5/17/21 diabetic cat

Status
Not open for further replies.
We rely on the SS being updated in order to make recommendations. Lowest we can see is a 95.

@Darylish do please try to keep the SS updated.
I’m sorry. Has a family emergency with my mom. As of now Oscar refuses to eat the hard food. He is on fancy feast. His numbers are decreasing daily. I’m not sure if I should give him insulin this morning. His bg is at 148 this morning.
 
The PROZINC DOSING METHODS has two methods for changing dose. We usually recommend that people start with the first one, Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS). Under that, any time you hit a number under 90, the dose is decreased by 0.25U. The decrease is taken from whatever dose produced the 90, so if he goes under 90 today, the next dose will be 2.75U.

That's getting a bit ahead of ourselves today, of course. We'll just have to see what Oscar wants to do!
 
I'll set a time to check back in an hour or so.
Ok thank you. I wasn’t sure how it would affect him if I didn’t give shot this morning. I’ll check him again at 11. I guess that’s what I don’t understand is when to give insulin or how much if his numbers are low. I know it says go down.25 at a time but it’s scary with his numbers going so low. I almost didn’t want to give it to him this morning and then I was contemplating on giving him 2 units.
 
Ok thank you. I wasn’t sure how it would affect him if I didn’t give shot this morning. I’ll check him again at 11. I guess that’s what I don’t understand is when to give insulin or how much if his numbers are low. I know it says go down.25 at a time but it’s scary with his numbers going so low. I almost didn’t want to give it to him this morning and then I was contemplating on giving him 2 units.
What time zone are you? Do you have gravy food just in case you need to steer?
 
Can you get another test, just to confirm that he's going up? He's definitely on the upward move all afternoon, but it'd be nice to be sure. The 3U seems like it was good for him today, but you hold the syringe, so it's a matter of what BG numbers you are comfortable shooting, and with what dose.
 
Also: this thread is getting long, which makes it hard for anyone new to jump in to help. After this, it would be a good idea to start a new thread (put a link to this thread in the first post, so people can go back to read the history if they want).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top