? 5/16 Purrdy PMPS 106 +2 56 +2.75 49 +3.25 52 +3.75 47 +4.25 56 +4.75 41 +5.25 61 +6 56 + 6.5 50

Status
Not open for further replies.

purrdydolly

Member Since 2014
Last condo 5/14

Gave a tsp LC at +2; a tsp HC at +2.75 and a tsp LC just given at +3.25, will test again at +3.75

Purrdy decided it was time for his second ever reduction :D

We've been increasing in .5 increments since he passed 5 units (now at 6 units) does that mean we have to take .5 reductions too or is .25 okay if we don't have a hard time keeping him surfing?
 
It's nice to see Purrdy get back to the lagoon. :D I hope he keeps surfing safely. I think a .25 unit reduction is fine as long as your mom can monitor and make sure he surfs safely. That's what I use for Furball.
 
I would think that if the increases are 0.5, that the decreases would be 0.5 too.
 
Gave 1 tsp HC at + 3.75, 1 tsp LC at +4.25, 2 tsp HC at +4.75, 1 tsp LC at +5.25 , 1 tsp LC at +6, 1 tsp each LC and HC at +6

Thanks Carla but Furball is on a much smaller dose so that .25 is a much bigger percentage decrease for her than it would be for Purrdy. Thanks too Dyana, I was wondering if that was the way it should work, logic suggests that but I was thinking if we could it's better to keep more insulin in him for longer. At any rate I'm thinking this now counts as having a bit of a hard time keeping him surfing so unless anyone with higher dose experience thinks otherwise I'm now leaning towards the .5 reduction.
 
Last edited:
That was quite a run of green. Well done. With high dose I think I might have read to take .50 reductions. I hope someone who has dealt with that responds to you. It seems like it took a lot of hc to prevent further dropping as well. Congrats on the reduction.
 
Nicely done. I think >3 units BID qualifies as "high dose" and means a 0.5 reduction is in order. But these are guidelines.

What's been going on that you've need to escalate to 6U BID anyway where much lower doses sufficed in past??
 
Last edited by a moderator:
And we're still going...

We've run out of room in the subject line but looks like he's starting to hold his own - +7.25 61, +8 68 - no food given since +6.5. Testing again at +8.5 and I've told mum that if he's not dropped then she can get to bed for a few hours sleep before AMPS. She has instructions to shoot 5.5 units at anything above 50 and, if he's green test in an hour or if he's blue a short btb and test at +2. I'll set my alarm to be up by then so we can make plans from there - Purrdy might make it to church tomorrow...

I was just telling Bron yesterday that Mum shoots at 4am/4pm so she doesn't have to stay up all night and because she gets a btb in the morning until 7am - I forgot the anti-jinx! Not that we're complaining :D

Thanks Sandman but did you perhaps mean 5 units - that's when we start increasing in .5 increments so I don't think there's any question that shooting anything below that would only get reductions in .25 increments.
 
Way to go Purrdy! Congratulations on the reducie! I think given the size of the dose, probably 0.5 would make sense. Then again, with Eddie I eventually resorted to taking 1/8 unit reductions when he proved he couldn't hold them. The risk being of course, that the depot gets ahead of you.
 
Nicely done, Purrdy. I don't know if there's a "rule" for the .5 or .25 increase/decrease. With Polly, I think, the increment change came somewhere around 5.0 Units.

He's being pretty insistent on a reduction isn't he. Wonder if he and Polly conspired to go low and stay low. Stinkers!

Marilyn and Polly
 
WTG--Keep it up Purrdy--next thing you know you will have broken AuntieBean Serryn's record of testing Vyktor 20 times in a day! :D:D:p:p ~ Tiger :cat:

Hats off to Mum as well, that was quite a night cycle! Purrdy may be singing in the choir today(at church! :joyful::joyful:)
 
If I could monitor later, I would just decrease by 0.25u. Yes, he's on a higher dose and you used larger increments to get there. But now that you're there and finally seeing green numbers, I'd want that to continue.

So I think you have a choice. He has been bobbling about up and down in the 40's for a while, so if you definitely want to interrupt that, a 0.5u decrease might achieve that goal. If your mom can stand the possibility of him surfing along in green numbers again in tomorrow's day cycle, then I might only decrease by 0.25u.

She does need to know that because of the depot, it's possible that even if she decreases by 0.5u the depot will continue giving at the 6.0u dose, and she still might have low numbers in the morning. People with high dose cats who can't have that happen, for example if she's going out and can't monitor, might give a one time 1/2 dose and then return tomorrow evening to the newly reduced dose of 5.5u or 5.75u, depending on what she wants.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top