Hi Rose; you are so amazing; thanks so much for finding time in your incredible whirlwind of dealing w/ Ms. Zoey to check in on us!

. It sounds like your little fighter is holding her own, and you and DH are as well. I'm so glad!!! Still sending truckloads of vines to all of you!!
Well, it's not going great. I have been toying with whether to post the 2nd follow-up email I received this a.m from vet, as it's still making steam come out of my ears. I know that email is an imperfect medium for communication at times, and I'm trying hard to give the benefit of the doubt but when I get a few paragraphs, separated with "
Is that clear?" (yes literally bolded like that) 3 times, I find it hard to not be insulted, offended and angry! She was clear about when she would reduce a dose, but not when she would increase. My 2nd communication to her asked for that clarification, and what exactly was her target BG for this reduced dose, here is the answer:
"
The length and detail of the emails that you are sending will be beyond the scope of me to answer regularly, I apologize. I know that I have taken a lot of time with you in the initial visit, our phone conversations to discuss follow up, in person in the lobby and on the phone, and in this email and in my previous email to you, and feel that I have answered all of the questions that you need to provide great care to your cat, bottom line my goal. When I give diabetic cats owners email address I am able to make recommendations based on curves that they supply me, and these interactions are kept brief, unless of course there is a crisis."
The extra charge I was referring to will apply in the following situations:
-When you come in for recheck visits you will be charged.
-If you want me to go through your first email, read all of the attachments about the TR method, answer your very specific questions about food, BG levels etc. I know that I will not soon be adopting this method to care for my other diabetic patients, it is just not widely accepted enough yet. For that reason I would be spending that time in order to answer your questions and to help you and your cat in a way that you require.
-Also, if the follow up communications need to be as lengthy as they have been, I will need to charge you a recheck.
Is this clear?
"I am in the process of consulting with a veterinary nutritionist about Oren, and will contact you regarding the results of that consult shortly. I hope to be able to provide you with an answer about short term and long term diet that are satisfactory to you.
I can’t describe to you how I interpret my curves, there is no algorithm (no high, no low…this is one of my problems with skimming the protocol that you are using). In general I like my cat curves on lantus to range between 100-300 per day. But more importantly , it has to do with how the curve looks. I would not like you to increase the dose of insulin on your own EVER without speaking with me (email or person).
To review, here is what I am recommending to you for follow up:
Change in dose: check bg 4 days after, most useful is 6-8 hours injection (not preshot)
Get ketones in urine call office
Get negative glucose in urine email me or call me
Get a BG reading under 150, decrease all subsequent doses by 0.5 unit until we can talk
Emergency: go to the clinic
Is this clear? Hopefully this makes your life easier and less stressful, and I do believe it is what he needs.
I don’t think we need to refill the buprinex. I would finish the fortiflora and ear meds (2 weeks). Systemic absorption through the skin of steroids is limited but ultimately the effect is unkown.
she basically offered for me to bring him back for the recheck of his ears and blood just for the fPL test, and would not charge me the 'recheck' fee for that.
"
The 22nd is not too soon. We can make that visit a technician appointment, if all we do is weigh him, take an ear sample and a blood sample. That means we would not do a PE at that time, but I will still call you with advise/communicate results. I can make that exception for you if you think that the above outlined plan will work for us in the future."
Is this clear?
I am encouraged by the last reading on Sunday night preshot of 299! I can’t wait to see the curve. Hope we can continue to work together to help him through this...
Dr. XXXXX
I'm beginning to wonder if I should ask if there is a word count or perhaps if she has to scroll down beyond the visible screen, is that the criteria for 'length and detail" that she will respond to. For the record, my 3 questions were when she felt we'd determined his body had had time to adjust to the dose, and when to increase, what makes FF food "hard to digest" (apparently she can't answer that w/o consulting a veterinary nutrionist, hm, I thought she was fully trained and up on all the latest?) and could the steroid in the Tresaderm ear drops be affecting his BG levels?
The rest of my email was providing info. on his weight, assessment of him after completing the course of Bupe, his ears at the halfway mark of treatment, noting that i was checking ketones regularly already, and that I would agree to continue the DM diet through until the followup. Ok, 4 questions, if you count asking for clarification on was I getting charged for providing the previous info?!
It's clear to me i cannot work with her, I think I will take him in on a day when she is not in for this follow up, then not return. My struggle is to know whether I should respond again. I should to take the high road and not cause a scene, but I feel her manner was most unpleasant and unprofessional and I am smarting at being treated like a pesty 4 year old. I think it is extremely poor form to essentially tell your client to STFU and just send me a BG curve every 2 wks. How dare you pay me and expect to be able to ask questions about your cat's treatment? and anyway, she's already sufficiently answered all my questions
She, a practicing professional of 6 years after all, should not be questioned. Apparently, her opinion of 'doing the best for him' is to keep him at numbers that will still cause him long term damage, and be reactionary if something goes south.
I no doubt am persona non grata around that office now(or will be soon) and it will likely be extremely uncomfortable to even go back in. I'd appreciate honest opinions, Am I really such a PITA, unreasonable person?
I wish I had your sense of humor, resilience and patience Rose; feeling a bit shaken in my self-confidence right now.
I promise to shut up about this now, before you all consider me a whiny, pesty 4 year old too..