5/16 mocha pmps 188

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeterDevonMocha

Very Active Member
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14606

WCR: already ate breakfast and got her shot. It's another sunny day today so that put's us all in a good mood.

Today is mochas 1 year anniversary of being diagnosed with diabetes. We noticed her drinking more water then normal, we contributed it to the dry air in the house but since she was due for a rabies shot, we mentioned it to the vet who did the bloodwork. When we got the call confirming it was diabetes, we were out at a campground checking out some places to camp that summer. I cried all the way home, feeling extremely guilty that we caused it, even though at that point I wasn't real sure how we caused it.

When we got home we did as much research as our brain could handle until we went and took her back to the vet to start her on insulin. We told the vet we wanted to try wet food first, the vet told us that wasn't really necessary, dry food was still fine. We told her we wanted to home test, she told us to bring mocha back in, 3-4 weeks from then to see how the insulin was doing. We told her we were worried about needing to stick to a schedule and being home to give her insulin, she said "whenever" and that it wouldn't matter if we missed a day here or a day there.

So a few days later after calling around to some other vet's we found one more local that was more on board with home testing and the wet food diet. So we took mocha there for confirmation that she did indeed have diabetes (confirmed) and we started home testing her and making the change over to wet cat food.

Just a few short weeks after dealing with this on our own we were frazzled because mocha doesn't just sit pretty and wait for her shots. So Sarah (& velcro) drove over to our house (an hour away) to help show us which way would be best to give mocha her shot. Sarah was gracious enough to sit and answer any questions we had, and later, helped us switch over to lantus by sharing some of velcro's medicine with mocha.

And now here we are, one year later, still frazzled by trying to give mocha her shots, but we manage to get them into her twice a day! Our dreams and hopes of switching her to wet food and a few weeks later having her go off insulin are long gone, some days our dream of her getting regulated is long gone! But we will continue this darn sugar dance as long as mocha let's us, after all, shes the one leading.
 
Re: 5/16 mocha amps 182, 1 year anniversary

Well, LOOK at that PRETTY BLUE!!! It is so beautiful on Mocha!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Happy Anniversary to you all!! Ok, so it might not be "happy" in the true sense of the word...but let's focus out a few very important positive things. Mocha is happy and healthy...and you all have learned a lot about FD...where would any of you be if you hadn't gotten so involved, right? It is amazing that you had to search around for a different vet...glad you did! Suppose you had stayed with that first vet? :o I have a similar story so I know what you went through in a way....

You have utilized your instincts and switched her over to canned and found this forum! :thumbup I feel your frustration about the time going by....we see others going OTJ so quickly in comparison....it's so strange...and sometimes I feel that it is so unfair. What about US? (and I have Raja who went OTJ in 4 months like those other quick visitors to the forum.....so I know the thrill of that and yet, here is Shadow who is totally different from his own sister! :o )

Not to worry,....Mocha is healing and doing it in her own time. Your devotion to her and the love you put into your treatment of her shines through. You are such good Beans and you have done so much for her health and healing......I celebrate all that you have learned and all you have done...and for all the help and support you give to others here....many thanks for your kindness! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/16 mocha amps 182, 1 year anniversary

Well, I guess Happy Anniversary isn't the real sentiment to express. I know it is with some sadness and resentment that you are having an anniversary. All of us that are here longterm get resigned to this dance. We had had such high hopes in the biginning that we were going to be the ones that were able to go OTJ quickly. Sadly it isn't so - so we settle for the other - striving for regulation, trying to keep our babies as healthy as we can. Even that isn't easy many days. But you have made very good progress over the last year. Look back at the panic and anxiety you had last year at this time - that's gone. Look at all the friends you have made here on FDMB - that's a good anniversary to celebrate!

Mocha did give you a very good number to start with today. I hope she takes it down to the greens for you. Give her some extra kisses for us today.
 
Re: 5/16 mocha amps 182, 1 year anniversary

Devon, you guys have come such a long way! I remember how incredibly scared and overwhelmed you were in the beginning and now you're a pro. Your baby is getting nice numbers and she looks quite happy in the new picture. I'm sorry she hasn't gone OTJ, but she's feeling well and she's lucky to have you. Have a good day and celebrate that you've made it one year, learned a lot, and made new friends.
 
Re: 5/16 mocha amps 182, 1 year anniversary

Hi Devon & Peter & Mocha,
Our story is similar. But it took us 4 years after diagnosis to start home testing. I could kick myself that I let Stu go through 4 years of shooting blind whatever dose of PZI Vet the vet thought was correct after he did one test (during office visits) every 3 or 4 months! Thank goodness I found this board in January! So let's all look at the positive things: our cats are healthy, and even if not really "regulated", they feel much better.
Stu and I wish Mocha (and you, too, of course!) a happy anniversary and a really good new year ahead.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 5/16 mocha amps 182, 1 year anniversary

Hi share Ella's sentiment too - took us a year and a half to start home testing, after three hypos, etc. - and the encouragement of Chris and Chloe. I feel such guilt for that, for not testing, etc - often wonder if I had known, been more proactive, would we be able to say OTJ? Right now I'd settle for regulated, and really do doubt that Mannie will ever be off insulin. But I do know he's happier, healthier, and feels much better than he did a year ago. There is good in that I think.

So - happy one year anniversary - here's to a great year ahead!
 
Re: 5/16 mocha amps 182, 1 year anniversary

We are right behind you. Gabby's anniversary date is in about 10 days.

