5/16 Rocky PMPS 265 +2 322 +4 84 +4.5 66 +5 53 +5.5 62 +6 73

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118815

Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 298 +5 298 +7 289 +9 346
PMPS 325 +1 120 +1.5 93 +2 79 +3 77 +4 89 + +9 279

Rocky had a good run of yellow numbers during his AMPS cycle yesterday, and then we went up to two pink numbers right before his PMPS shot time. When I gave him his evening shot his BG fell by 200 points in less than one hour! :o :shock: @-) ohmygod_smile

I then faced the decision of how many meals to feed him and how many carbs at each meal that I should feed him to keep him from going below 50, but hopefully still able to surf blue or yellow numbers. I even fed him (1)TBS of Science Diet Light Liver and Chicken with 33% carbs at PMPS +2 to help prop up his BG. I probably could have gone easier on the carbs but I did need to get in at least 3 hours of sleep for the one and half hour drive I'm making this morning.

I'm a little bit worried this morning. Rocky's shot time is in 2 hours, but I won't be here ALL DAY after I give that shot. I'm out 'the door. I won't even be able to get an AMPS +1 or +2, or anything, until I get back home about 6 hours later.nailbite_smile

I can't decide how many carbs to feed him this morning. It's likely that if I leave one can of food out he will WOLF down the entire amount of food in about 2 seconds flat so there won't be any remaining should he need it if go below 50 while I'm away from the house. :?
 
Re: carb choice 5/16 Rocky AMPS (2 hours away)

You say you can't get an AMPS. Does that mean you are skipping today?
 
Re: carb choice 5/16 Rocky AMPS (2 hours away)

Hi Marje, I would like to give Rocky his shot. I don't want to skip his shot. But I can't be here at all to monitor once I've given the shot.

I'll take his AMPS, then feed him, then give him the shot. I just can't figure out how much food to give him and what % carbs... I won't be here to give the mini-meals like I normally do, nor will I be home to do any testing for about 6 hours...He's going to get one huge carb load all at once right before that shot, no matter what type of carbs I leave out for him. He will eat all of it right away. :lol:

Well, I guess I could give him half of his food right after I take the AMPS, give the shot, and then give him the 2nd half of the food. But, it would literally only be a matter of minutes between those two meals...like only 5 or 10 minutes.
 
Re: carb choice 5/16 Rocky AMPS (2 hours away)

What about not shooting this morning and then shooting at +18 if you will be home in six hours? Then his next shot would come at +18 which would put you back on your normal shot time. It's an effective method if you have to be away and they don't lose any ground really.

Do you keep any catsicles you could leave out and he could eat as they thaw? I'd give him a mid range LC food if you have it.
 
Re: carb choice 5/16 Rocky AMPS (2 hours away)

I think that would mean that I give him his shot at 3pm today.. and then I'd have to give it at 3am..

Normal shot times are 9am and 9pm.

I don't have any catsicles. Never heard of that before. :-D
 
Re: carb choice 5/16 Rocky AMPS (2 hours away)

No...you would give a shot at 3 PM today and then 9 am tomorrow.

If you take his food, put it in an ice tray, freeze, then you can leave them out for him to eat as they thaw. People do this with and without timed feeders.
 
Re: carb choice 5/16 Rocky AMPS (2 hours away)

I don't understand the math on that, but I think that is a good idea.

I bought a timed feeder, the same one Julie has, but I've never taken it out of the box. I don't have any frozen food available right now.

I may not need to worry about his BG going lower right after a shot anyway. It looks like he is setting up for a bounce. His BG at AMPS +11 is 322.

I'll go ahead and give the shot at 3pm today though to be on the safe side.

Thank you Marje! Perfect solution. :thumbup
 
Re: moving shot time 5/16 Rocky PMPS +11 322

9 am +6 hours is 3 PM. You could then shoot 12 hours later but as you said, you don't want to be on a 3 PM/3 AM schedule. So if you shoot at 3 PM today (+18), then 18 hours later (I.e. +18 from the 3 PM shot), you will be back at your regular 9/9 shot time (so you can shoot again at 9 am Saturday).

He is high and so you can probably shoot your regular schedule. It depends on what makes you most comfortable knowing you will be gone.
 
Re: 5/16 Rocky AMPS 331 +5 356

I made it back home one hour early. His BG is still high so maybe he is bouncing. I fed him 3/4 can of the 3% carb Artemis before I gave Rocky his shot and then left the house.

I need to get batteries for the feeder and then see if he will use it.
 
Re: 5/16 Rocky AMPS 331 +5 356

you want to make sure - while you are home and it's not critical - that he'll use the feeder. It is very loud when it rotates, but silent in between. Some cats are scared of the sound. You need to be certain that he'll accept the food from it before you get to the point of counting on it when you're going to be gone.
 
Re: 5/16 Rocky AMPS 331 +5 356 +11 309

Sure, I'd take extra care and make sure that he would still eat from it even with the loud noise that proceeded. I wouldn't leave it for him if I didn't know what he will do.

I still need to get the batteries for it and I am so exhausted right now that I'm not going to play with it tonight. I need to leave it for another day when I can read the instructions on how to program it. I'm sure it is super simple but I haven't much brain power at all right now.

A few times thought I was falling asleep at the wheel driving on my way home. @-) That was pretty frightening. Did not get to take a nap as was completely out of food for all the indoor cats and feral crew, plus, needed to go buy more syringes and meter strips.

I'm going to drop like log for at least one hour or two tonight. I hope that Rocky does not have too active of a cycle.
 
Re: dosecrease 5/16 Rocky PMPS 265 +2 322

Hm... :roll: I was too hopeful with the sunny yellow at this evenings PMPS... So now it is 6 cycles of 1.75u with only a few short hours of blue and green.

Thinking I need to raise him up to 2.0u in the morning if he is in yellow or pink numbers at AMPS tomorrow morning.
 
Re: dosecrease 5/16 Rocky PMPS 265 +2 322

Come on Rocky, come down for your mama. You've done it many times before.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top