5/16 Max AMPS101PMPS250+2.5=180+4.5=116+5=72+6=65+7=73

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S #S
AMPS 175 +2.5=265 +6=289
PMPS 329 +1=266 +4=206 +6=147

The pattern for the last few days has been to have a good AMPS go up, higher PMPS, good nadir and repeat. I don't know if he bounces each day after a good night or just has better numbers at night.

If I want to add comments, how do I get the old comment to stay? When I go back to the comments to add more, it erases what I have already written.

Thanks for the help.
Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118796
 
Re: 5/16 Max AMPS 101

Good morning, Elise! ~O)

Another beautiful start to the day for Max. Let's hope he decides not to repeat the "normal" pattern. It would be nice if he would move a little more during the day and let you get a little more sleep at night.

To add comments in the SS, click on the remarks box where you have existing comments. You'll see those comments appear in the "bar" that is at the top of the SS (above the A,B, C....headings). Then you can add comments to the end in the bar itself. (I hope that's what you were asking about.)

Have a great day!
Shelly
 
Re: 5/16 Max AMPS 101

Great AMPS! I'm wondering if there is a way for you to set and alarm and get a +10 so we can see what Mr. Max is up to and how much he's dropping late in the cycle?


It sounds like you are using the comment method where you click on the box and then click on an "add comment" in the tool bar and it will put a little triangle in the box to show there is a comment. When you move the cursor over the block, you see the comment but we have to scroll all the way down to the end of the sheet to see it. For that reason, I started just putting all comments in the Remarks column and I have extra columns to indicate food and meds separately from my remarks on how Gracie is doing. You can do it however you like and is most useful for you. Shelly gave the right instructions for adding to the remarks box.

Hope you get some AC today.
 
Re: 5/16 Max AMPS 101

Please be sure you see my comment above.

Let's see how Max does today but if he shoots back up, I might be thinking of fattening up his dose. He's cleared the bounce a few times and just come to blue. He is trending down a bit but blue is blue. The 99 the other morning could have been depot from the higher dose. Let's hope he decides to continue down today and show some :mrgreen:

On the dose on your SS, it's up to you how you show it. If you want to show it as fats and skinnys, that's fine. It's whatever works best for you on showing the dose as long as you are consistent and we can see the dose you are shooting.
 
Re: 5/16 Max AMPS 101+1=107

Thanks Shelly and Marje for the info on comments.

The pattern is broken, for now. He doesn't want me to take my spin class this morning which I was looking forward to, but I will fool him. I will go and do something else there at some point so that I can shower and wash my hair with a.c. since I won't get mine fixed before next Wednesday (mom's surgery Monday). My email received a please be patient reply. The only good part is I should get it today, ask any questions I have, and call for another estimate to make sure this one is fair.They didn't even send me the proposal yet. Today will be another very hot day, but down from 101 to 90ish. It's already 84 in here where the thermostat is so hotter in my bedroom! Max has been laying on the marble by the fireplace so the poor guy is hot too. He doesn't like the fan so I slept on the sofa in the den. I'll get a +10 tonight if necessary.
 
Re: 5/16 Max AMPS 101+1=117+2=80 feed 9%?

He already dropped from 117 at +1 to 80. I fed him some ff chunky turkey. I think it is around 9%. I hope he doesn't go down too far. I hope he doesn't bounce from this again. Maybe being good the last two nights will help??
 
Re: 5/16 Max AMPS 101+1=117+2=80 feed 9%?

:lol: :lol: :lol: the dose increase threat worked yet again!

I think the 9% is fine.... He's not coming down too fast.

I have to sign off in a few but you know what to do and others are sround.

Have a good day and try to stay cool. Bummer the AC guys aren't coming today. If Max gets warm, you cal always put cool, damp towels on him.
 
Re: 5/16 Max AMPS 101+1=117+2=80 feed 9%?

Thanks, Marje. I needed the reassurance about the food. Thanks for the towel idea too. He is doing his part by laying on the cool marble but that will only work so much. He would be better in one of the bathrooms but he doesn't think to go there and I don't want to upset him by locking him in one, sigh.
 
