5/16 MORON PMPS 166

Status
Not open for further replies.

jgriffith

Member Since 2012
Hello,
It has been a while since my last post. Alot has been happening and have not had much access to the internet. I have been low on funds so testing was kind of minimal for a while.
Moron's numbers are going blue and green lately. I was a bit freaked to see 40s when I returned home from work. He seems to be acting fine. One thing I have noticed neither cat is finishing food during the day. Unusual. Same canned rabbit,or duck. I did leave out hc food on those lower ps numbers and that was all gone of coarse. I will get in a few more tests this early morning. I am wondering if I should reduce dose a little. Thanks to all, Jill and Moron in Minnesota.
 
I meant to stop by last night. I fell asleep. Sorry!

Moron may be eating less because his numbers are looking very good! Appetite begins to diminish as a cat gets better regulated. When he was first diagnosed, it's likely he was starving all the time. Also, if you've been getting warmer weather, that may be accounting for them wanting to eat less.

Just as a reminder:
Tight Regulation Protocol said:
Reducing the dose:

  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
  • If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
  • Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

Moron dropped below 50 on 5/13 and 5/15. I would definitely reduce the dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top