? 5/17/17 Sprocket, AMPS/394, +2.8/364.+7/304. PmPS/263,+2.9/307.+5.7/278.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darnell & Sprocket (GA)

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-13-5-96-19-5-263-noshot.177970/#post-1964256

Amps 394
Bounce from no shot
Eating 2oz of 3carb.
Will copy n paste question here in a min.

????
Same as last night:
Someone of 2 cats threw up a 4inch piece of clear plastic tape with a furball. Not sure which cat. One tried to throw up furball yesterday. Sprocket threw up some grass stuff that came in house on shoes.

Also. Carbs are obviously making a difference to his bg. Yesterday i fed higher carb because i was worried about today. Today i fed a 4 carb at amps then 2 carbs for both meals today. He dropped. I know its not much but when i go up to 5 carb it seems to make a difference.

I know some of u think I am wrong but it keeps happening

He vomited some grass stuff about 2pm or so. Clear stuff.

The other not sure if it was him.

He is surfing good now. Not sure why this keeps happening.

????
Anyone wanna give theories why this is happening??
Plus his bloodwork came back. His ALT was back up to 196 from 158 on April 9th.

Ketone negative
Monocyte was 0.668 with ref range of 0.04-0.53 K/ul (backward u)

Glucose 332. Odd how blood glucose so much higher than bg

No bacteria
No thyroid issue.
I can show a pic of results sent to u on pm. Not sure how to post it here.

I know its hard to believe he is somewhat carb sensitive but I see it.

So thoughts....?
 
There is a labs tab on the spreadsheet. It's the best place to show bloodwork results and will help you see trends. Remember that you are using a human BG meter and the labs do not. At the high numbers it doesn't really matter anyway, high is just high.

Today's numbers are primarily because he got no insulin last night, not a bounce. There may be some minor component that is a bounce. Consistent dosing leads to better numbers. One day, when you can monitor, try shooting those lower numbers. Cycles are much flatter when you shoot green. It's a much better option in a ketone prone cat.

I doubt that two percent difference in carbs fed makes that much difference. Even if exactly the same food is given, cats can have quite wildly varying cycles when the majority of their numbers are still high. If he was tightly regulated, then you might see changes with a change in carbs.
 
There is a labs tab on the spreadsheet. It's the best place to show bloodwork results and will help you see trends. Remember that you are using a human BG meter and the labs do not. At the high numbers it doesn't really matter anyway, high is just high.

Today's numbers are primarily because he got no insulin last night, not a bounce. There may be some minor component that is a bounce. Consistent dosing leads to better numbers. One day, when you can monitor, try shooting those lower numbers. Cycles are much flatter when you shoot green. It's a much better option in a ketone prone cat.

I doubt that two percent difference in carbs fed makes that much difference. Even if exactly the same food is given, cats can have quite wildly varying cycles when the majority of their numbers are still high. If he was tightly regulated, then you might see changes with a change in carbs.

Hi Wendy,
I will plug in those bloodwork numbers on that tab on spreadsheet. Forgot that was there.
I dont think I could give a full shot with bg that low. When he is in blues when I shoot full dose I have to feed like crazy to keep him from going low. Plus the stress for us both is not good. Reason why I chose the SLGS method.
Why would the method of regulation make a difference in how carbs effect him???
Plus I do realize the times when I think carbs effect him are mostly from Friskies. Maybe its that food? Idk but I do think it makes a difference even if its only by 40-60 pts.
I will now try to feed a 4carb at amps & pmps and less in between and see how that goes.
He seems to stay in drk greens & blues even with no shot for a good 6-8 hrs so that cant be bad, right?
Now when he is in 300s he seems to act like he feels yukky and while in 100s or so he acts like he feels good. It was opposite before so something happened in his body.
 
The method of regulation does not impact how carbs impact him, but rather better regulated cats make it easier to see any differences. With a newly diagnosed kitty still with as colourful a spreadsheet as Sprocket's, it is hard to see if or what the impact of carb changes are.
 
The method of regulation does not impact how carbs impact him, but rather better regulated cats make it easier to see any differences. With a newly diagnosed kitty still with as colourful a spreadsheet as Sprocket's, it is hard to see if or what the impact of carb changes are.

Actually he is not newly dignosed. He was diagnosed in 3 of 2015.
He got dka & the liver issue this march too.
So now does it change that?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top