5/16 Guinness AMPS 378|+2.5 350|PMPS 346|+3 401|+4 456

Status
Not open for further replies.

linda and guinness

Member Since 2009
Good Meowning all you Lantus Land Kitties and beans,

We had a long weekend poking and testing and now Guinness is glad to see me go back to work so his paws can rest. Tonight I will be raising his dose to 5.5u, unless I'm told not to because of the couple of 200's he hit during this cycle. They were such high 200's, I'm suspecting I can move forward with the 5.5u, but I want to confirm.

Here's our link to our Pirate Party at the condo this weekend....Rrrrrrrrrrr (get it, Pirates, Rrrg (R), hah, I crack myself up!)
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=43386
 
Re: 5/16 Guinness AMPS 378 (.5u Dose Increase this PM?)

You crack me up, too!!! :lol: Even after all the trials and tribulations of this weekend, you seem to be starting today out in a good mood. Awesome!! :-D Hope Guinness decides to behave himself this week and give you some better numbers. Champ did well last night, but that usually brings on the "you know what." We shall see.

Have a great Monday, Linda! :-D
 
Re: 5/16 Guinness AMPS 378 (.5u Dose Increase this PM?)

Good morning ... No dosing advice here but I'm sure that will come before the day is over .. Im sure guinness appreciates the day off of paw testing .. hopefully he comes down for you .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/16 Guinness AMPS 378|+2.5 350 (.5u Dose Increase this

HA! we're thinking of b-AARRRRGGG-ing in on your party!!
 
Re: 5/16 Guinness AMPS 378|+2.5 350 (.5u Dose Increase this

no advice, but just wondering why you'd be going up by .5 instead of a .25u. i'm sure a dosing person will be by before long.
 
Re: 5/16 Guinness AMPS 378|+2.5 350 (.5u Dose Increase this

I'm upping by .5 because his BG are consistently in the 300+ range, so according to protocol, you can up dose by .5 instead of .25 for such high bgs. His BG's did fall within the 200 range this past cycle, but it was because of the R and I'm wondering if he should stick with the .5 increase that I have been doing to try and get the numbers down.

Of course, I am now 20 minutes from his PM shot and not sure what to do again.
 
Re: 5/16 Guinness AMPS 378|+2.5 350 (.5u Dose Increase this

Hi Linda!!

I have no advice but I watch for your posts every day to see how you guys are doing!!

I think his numbers are looking good!
 
Re: 5/16 Guinness AMPS 378|+2.5 350 (.5u Dose Increase this

Linda, I would say if no one drops by with some advice on dosing before your pm shot, that with the numbers you have been seeing, it's probably safe to go with .5.. You just might have an interesting evening so be ready for that.. If something about it doesn't feel right then go with the safe dose and just go up .25.. It really is what makes you feel safe right now, especially if no one drops by before it's time..Some one might have a diff thought on that. I think you'll make the right decision for Guinness.. You've done great so far.. :-D
 
Re: 5/16 Guinness AMPS 378|+2.5 350 (.5u Dose Increase this

I would go ahead and do the 0.5 increase, but just without any R tonight in case he decides he likes the new dose a lot. You have plenty of room for the increase, in my opinion.
 
Re: 5/16 Guinness AMPS 378|+2.5 350|PMPS 346

Thanks for popping in in the nick of time Libby. I did go ahead and do the increase at .5u. I don't plan to do the R again for a few days on this dose. Hope he responds. Thanks all for bumping me up all day in an effort to get my question answered.

Am I posing my questions incorrectly in my subject line? Should I be using the ? symbol? I don't want to use the 911 symbol unless I have a true emergency. Thanks again all!
 
Re: 5/16 Guinness AMPS 378|+2.5 350|PMPS 346

Hi Linda!! Make sure you use the post icon ? if you have a question. The ? will be placed at the beginning of your subject line and makes it impossible to miss by the experts. Good luck with the dosecrease. Our turn is probably tomorrow or the next day.
 
Re: 5/16 Guinness AMPS 378|+2.5 350|PMPS 346|+3 401

Ugh! It makes no sense to me. His am +2.5 is less than his AMPS and his PM +3 is more than his PMPS. I can't figure out his nadir, onset, food spike, etc. He ate the exact same meal at AM and PM. Raw chicken with supplement TCFeline. Any interpretation of his data from someone with some experience would be greatly appreciated.
 
Re: 5/16 Guinness AMPS 378|+2.5 350|PMPS 346|+3 401

Hi Linda - Good luck with the dosecrease. It could be that the +3 is a food thing, or just that Guinness needs time to adjust to the new dose. Sometimes it is just a mystery.

You had asked a question in Mannie's condo about how I manage a curve with food, and what that meant. I posted a response there, but thought I would post is here too, in case you don't make it back there. Here's what I wrote: "on the managing the curve with food. wow - I hope I can explain this so it makes sense... basically it means that I try to control his numbers at the start of a cycle by using food at the front end of a cycle to control upcoming numbers. He will be fed his main meal at PS time, then a smaller portion at +1, +2, +3. ( I do not feed later on during the day - maybe small snack around +6, but nothing else) basically the food given at this time (at the front end of a cycle: called front loading) will "offset" the effects of the insulin, and keep his curve more even. Mannie is a well known diver. He can start out at, say for example 300 at ps and then dive to 100 by +2. all that diving then made him bounce out into the stratosphere. By feeding at +1, +2, +3 I am, hopefully, slowing the effects of the insulin, and preventing these drastic drops and subsequent bounces. This approach has leveled him out quite alot - the effects were not immediate, but over several months I did find that his diving lessened and his bounces weren't as severe. I hope this helps - if I wasn't clear, or there are more questions - let me know!
 
5 minutes prior to this test my civvie started hissing and swatting at the back sliding glass door. Turned on the porch light to see a giant raccoon nose to nose with him through the glass. Guinness saw him too and started that weird, throaty howl . Both cats were howling and hissing and puffing up. The Raccoon finally ran away. It was +4 test time, so I tested an agitated Guinness. I'm blaming his +4 456 on that raccoon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top