5/16 Zoe pmps 270 +1 304 +4 252

Sybil and Zoe

Member Since 2018
So while Zoe was on Vetsulin I did the test/shoot twice a day and feed twice a day unless she was exceptionally pesky about begging. Now that we are on Lantus I see many suggest mini meals throughout the day. My question is, if she is a food spiker, which I think she is, am I masking numbers by giving her food after the +1 +2 time frame? She would eat 24/7 if I let her be in the driver seat. Everytime I give her some food I cant help but wonder is it going to throw the true numbers off. Do I just not worry about that? Or when is the best time to feed inbetween the 12hr cycles?
 
The best time to feed is before nadir. Anytime after that the effects of the insulin are waning and adding extra carbs will slow down the insulin even more and you will shorten duration. I don't know if she is a food spiker. On Lantus you would expect some increase after preshot and meal, because the insulin doesn't onset for a couple hours after the shot. After that, the best time to feed depends a bit on the cat and your schedule. For example, some cats take a big dive at onset, so for them, some fresh carbs on board before that can help slow down the dives. I liked feeding Neko a meal before my bed time, so she wouldn't bug me early for food.

If it's possible for you to do so, could you put a blank line in the spreadsheet after you stopped using the AT and started using the Relion. Then put something like "start human meter" on that line. That'll make it easier to see at a glance.
 
If it's possible for you to do so, could you put a blank line in the spreadsheet after you stopped using the AT and started using the Relion. Then put something like "start human meter" on that line. That'll make it easier to see at a glance.

Thank you, I put the line in. I am afraid this morning I gave a fur shot:eek::eek:. I was putting it in her side (tented skin) and felt like needle went in but I felt wet on her fur after. Now I am sick because I know it is not safe to re inject so she will miss a full dose. Maybe it was not the case, but I suspect it is.:banghead::banghead::banghead::arghh:
 
Back
Top