5/16 Chika Amps 21.5 Pmps 20.4 - increase?

Tomikka

Member Since 2022
Should I increase Chika from 3u to 3.25 tomorrow.

Initially dropped to blue but then has slowly crept up to constantly pink.

Switched to SLGS after removal of th freestyle.



Thanks for the help,
Tomikka
 
Hi Tomikka

Considering Chika's numbers, I would suggest you follow TR. For TR you need to get at least 1 mid-cycle test in addition to preshot tests. More if it is an active cycle. But you can still follow TR even without a Libre. TR allows you to evaluate doses every 3-5 days. With SLGS you can increase only once a week.

Chika is staying in high numbers and you want to get her to a good dose soon.
 
Thank you for the response, I was a bit nervous to follow the TR without the freestyle if she dropped too low, and I didn't catch it while changing her amount more frequently.
Is it possible to follow the TR method with more frequent increases but still aim for the SLGS target numbers and Preshot numbers?

Since I've waited seven days if I was following either method, would I increase to 3.25?

Thanks again for your help
 
Lower numbers are scary at first but they become addictive once you get used to them. You are not the first person to be worried about your cat dropping too low. We have all been there. :-) As long as you can test and feed, you have the tools to keep her safe.

The rationale for not letting a cat stay in higher numbers is that there's a tendency for glucose toxicity to develop. The term sounds a lot worse than it is. What this means is that your cat's body gets used to being in higher numbers and treats it as the "new normal." This makes it harder to get the numbers back to the real normal.

Yes, even with SLGS you would increase the dose by 0.25U tomorrow. I would suggest that you re-evaluate the dose on Day 3 of the new dose.
 
Thank you for your help, I will increase tomorrow and evaluate in 3 days (Wednesday).

If she isent getting consistent greens in her ( +6 to +8) then I do another increase of .25?
 
Back
Top