5/16 Miss Meows AMPS 247, +2 281, +4 244, +6 107, +10 205 , PMPS 366 - Increased dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

missMeows

Member Since 2015
Good Saturday to you all!

Yesterday

Well, just when I was about to loose hope in this dose, she gives me some blues! :cool:

So I have a question now, could someone remind me about what constitutes a fast drop vs normal curve? I feel like the drop from 244 to 107 is a lot... but it was in a two hour time span, so that could be like a 70 pt drop per hour, which isn't all that bad, correct? I'm just used to her doing like around 50 pts every 2 hours... and here she is doing almost 140. Thoughts?

Thanks!
 
I don't know what to tell you. Michael just dropped 168pts in a 4hr time span. Hopefully some of the more experienced people will stop with thoughts.
What missmeows is doing is defenitely all part of this wacky sugar dance.
Paula:)
 
Oh, I definitely feel a bounce coming later on ;)

Interesting to know that it's a 50pt per hour thing though. Sometimes I get all mixed up and think that she dropped x-amount in an hour since that's her last number. But I check her every two hours so a 50 pt drop in two hours is fine ;)
 
if you find she tends to drop steeply between +4 to +6, you might make sure she eats a tablespoon of food at +4. Its called feeding the curve and can help temper the drop.
 
if you find she tends to drop steeply between +4 to +6, you might make sure she eats a tablespoon of food at +4. Its called feeding the curve and can help temper the drop.
Looking at her SS, she has only dropped 100+ in 2 hours, twice before. Not sure if I have enough data to know if this will be an ongoing thing yet... I do currently feed her at her PS and +3's... I could switch it to PS and +5s if you think it might help?
 
Hmmm... Maybe I'll split her +3, into a +3 & +5, she's already on the rise though so I think I missed my chance this afternoon :)
 
i suspect this is one of those ECID (every cat is different) things. I've been told more than 50 points an hour will induce a bounce in most cats. The thing is that when you have a x hour window of time you're looking at, you don't know if the cat dropped all at once in the first hour, or if it was spread out over the x hours. Most cats don't drop at a steady rate per hour for the entire cycle.

In Miss Meows' case, from +4 to +6 that was 137 points in 2 hours, so might be likely to cause another bounce. As BJM mentioned, if she typically drops around then (I didn't look at her ss) you could try feeding then.

However, at the same time, if you're trying to get a cat tightly regulated, your goal isn't initially to stop bouncing, but to get the cat to spend as much time as possible in normal numbers. As the cat gets used to normal numbers, the time spent there will stretch out and ideally, the bouncing will stop because the body is now re-accepting it as normal. So I'd still put my focus first on trying to get the cat into normal numbers and spend as much time there as possible.
 
Thanks Julie!

This is only the second time she's dropped this much in a two hour period. It's also her 8th cycle which is when she normally goes lower. Does this mean I can ignore her, most likely, upcoming bounce tonight/tomorrow and up her dose tomorrow AM? I want to make sure I keep sticking with the protocol :)
 
I suspect this is one of those ECID (every cat is different) things. I've been told more than 50 points an hour will induce a bounce in most cats. The thing is that when you have a x hour window of time you're looking at, you don't know if the cat dropped all at once in the first hour, or if it was spread out over the x hours. Most cats don't drop at a steady rate per hour for the entire cycle.
I've also though about this a well...
 
Sorry if I sound like a broken record with always asking, but I'm wondering if I should increase her dose tonight, or tomorrow morning? This morning was her 8th cycle and as usual, that was when she dropped her lowest so far on this dose. TR protocol says:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
  • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
I'm not sure if I need to take in consideration her potential for bouncing tonight. Or if I should just increase now because we've already seen her low? I have a feeling she wont go lower since she'll bounce tonight so I'm not thinking we'd miss a different, lower number if I increase tonight. I'm around most of the day tomorrow to do another curve so I'd like to increase either one of these times.

Thanks so much!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top