5/16 Lucy PMPS=173;+2=218 // Lab Updated

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo

Yesterday
AMPS=151 (0.75u); +2=193; +3=205; +9=187
PMPS=214 (0.75u); +2=270; +5=290

Today
AMPS=187 (0.75u); +2=193

Lucy's blood work results came back yesterday, and they aren't great.
From yesterday's condp:
The liver values are super high..... :sad:

ALT (ref range 27-158 IU/L) --- 1060 :o
AST (ref range 16-67 IU/L) --- 287 :shock:
ALP (ref range 12-59 IU/L --- 111 :?

White cell count is also high (ref range 3.9-19.0 x10E9/L) --- 27.3

So the vet thinks this is due to inflammation.
He thinks that the inflammation from her IBD/pancreatitis is moving up to her liver through bile duct.
He is putting her on another A/B called Zeniquin, 1/2 of 25mg tablet once a day for 2 weeks, on top of Metronidazole.

We are to re-check her blood in 2 weeks.
If the liver values aren't better then, we'll do Ultrasound.
Her kidney values are similar to the last tests in March.

On top of this, I noticed that her RBC and homoglobin are low, and the hematocrit is 29%, so she's heading towards anemia. :cry:
I'm going to start giving her some Vitamin B, the combo Marje recommends, but I don't know if she can absorb much of because of her IBD.

The good thing is that Lucy's still feeling fine.
I thought she'd need another combo of cerenia, famodidine and cypro once the dose given at the vet wears off, but no, she's fine and eating.
Which is good because I think I'm going to have to be easy on these meds in order not to burden her liver at the moment....

If anyone please care to look at her lab SS, I would very much appreciate any insight.
Sending vines to all in need, including my Lucy.
 
Re: 5/16 Lucy AMPS=187 // Lab Updated

Mariko

I have a crazy day as I have to work some but I will look at her labs later today and post tonight. Others might also have some thoughts and can chip in.

I'm glad she's feeling better! Let's hope she will absorb the B vitamins. As you know, cyanocobalamin injections are often given for IBD. I think you are doing that? The methylB12 with the Jarrows B Right is the appropriate combo for anemia when the HCT/PCV are above 20%. But the methylB12 doesn't help much with IBD.
 
Re: 5/16 Lucy AMPS=187 // Lab Updated

Thank you, Marje!
I just finished sending a PM to you, and saw your post. :-D
 
Re: 5/16 Lucy AMPS=187;+2=193 // Lab Updated

Mariko, 29% HCT is not too bad. With the B12 and B complex she can stay at this for a long time. Tiffany was at 25% for several months. I was ignorant back then. My vet never discussed anemia but the kidney list did so I started the vitamins. I truly think that would have worked for even longer had she not gotten an infection missed by her oncologist. It was right after she crashed that she dropped to 17% so we had to start epogen. Let the possible infection which is being treated go away and the HCT might very well go up. She is still at low normal, at least with my lab. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/16 Lucy AMPS=187;+2=193 // Lab Updated

Hi Mariko:

I'm glad to see that Lucy is still feeling well and eating well, too. Good thing our kitties can't read their lab reports. They don't know they're supposed to be sick!

You're doing a great job with her - there is so much to keep straight.

Sending healing vines and continued good appy vines for Lucy and hugs to you! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/16 Lucy AMPS=187;+2=193 // Lab Updated

I'm glad Lucy is feeling good. I hope the new meds help her. Sending prayers for Lucy and hugs to you. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/16 Lucy AMPS=187;+2=193 // Lab Updated

I hope Lucy is still feeling good this evening nd that you are able to get in some good snuggle time with boh Lucy and Ginger!
 
Re: 5/16 Lucy AMPS=187;+2=193 // Lab Updated

i'm so glad to hear that Lucy feels fine - that's so important. I'll let others with more lab knowledge advise you on the bloodwork - just know i've been thinking of both of you and sending my best feel-better vibes to Miss Lucy! :YMHUG:
 
Lucy's appy is just so-so this evening.
But she finished the 1st and 2nd dinner, and I'm about to feed her the 3rd dinner later than usual.

The 2 different A/Bs are spiking her BG quite a bit, so I'll probably raise her dose tomorrow morning if she keeps eating.

Thank you very much for your visit and vines.
I've been spending a lot of time figuring out new pilling schedule, how to fill gelcaps, when and how to give the new supplements to her, and haven't been able to visit condos....
 
I hope Lucy keeps eating so you can raise her dose a bit.

It must be hard keeping track of all the medicines and supplements you are giving Lucy. Good thing Ginger is a bit easier.
 
Hi Mariko. Just stopped in to send healing vines your way. I know how hard it is when they are on so many meds, especially when some need to be separated from others. I had to do that with Tiffany. Come on antibiotics, do your job!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top