Re: 5/16 Max AMPS 101+1=117+2=80 fed 9%+3=62fed hc +4=52hc+k

He is dropping despite hc soulistic pouch.. Just fed hc + a drop of karo and will test in 20.
Update fed karo again with hc since only at 60 and at least 2 hours before nadir.

+5=75 so I didn't feed and will check in 30 minutes. Or should I feed lc? Put out lc but he didn't eat it. Now at 5.5 he is at 92 so I put the food back in the fridge. Will check in an hour this time to make sure he doesn't slide. I am documenting all this for myself for the future.
 
Re: 5/16 Max AMPS101+1=117+2=80+3=62+4=52+4.5=60+5=75/91+6.5

Great job handling the numbers today Elise! So nice to see Max show off his diving skills during the day for once. :mrgreen: I usually document extra food or extra carbs in my Remarks so I can go back and see what worked (or didn't) the next time. I only use HC cause that's what works with Neko, but I do vary the amounts and track that too.

Good luck on the AC. Paws crossed for cooler weather on the weekend. Neko's got long hair too and I've drizzled water/dampened the fur on her head if she gets too hot and that seemed to help.
 
Re: 5/16 Max AMPS101+1=117+2=80+3=62+4=52+4.5=60+5=75/91+6.5

Hi Wendy. I did post on the ss when I fed him and what. I think Max does need higher carbs and even karo when this happens. Last time I tried just feeding and he dove to the 30's. It will be interesting to see how high he gets by his pmps and if he bounces tonight or tomorrow.

The a.c. will be installed next Friday. The weather should be much cooler by Sunday. It's a big deal as it's a one piece and has to go on the roof which is 4 stories up!!

And yes, I am glad to see this happen during the day even if he interfered with my plans.

Thinking ahead, my mom needs to be at the hospital at 12:00 on Monday. My sister will take her and I will meet them there. So I can leave around 12 or a little before. I think I will give him his morning insulin at 6:30. I might be gone from then until his pmps. Should I give a reduced amount unless he is bouncing? I know it's a little early but I am planning ahead. I can't move his time up because I have to go to a birthday party for my brother Sunday night and they want us there around 5. I will just stop by for a short time so I can get home to give Max his insulin at 7:00.
 
Re: 5/16 Max AMPS101+1=117+2=80+3=62+4=52+4.5=60+5=75/91+6.5

so you'd be home on Monday until about his +5 or so? Back in the evening for his next shot? If i have that right, i think i'd keep his insulin the same. If you're late in the evening i think that's fine.

What i would do is to make some frozen catsicles of higher carb food so that if he's aimed lower, or scooting along low like he is today, you can leave the high carb food out for him to nibble on. You can mix them with a little water and freeze in an ice cube tray or muffin tin.

i'd do a "dry run" in advance to make sure he'd eat them if you leave them out. just use low carb for some test ones. you could do a tray of each and put them in labelled ziplock baggies in your freezer to pull out as you need them.

what a great cycle for Max today! good job handling everything, elise! sorry you're frying there in LA. we've had a lot on our news about the fires in southern california. stay safe!

edited to add - you can also put a wet handtowel in front of a fan so the fan air blows through it. it makes you a lot more comfy.
 
Re: 5/16 Max AMPS101+1=117+2=80+3=62+4=52+4.5=60+5=75/91+6.5

Thanks for the info, Julie. I will see if I can get a friend or two to each come once to check on him if he has a day like today. I'll also try the frozen food to see if he will eat it this weekend. So you think he would have been okay on his own today? I feel like I had to work to keep him up.
 
Re: 5/16 Max AMPS101+1=117+2=80+3=62+4=52+4.5=60+5=75/91+6.5

if you get a low amps on monday morning, then you might reduce the dose at that time. i don't think you have to reduce in advance. if he was really low you could skip the shot. it's so nice to see him in good numbers like this, i'd hate to lose momentum.

i think that having food out is the best strategy. that's what you're essentially doing today - feeding him every 30 minutes or so. i had to go back to work while punkin was still alive and i used the timed feeder every single day.

would your friends be able to test him?

it's hard to plan today for Monday - what if he bounces Sunday night and is high all day monday?
 
