
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR) and here are the specific sections:


Bijan is considered to be a newly diagnosed diabetic as it's less than 1 years since diagnosis. The 0.25 unit reduction is for safety. If you don't take reductions when earned, you can be fighting lows for a long time, as you are right now. Sometimes it's like a light switch come on, and they zoom down the dosing scale. And now, more than ever, it's more important that you get that second test at night. It's possible he's been going too low at night.
Hi everyone

As I initially wrote I will be doing a reduction tonight.

I still have not found the answer to my question of how to manage on his way down to 0 timing wise I am worried about withdrawal and this link does not discuss or explain the drop dosing you have mentioned. Can you please share it w me here in case I’m missing it thank you
 
The Dosing Method Sticky Notes says you take 0.25 unit reductions either when he goes below 50, or spends a week in mostly green. It also says that we see kitty's do well to reduce to 0.1 unit from 0.25 units, when a reduction is earned. After being a 0.1 unit, whether you go to a drop dose or go to an OTJ trial depends on Bijan's numbers. You can post here at that time for help deciding if he needs a drop dose or can go straight to a trial. If he's still seeing some blue numbers, we'll probably suggest the drop dose. A drop is where you push the syringe plunger in hard, put the syringe into the pen (or vial or cartridge), release the pressure on the plunger, and it will vacuum up a drop of insulin.
 
The lucky cats fly down the dosing scale when they decide to be done with insulin. Check out Bobo.
Bobo is so inspiring! i hope the same for Bijan!!


thank you everyone we will keep you posted appreciate your support and insight today <3
 
Back
Top