? 5/16/17 Sprocket,AMPS/352. +3.25/264.+6.25/182. PMPS/77, 64, +12/87.+13.5/96.+19.5/263 NoShot

Status
Not open for further replies.
Back in blue!! 182 at +6.25

He is watching all the action. Brave boy!

Did vomit a little but i think he ate some tree stuff from our shoes that was on floor.
Eating about 2oz od 2.3carb now.
 
nice report, glad he got into the blues and even got some courage to watch all the commotion outside.
 
Ok...here we go again...
Pmps/ 77. 7min later 64,
+12/87. No shot
He ate 2oz of 4carb at 625pm.

Someone of 2 cats threw up a 4inch piece of clear plastic tape with a furball. Not sure which cat. One tried to throw up furball yesterday. Sprocket threw up some grass stuff that came in house on shoes.

Also. Carbs are obviously making a difference to his bg. Yesterday i fed higher carb because i was worried about today. Today i fed a 4 carb at amps then 2 carbs for both meals today. He dropped. I know its not much but when i go up to 5 carb it seems to make a difference.

I know some of u think I am wrong but it keeps happening.
 
OK. The main effects on his BG are going to be these:-

He just completed his 6th cycle after his last skipped shot. That means his depot is now back to where it needs to be, so you would expect to see slightly lower numbers.

Throwing up, if he's been feeling sick beforehand (which is likely) will often lower BG.

5/9, he got 3 carb and 2 carb in the morning and a mixture of 1 carb and 2 carb between his AM and PM shots. At PMPS, you gave him 7% carb...and he had a completely normal cycle with a nice nadir. Off a 7% food. Similar situation on 5/12 - you started his day with 2% and 3% and he ran in the 300s. In the evening, he got 4% followed by a little 3% and a fair amount of 6%...and again ran a very normal cycle with some nice numbers...off higher carb (though still low carb) food. On the vast majority of days, there's such a mixture of foods between 1% and 4%, all in tiny little quantities each and often 2 different percentages in the same meal, that the average carbs from day to day are actually almost identical...if we're going to assume that the percentages are that accurate (they're not, but I'll play along for the sake of argument). And yet his numbers, day to day, on almost identical average carbs, vary quite significantly. Which lends more to the theory that he's still doing some bouncing although it's more difficult to spot now because his bounce numbers are close to what were his 'regular' numbers just a week or two ago. And that skipped shots have an effect for more than one cycle, which we already know is true with a depot insulin. Plus you're seeing regular day to day variation. I have looked at the food you've got listed, but a lot of it makes little sense on a logical level. When you give 0.5 oz of 0% and 0.5 oz of 6%, you've got yourself a 3% food. Exactly the same as the 3% food you may have given at another meal but are saying you see a difference. And then things like giving 2 oz of 4% and 1 oz of 3% - which averages to 3.66% for that meal. Which rounds right back to 4% since all the carb percentages we have are rounded. So you might as well just give the 4% because effectively that's exactly what you did give. This is why it's impossible for us to confirm that the food is the difference. If you were to feed him a 0% food for 3 or 4 days...days where you don't skip a shot and he isn't bouncing...and then 7% for 3 or 4 days under the same circumstances and you were able to see that he ran higher on the 7% all day every day, then we would agree with you. But when you're trying to control the carbs down to less than a 1% difference and saying it matters, then there's really nothing for us to see because we know the percentages you're working from aren't accurate enough to do that.
 
9:02pm/96. +13.5

He vomited some grass stuff about 2pm or so. Clear stuff.

The other not sure if it was him.

He is surfing good now. Not sure why this keeps happening.

????
Anyone wanna give theories why this is happening??
Plus his bloodwork came back. His ALT was back up to 196 from 158 on April 9th.

Ketone negative
Monocyte was 0.668 with ref range of 0.04-0.53 K/ul (backward u)

Glucose 332. Odd how blood glucose so much higher than bg

No bacteria
No thyroid issue.
I can show a pic of results sent to u on pm. Not sure how to post it here.

I know its hard to believe he is somewhat carb sensitive but I see it.

So thoughts....?
 
OK, since I have seen the lab results these are my thoughts. Blood Glucose and BG are the same thing by the way, just for info. I think he was higher at the vet for 2 reasons. First one is because you'd skipped his shot that morning, so once he started on his way up there was nothing to stop him - he actually kept going up and was over 400 at his PMPS that night and it took him 24 hours to come back down. And then we have good old vet stress spiking him higher too. The ALT is a little high and you will want to check that again. His WBCs on his b/w were in range, but in the higher end of the range and that combined with the Monocytes makes me wonder if the infection hasn't actually fully cleared - again, something to keep an eye on and discuss with your vet.

Now to the food/carb sensitive issue. I averaged the carbs you've been giving him over each part of each day since May 3rd when you started making complete notes of them. And noted the number range he got after each type of carb content. The carb numbers are rounded to the nearest 1% because that's how all the carb numbers are shown on Dr. Lisa's list - you can't go more accurate than nearest whole number when the entire thing is done in whole numbers. If you're trying to go more accurate than that, then I am going to insist that differences of something between 0.09% and 0.27%, which is the sort of number it came up with as the actual difference in carb % that you're making by feeding a mixture of all the different foods just don't exist in reality unless you run every can of food through a full lab test before you feed it. The only real patterns that look as though they show up are that he runs higher on 1% than on anything else. And that he runs lower on 7-9%. Except that that doesn't take into account the reasons you fed those particular foods - you averaged 1% when he was already higher and bouncing, and 7-9% when he was in or close to normal numbers. For your usual food - the 2%, 3% and 4%, you're seeing all the different number ranges on each percentage of food. The pattern just is not there. Here's the spreadsheet that shows the pattern not existing. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1DOTowIdbU58SYbbv5g_Nm8TS9gbJ-Wj4NXMnFG6U-Cw/edit?usp=sharing I have noted when you've skipped shots because those, obviously, affect the way the numbers go for several cycles. The differences in numbers that you're seeing are down to multiple factors - skipped shots, dose adjustments, bounces and day to day variation. But they're not the food you're giving - I know that's not what you want to hear, but they're just not.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top