? 5/16 Zhoom Boy +11 61 PMPS 54 - stalled +.25 49- dose advice for tonight?

CRL

Member Since 2019
last thread here

Zhoom is at it again, looks like I will be challenged with another low pre-shot number.....I am jumping on the forum earlier this time to see if anyone has advice for me. Two nights ago he was at 65 pre-shot and I gave him a reduced dose. It did not seem to get him off track at all since we saw green the next 2 days. I am leaning towards doing that again tonight depending on where he is at in an hour. Anyone want to chime in and tell me why they think differently (or the same)? Even though Zhoom has not told me yet, I think this dose might be a little too much for him. Time will tell.
 
I am getting my chance already @Wendy&Neko - hoping you might have some words of wisdom for me- I think that I am chickening out again on a full dose. Thinking about maybe even reducing to a half dose tonight. Eek, these low pre-shots are so challenging!
 
Remember, if you decide to do a smaller dose tonight, that's for you, not for Zhoom Boy. If you keep lowering the dose, you won't find out if the dose is too much, and might be faced with an overfull depot at some point. I guess it all depends on your ability to monitor, and whether you have plenty of strips and HC. You have shot in the 80's before. Your call.
 
Remember, if you decide to do a smaller dose tonight, that's for you, not for Zhoom Boy. If you keep lowering the dose, you won't find out if the dose is too much, and might be faced with an overfull depot at some point. I guess it all depends on your ability to monitor, and whether you have plenty of strips and HC. You have shot in the 80's before. Your call.
Thanks for responding. He is at 54 here at pre-shot. Would you do a full dose at that low of a number?
 
I have only lowered the dose once so far. Could that have already given me an overfull depot? I had not thought of that, nor do I entirely understand the depot.
 
Me personally? Yes, but I felt comfortable doing so. I knew that dinner would bump up Neko's numbers, and she still had quite some time before onset of the next dose. Like I said, you have to decide if you are ready to shoot low.
 
Me personally? Yes, but I felt comfortable doing so. I knew that dinner would bump up Neko's numbers, and she still had quite some time before onset of the next dose. Like I said, you have to decide if you are ready to shoot low.
Well, I am quite terrified of it. But now I am scared of this overfull depot business.....Zhoom is not really carb sensitive - food does not increase his numbers very much. Thank you so much for your thoughts. I am not sure what I am going to do. But I have to decide in 5 minutes so I better go breathe!
 
By overfull depot, I mean if this dose is too much, then at some point he's going to go low and tell you he needs a reduction. You'd rather that happen when you are around to monitor. No wrong answer for you. :bighug: Deep breathe and decide.
 
By overfull depot, I mean if this dose is too much, then at some point he's going to go low and tell you he needs a reduction. You'd rather that happen when you are around to monitor. No wrong answer for you. :bighug: Deep breathe and decide.
Ok, I see. Well, he just told me the dose is too much. I decided to test again before the shot and he is at 49.
 
I would hold off another 15 minutes,retest, and see where he's going, then decide to feed or not.
 
To determine what dose to give you mean? What will the number in 15 minutes tell me?
 
He has earned a dose reduction down to 3 units. If he's up over 50 in 15, you can give him his new dose. We don't shoot if below 50 and you'll have to give him some food. I would start with some LC.
 
He has earned a dose reduction down to 3 units. If he's up over 50 in 15, you can give him his new dose. We don't shoot if below 50 and you'll have to give him some food. I would start with some LC.
He is at 51.
 
OK, your call. You can shoot his new dose as you know he's now safe to shoot. Or go with your original instinct and deplete the depot tonight and go to the new dose tomorrow. Get a +1 and a +2 regardless. Note for any lurkers, at this size dose we don't usually suggest the smaller dose to deplete the depot.
 
OK, your call. You can shoot his new dose as you know he's now safe to shoot. Or go with your original instinct and deplete the depot tonight and go to the new dose tomorrow. Get a +1 and a +2 regardless. Note for any lurkers, at this size dose we don't usually suggest the smaller dose to deplete the depot.
Thanks so much Wendy. I gave him 2.25 U - sigh. Now I am going to go have a good cry. Why do you not usually suggest the smaller dose - risk of ketones? Or losing momentum?
 
Why do you not usually suggest the smaller dose
Cause there's really no reason for it. In a higher dose cat, there can be a significant issue with a higher depot. Giving the regular dose (reduced now) is one way to help him over the inevitable higher numbers. Paws crossed he handles it like last time and doesn't go too high. And don't worry, I am hoping you will gather enough data to eventually gain confidence in shooting lower greens. My motto to myself was "every cycle is a do over". What's done is done.
 
  • Like
Reactions: CRL
Back
Top