Re: 5/16 Max AMPS101+1=117+2=80+3=62+4=52+4.5=60+5=75/91+6.5

I know it's hard to plan this far ahead. I'm just trying to cover all bases and like you are thinking, not lose ground. I don't have anyone that can test him. He will hide if anyone comes in. Heck, I have to yank him out from under the bed at least half of the time. If it was just giving an injection I have someone that might do that.

I need to see if he would eat from a timer but he is so skittish, he even hid from my flat screen tv when I got it. He's lucky I'm not working.
 
Re: 5/16 Max AMPS101+1=117+2=80+3=62+4=52+4.5=60+5=75/91+6.5

the timed feeder that we have is really loud when it goes off to rotate the feeding tray. but in between rotations it's completely silent. like a little stalker sitting there, waiting for the kitty to come close before it scares them! :lol:

the first few times we tried it with punkin he was very scared. he hung back about 15 feet, watching carefully, smelling the food emerge . . . and then he'd go over very cautiously to it. then attack and scarf down the food. After he got used to the sound (we kept it in our dining room which is next to our living room) he would sit on the coffee table and when it went off, he'd literally jump 6 feet out from the table to get to it faster. The more he got used to it the closer he would get to it. He had a great internal clock and he knew it always went off at 10/10 for him, so he'd be watching and waiting for it to open. But he definitely had to get used to it.

The catsickles - some cats will let them thaw before eating them - i've heard some people say their cat would eat them as ice cubes. So it would be good to try out some this weekend to see what max would do with them.

it's good to plan ahead - this way you can think about how to feed him on Monday and try something out this weekend, for example. but i've got my fingers crossed that he'll be bouncing and you won't have to worry about him on monday.

eta - also different sized catsickles will thaw at different rates. you could use a muffin tin for some bigger ones.
 
Re: 5/16 Max AMPS101+2=80+3=62+4=52+4.5=60+6=99+10=149 PMPS

Well, he is probably bouncing. Or maybe he will come back down? I don't think Max will eat the frozen food but would likely eat it once thawed. I don't even give him food directly from the fridge. I microwave it for a few seconds or leave it to get to room temperature. He is spoiled!! i'll experiment this weekend and let you know. My neighbor will be around Monday to feed him a couple of times should it be needed though. Thanks for the good ideas, Julie.
 
Re: 5/16 Max AMPS101+2=80+3=62+4=52+4.5=60+6=99+10=149 PMPS

you don't want to have to worry while you're with your mom, so if you're uncertain on Monday morning, reduce or skip. He'll get back on track in a few days. You can just think of it like a furshot.

I never tried the catsickles with punkin - i know they wouldn't have worked. He'd have broken his teeth trying to eat them frozen and wouldn't have waited at all. But others have had them work - so maybe they would with Max.
 
Re: 5/16 Max AMPS101+2=80+4=52+4.5=60+6=99 PMPS 250+2.5=180

It's not a bounce after all! Maybe he will continue down slowly and then surf. That would be nice.
 
Re: 5/16 Max AMPS101+2=80+4=52+4.5=60+6=99 PMPS 250+2.5=180

Hi Elise:

Nice job getting Max back up today. I'm glad his "bounce' was short-lived.

I understand your planning ahead. I do that, too. There's just so much to think about, and you want to be sure you don't forget anything. I'm sure it will all work out fine.

Sending good surgery vines in advance for your DM. Have a great night!
 
Re: 5/16 Max AMPS101+2=80+4=52+4.5=60+6=99 PMPS 250+2.5=180

What an awesome cycle Max had today! And, it looks like Mr. Liver isn't going to freak out too much tonight. Surf safely tonight for your mamabean, Max!
 
Re: 5/16 Max AMPS101+4=52+4.5=60+6=99 PMPS 250+2.5=180+4.5=1

Jen, thanks. I think you might be right. I guess he wants me to check again before I feel I can go to sleep and not worry.

Tricia, I just don't want to stop momentum but Monday is a long way off.

Marje, thanks for checking in. I hope your day was okay.

Update: +6=65 I'm tired and think he will surf but I guess I need another test to be sure.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top