5/16 Gobbles AMPS 72 +3 76 +6 65 PMPS 73 +2.5 81

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=95400

Gobbles went low again last night.... 48 at PM +3 :shock: (with regard to feeding his numbers--I tried adding a few drops karo to LC instead of giving him MC but he will not touch it)

I didn't get any visits in most of yesterday as my eye is in bad shape. Bear with me, my right (infected) eye is terribly sensitive and painful today. It is a challenge to even type.

Started Gobbles on steroid/AB (mometomax) ear drops yesterday--I assume they will elevate his BG but it is possible they will not.

I almost did not give him his shot this a.m., due to continuing low numbers. This morning, I gave him .10 U.

I am considering an OTJ trial soon and would like opinions regarding same. While I realize it is bad timing in lieu of the ear drops, I still am considering it....
 
Re: 5/16 Gobbles AMPS 72 ? OTJ trial

Morning, ~O) ~O) ~O)

Sorry about your eye, I hope it feels better soon. Good luck with the ear drops for Gobbles, hope they don't increase BG's.

Have a good day,
Kathie
 
Re: 5/16 Gobbles AMPS 72 ? OTJ trial

Wow, Gobbles is doing just spectacularly! It's just amazing when all the sudden the bouncing stops, BGs go blue/green and you start marching down the dosing scale. Lucky Gobbles!!!

I'd be tempted to keep with the 0.1 or even shave that to a drop if needed, while dealing with the ear drops. How long is the course of ABs? You could start the drops and see if that has an effect and forces you to raise the dose, or if Gobbles maintains nice greens on a tiny dose. If he maintains, then maybe you can start the OTJ trial while the meds are in progress. I agree with your thoughts, it's not so good to change two things at the same time. Patience pants a tad more unless Gobby tells you otherwise!

Paws crossed!!!
 
Re: 5/16 Gobbles AMPS 72 ? OTJ trial

Based strictly on Gobbles' SS, he's very close to a trial. The monkey wrench will be the ear drops and the effect they have on numbers. Would it be possible to ask your vet about whether Zymox (there's a type without steroids) would be appropriate for Gobbles?

Gobbles will tell you when it's time for a trial.
 
Re: 5/16 Gobbles AMPS 72 ? OTJ trial

in response to your PM:

i agree with sienne. gobbles is very, very close to an OTJ trial! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
if i were in your shoes, i would continue with 0.1u until either gobbles earns a reduction by dropping below 50 again or maintains "normal" numbers on 0.1u for a week.

re: zymox
like sienne mentioned, there is a non-steroidal formulation available. some cats respond. others don't. if he doesn't respond to zymox without steroids, then he'll probably have to take the steroid version. you might want to discuss the pros and cons with your vet.
 
Re: 5/16 Gobbles AMPS 72 ? OTJ trial

Morning Kat! sending healing vines for your eye....feel better soon! Awesome for Sir Gobbles happy dance in order dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat Good luck with the ear drops, I hope it doesn't increase Gobby's bg ((((Big Hugs)))) :YMHUG: Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 5/16 Gobbles AMPS 72 +3 76 ? OTJ trial

Wow does he look great. I see Jill and Sienne have already responded to the PM but I will throw in my two cents worth that I'd just hold the dose until he earns a reduction. I think the Zymox is a good idea.

Just to let you know....my vet said topical steroids can't affect BGs but it was a steroidal eye drop that was the icing on the cake for Gracie becoming FD. It wasn't what caused it but, cumulatively with a couple other things, it pushed her over the edge. Gobbles may or may not see an increase in his BG but why risk it when he's so close?

Sending you healing vines for your eye. I'm certain that is quite painful...I hope there is something you can take for that.
 
Re: 5/16 Gobbles AMPS 72 +3 76 ? OTJ trial

HI Kat.....you know I'm not qualified to comment on Gobbles' sugar dance steps, but I am so happy for you both, that he is so close to OTJ.

I offered up fervent prayers for your eye healing. In the meantime, while you wait for it to heal, I too, hope you got some good pain med for it. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/16 Gobbles AMPS 72 +3 76 ? OTJ trial

I agree with the others. You are sooo close. I would stick with the 0.10 units unless he goes below 50, or until he's been in normal numbers for 1 week on that dose. Good Luck :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I am also sending you healing vines for your eye and healing vines for Googles ear.