I would never say that you need to resign yourself to Mocha being a forever FD. Velcro and Lucy and many others went OTC after a considerable amount of time. She leads in this dance so you never know when she'll take a sharp turn and surprise you.

My wish for Mocha's next year is that she is healthy and happy -- the important things to keep sight of (and that keep vet bills out of the stratosphere).
 
Re: 5/16 mocha amps 182, 1 year anniversary

:YMHUG: Just think about how much better Mocha is doing now than a year ago. We share your frustrations with the uninformed vet, lowering expectations of what is possible. I think all of us expect "our cat" to be one that slips right down the dosing ladder on over to the Falls. It really is frustrating at every backstep. Just think of how much expierence you've gained and how yu can offer help and support to others. Most importantly, look at how much better mocha's life is.
 
Re: 5/16 mocha amps 182, 1 year anniversary

Happy Happy Anniversary to Mocha--I so remember when you first came , the upset, frustration, sadness--
But now Look at Mocha's amps today!!!! :-D She is doing soooo Great--She is relatively healthy, active, loving & has good numbers, compared to a year ago--I always said having a well cat is our goal, OTJ is a gift..Never give up HOPE as that's what keeps us going here...
Moonie wasnt bg tested for 11 months, but also with help from a member she got there--

Peter & Devon, you have done above & beyond to care for Mocha & it shows--Hope all your dreams come true by your next anniversary!!
HUGS from all of Us here!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/16 mocha amps 182, 1 year anniversary

Milestone moment for all of you! How scary the memory of diagnosis & the first few weeks that follow (((Devon, Peter & Mocha))) :YMHUG:
How strong you all are today, well educated & a true friend, supporter -- offering encouragement to all of us on many days when you don't have the strength & feel as if you are at the end! I believe in you & I believe in Mocha.. the only time that there is no hope for her, is when you give up. Mocha may have been on the juice longer than anticipated, longer than you had hoped for - but Mocha IS a year closer to being OTJ one day hopefully & she certainly is a healthier kitty!! Hang in there ;-) When it happens, it happens fast & out of nowhere it seems!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/16 mocha amps 182, 1 year anniversary

Happy Anniversary!

PeterDevonMocha said:
Our dreams and hopes of switching her to wet food and a few weeks later having her go off insulin are long gone, some days our dream of her getting regulated is long gone! But we will continue this darn sugar dance as long as mocha let's us, after all, shes the one leading.
I totally understand! We still have a way to go until our anniversary (end of July)...I never really had the remission dream, but I still am hanging onto the hope that 1 day we will find that perfect dose of insulin & will one day be able to call Morris regulated!
 
Re: 5/16 mocha amps 182, 1 year anniversary

Happy 1 year Anniversary....although, happy doesn't seem to be the exactly right sentiment, does it? What you should be happy about, is how content and healthy Mocha is....how far you a have come since 1 year ago. Mocha feels so much better and she is healing....she is just doing it in "Mocha time". Mocha is so lucky to have you and Peter on her team...you advocated for her, even when you were unsure of what to do...you knew wet food was better and hometesting was necessary....and you did it.

Let Mocha continue to lead....she will get there, whether "there" is regulation or OTJ only Mocha knows!

For Mocha & Twix cat_pet_icon

For you & Peter :thumbup

Sherry & Zoe
 
Re: 5/16 mocha amps 182 +2 212 +6 100 +8 58 1 year anniversary

mocha showed us what she could do today by coming down to those prettier numbers. If only she would learn to stay there ... but like you all pointed out, she is generally a happy, healthy cat, and we wouldn't trade her in for anything .. well, don't tell her that, we often threaten her with the idea of replacing her with a newer model, mocha 2.0 :lol: You guys are great, thank you all for the kind words.
 
Re: 5/16 mocha amps 182 +2 212 +6 100 +8 58 1 year anniversary

Congratulations on 1 year! Mocha has come a long, long way, and so have her beans. I was worried about you, Devon, because you seemed so overwhelmed and frustrated and scared. Now you're confident and decisive and in control (well, as much in control as you can ever be when you're dealing with a Siamese!). Great job!

I always say Congratulations and Happy 1 Year Anniversary because honestly, when you got the news, did you think Mocha would still be here in a year? I know I didn't when it was Lucy. Then I got online and started reading, and learned how to help her live a long life with diabetes. You did the same. :smile:
 
Re: 5/16 mocha amps 182 +2 212 +6 100 +8 58 1 year anniversary

thanks libby. It is true that in the beginning I was a nervous wreck. In fact when mocha was first diagnosed there were days I would just lay on the floor with her, crying into her fur telling her how sorry I was. Then over time things changed and we started feeling like we were more in control then we realized. From this board we learned when to feed drops, what to feed drops, when to test, when to let mocha be a cat, just everything we needed to know to get us to this 1 year anniversary.

I won't ever give up hope on mocha becoming regulated or even OTJ because I want something to strive for. It may never happen for her, but I don't ever want to feel like we gave up on her. She means to much to us to give up on her.
 
I'm sending a happy anneversary that for you, Peter and Mocha that you are still here and she is healthy and happy. I remember when you came to FDMB because it was shortly after I joined. And like Ella & Stu, we didn't home test until Blackie had been diabetic for almost 4 years. So you are way ahead of us. You were smart enough to find out about he food and home testing at the beginning. Don't give up hope, there are many kitties that go otj after a year. Mocha may just have some surprises for you in the next year.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top