5/16 Marshmellow AMPS 447 PMPS 252

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marshmellow & Steve

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Marshmellow started getting antsy about 2 hours early today. Hopefully she'll rebound nicely from this bounce!

Hope everyone's day is nice and safe surfing to all the kitties!
 
It appears she is clearing a bounce, would it be proper to increase tomorrow, or should I wait a little bit to see where she is going. She keeps bouncing, but most nadirs (not all) are over 200.
 
The SLGLS Approach states:

After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours
Note
: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit


I don't know if she might have gotten lower the a.m. cycle of 5/15 so the PMPS of 138 was on her way up and thus this bounce. She has had nadirs between 90 and 149. While I don't want to see a DKA cat sit in higher numbers and would tend to tell you to increase tomorrow if she doesn't come down tonight, "theoretically" per SLGS, you would run a curve tomorrow and then decide on the dose.
 
Unfortunately unable to monitor today, so I don't know how low she went. My wife and I will try to do a curve tomorrow, as she appears to be in a bounce again (still?). I don't understand why her numbers are so high, I wish she could level out a little bit. I am also going to try and test for keytones tomorrow. Talk about frustrating, I give you all so much credit, your kitties are lucky!
 
Marshmallow is lucky, Steve. You show up here ready to learn and help her. That's more than most cats with a diabetes diagnosis get.

Hang in there. She didn't become diabetic overnight and it takes time to get a cat regulated. You're doing fine.

If she's in a bounce tomorrow there is no point in doing a curve. You'll just be wasting your strips. See how she is tomorrow and go from there.
 
Try not to get frustrated, Steve. I know it's hard to see higher numbers especially because good numbers get addictive. But you all are doing great and it will get easier and better. It just takes time.

I'm hoping her red numbers tonight indicate the high before the break so you can do a curve tomorrow and see where she is. Julie is correct that running a curve during a bounce isn't too helpful but she could start high and then come down. Hard to say...
 
Thank you all, I know it's only been a little over a month, and I'm not expecting miracles, but it is a bit overwhelming (a fact you are all familiar with I'm sure). You are all so very kind and your words encourage me. I did an increase today (will post that next), and will monitor. Again, thank you, I was just feeling a little overwhelmed last night. My wife and I believe Marshy was probably abused (she will usually only come to me when I have her food), I have a hard time testing her when the wife is asleep or working, I just felt like I finally hit a wall yesterday. Your support is really appreciated.
 
.:bighug::bighug: I think all of us with cats that weren't lucky enough to go into remission have felt like you conform time to time. You are so new at this so remission is very much a possibility. Hang in there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top