Enjoy your day.
 
Re: 5/16 Gobbles AMPS 72 +3 76 ? OTJ trial

Hi Kat. Great to see Gobbles at this point. If you're going to be faced with a dilemma, whether to start an OTJ Trial is the one to have. I hope Gobbles ear infection is gone quickly.

Take care of your eye. We have you and Gobbles in our Prayers.
 
Re: 5/16 Gobbles AMPS 72 +3 76 ? OTJ trial

Hope you get to do the OTJ trial soon. Too bad about the timing of Gobbles ear infection and your eye infection, makes things even harder. My mon had that one time so painful and annoying. I sure hope it clears up soon.
Sending healing vines for you both.((hugs))
 
Re: 5/16 Gobbles AMPS 72 ? OTJ trial

Sienne and Gabby said:
...The monkey wrench will be the ear drops and the effect they have on numbers. Would it be possible to ask your vet about whether Zymox (there's a type without steroids) would be appropriate for Gobbles?

Gobbles will tell you when it's time for a trial.
Hi Sienne; vet isn't in today; I am going to call him tomorrow but I doubt he'd change the rx because when Gobbles had the ear infection last month, he insisted on the mometomax even though I asked him for something without steroids and told him I didn't want to give him steroids. And when Gobbles was on the ear drops April, I don't know if they raised his BG or not, by looking at his SS....

Edit: see my response below re: buying Zymox w/out rx!
 
Re: 5/16 Gobbles AMPS 72 ? OTJ trial

Lisa & Leo said:
I'd be tempted to keep with the 0.1 or even shave that to a drop if needed, while dealing with the ear drops. How long is the course of ABs?
7 days--I gave him a dose last night....
 
Re: 5/16 Gobbles AMPS 72 +3 76 ? OTJ trial

I called Gobbles' vet and left a message for him to call me re: zymox for Gobbles' yeast ear infection. Hopefully, he will prescribe it. I have decided for right now, to withhold the mometomax steroid/AB ear drops.... I found the Zymox (w/out hydrocortisone) online and it appears I can buy it without a prescription! Looks like I'll be on my way to Amazon here in a bit....!!!
 
Re: 5/16 Gobbles AMPS 72 ? OTJ trial

TheBowHuntress said:
Lisa & Leo said:
I'd be tempted to keep with the 0.1 or even shave that to a drop if needed, while dealing with the ear drops. How long is the course of ABs?
7 days--I gave him a dose last night....

Well, it sounds like everyone is pretty much in agreement on the OTJ thoughts - keep the dose for a weekish unless Gobby says otherwise and reevaluate. So exciting! I hope the meds don't mess with anything!

Feel better too :sad:
 
Re: 5/16 Gobbles AMPS 72 +3 76 ? OTJ trial

That's exciting you're so close to an OTJ trial. I hope Gobbles' ear infection clears up quickly and doesn't raise his BG. Sending prayers for healing for you eye.
 
Re: 5/16 Gobbles AMPS 72 +3 76 ? OTJ trial

Zymox Otic Hydrocortisone-Free ear solution/drops just ordered. No yukky steroid mometomax drops. Gob can just grin and bare the ear infection for a few more days....
 
Re: 5/16 Gobbles AMPS 72 +3 76 ? OTJ trial

Hi Kat, glad you will have the other non steroid ear drops for Gobbles. How exciting that Gobbles is so close to a trial. Have a great evening.
 
Re: 5/16 Gobbles AMPS 72 ? OTJ trial

Lisa & Leo said:
TheBowHuntress said:
Lisa & Leo said:
I'd be tempted to keep with the 0.1 or even shave that to a drop if needed, while dealing with the ear drops. How long is the course of ABs?
7 days--I gave him a dose last night....

Well, it sounds like everyone is pretty much in agreement on the OTJ thoughts - keep the dose for a weekish unless Gobby says otherwise and reevaluate. So exciting! I hope the meds don't mess with anything!

Feel better too :sad:
No more of these steroid ear drops -- not those at least -- I got the non-steroid ones ordered
 
Re: 5/16 Gobbles AMPS 72 +3 76 +6 65 PMPS 73

I guess I'm living in a bubble. I didn't know that a topical med, could raise bg.
I'm so darn happy for you, Kat. Gobbles looks sooooooo good :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top