5/15 Tansi AMPS 92, +3 104, +5 97, +8 101, PMPS 108, +3 97

Cindy loves Tansi

Member Since 2021
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...surgery-day-pmps-90-4-97.289983/#post-3179222

Need guidance on dose
Ate well last night
Doesn't want food this morning
Dental surgery yesterday

Update
Gave half dose again. Still not showing interest in food. We have to leave at nadir for specialist appointment around nadir. I will see if I can get him to eat some fancy feast before we leave.

Would still appreciate some guidance. Vet said to give full dose beginning yesterday pmps.
 
Last edited:
Did he eat anything since you posted? Will you be able to syringe-feed him?

His mouth is probably painful and sore and he's not going to want to eat a lot for a few days.

ETA: just saw the edit to your original post.
 
Did he eat anything since you posted? Will you be able to syringe-feed him?

His mouth is probably painful and sore and he's not going to want to eat a lot for a few days.

Yes I will be able to syringe feed if necessary.
He still hasn't eaten. I just gave him one of the pain meds and will give the other one in an hour.
 
Ok he ate like a tsp on his own.
Should I maintain the half dose for the time being if he continues not to eat much?
See how he does on it and whether he eats or not. Pain will elevate numbers. The numbers you are seeing could still be the effect of the higher depot.

Since you have shot him, could you please take off the "Stalling" from the title. Thanks!
 
Max was the same way after he had a couple of teeth pulled. He ate that night but not interested the next morning. The pain meds might take away the appetite but necessary. I hope Tansi feels better quickly.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Max was the same way after he had a couple of teeth pulled. He ate that night but not interested the next morning. The pain meds might take away the appetite but necessary. I hope Tansi feels better quickly.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Ok good to know
I gave him some fancy feast pate that he never gets and he licked the plate clean. I am gonna keep giving small portions hourly in case he eats too fast.
 
Hi everyone

Not quite sure what to do tomorrow.
His appetite is almost back to normal.
I know numbers go up after surgery for a while, but also the vet said his numbers will likely go down now his teeth are not painting him.
Should I go back to full dose, hold, or go to 2 units as a compromise?
 
I find it takes about 7-10 days for the inflammation from a dental to go down. In the mean time, they might even need an increase in dose - Neko did. I wouldn't drop down just in case. Let his numbers tell you when his dose needs to go down.
 
Back
Top