5/15 Rocky PMPS 325 +1 120 +1.5 93 +2 79 +3 77 +4 89 +9 279

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good afternoon!

Yesteday's Condo:
posting.php?mode=reply&f=9&t=118773

Yesterdays SS recap:
AMPS 348 +1 431 +5 338
PMPS 356 +1 302 +3 287 +8.5 343

Hi Libby, Jill, and Elise,

I kept with the current 1.75u for this morning's shot.

Rocky is surfing a lot of yellow numbers during this AMPS cycle, so I'm not going to raise his insulin dose to 2.0u tonight. Plus, I have an appointment tomorrow at 11AM that's about a one hour and a half drive from home. I won't be able to do any blood tests until I get by late afternoon, hopefully.

I was thinking more in the future that I might raise his dose more quickly, say every 2 days, by .50u each, if he gets reductions all the way back down to .75u again. When his nadirs hold steady in high yellows and then the rest of his numbers are MOSTLY in the 300s or above, I think he needs more insulin. When he has enough insulin he can clear a bounce at a faster rate.

I had to keep reducing him way down, and I did so quickly, on those higher doses from 2.25u to 2.50u. I think that next time we reach that stage of that much insulin that I need to feed him a higher carb food, maybe 10%, to be able to keep him on those higher doses. Well, that's what my plan is for now anyway. :roll:

Thank you for all of your concern about Rocky. I feel so grateful that you are looking out for him and offering me advise from your years of experience.
 
Re: 5/15 Rocky AMPS 298 +5 298 +7 289 -- HOLDING dose

whew! I'm glad you're holding the dose today. Sometimes a flat yellow cycle is a signal of some action to come in the next cycle or two. You can't get much flatter than this, so maybe it means something. We'll see.

About increasing by 0.5u every 2 days, that is pretty aggressive and is a technique we usually reserve for situations such as a cat that is stuck in high flat numbers (high flat, not high and moving!), the presence of ketones, or a cat with a suspected high dose condition.
 
Re: 5/15 Rocky AMPS 298 +5 298 +7 289 -- HOLDING dose

Tina, I'm catching up on condos and wondering about your response to Libby's suggestion of increasing Rocky's carbs instead of giving him 0% carbs. Is this the first time you've heard that suggestion?

Libby, as you're advising Tina, I'm thinking you should know, if you don't already, that Rocky has ringworm and has had it for several weeks/months since before he came to live with Tina. He lives in a bathroom at Tina's house, so gets basically no exercise. We've had quite a few discussions about how those two factors likely play into his blood sugar.
 
Re: 5/15 Rocky AMPS 298 +5 298 +7 289 +9 346

The 346 at AMPS +9 signals to me that it's not enough insulin for Rocky. If it were enough insulin, I would expect him to drop to a blue number after that string of yellows, Instead, there is pink, and likely another number that is even higher by PMPS.

Libby, I think you said one time something about how increasing the dose isn't going to show you better numbers? :roll: I can't remember your exact wording and I'm all out of time again. Need to hit the road to go feed the feral colonies.

Even though I don't believe this dose of 1.75u is enough for him, I'll hold it for tonight and through tomorrow morning because of that appointment that I have tomorrow and I won't be able to do any blood tests all day long. Although it is unlikely of any drop in BG on the day that I increase the dose, for the sake of Rocky's safety I will hold steady with the 1.75u.

Julie, yes, I tried increasing the carb load to 10% and at first it looked like it was going to help him go lower. On 5/12 I fed him the 11% carbs for 6 mini-meals that day, as well as I ged him some 33% carb in the middle of the night when I saw that first blue number. I am glad that I somehow decided to do that because just two hours later he dropped to a BG in the greens.

However, after continuing to feed him the 11% carbs after the green numbers his BG just kept going up, up, and up. So, I fell back to feeding him the 3% carb. In fact, that's what I've fed him all today and he managed to stay flat in the yellow number until 3 hours before shot time.

It is very disappointing to see that he did not drop into a blue number after that long stretch of yellows. I mean, I'll will GLADLY take all of those hours in sunny yellow, but it irritates me that he is back into pink again.

About Rocky's ringworm.. I kind'a do not believe that he has ACTIVE ringworm any longer. He was on the oral anti-fungal for 4 months. I have now given him (2) lime-sulfur dips. He is not itching anywhere and all of his fur has grown back. I am doing the dip as a precautionary measure to make sure that it's off of his fur.

You're right though he doesn't get any exercise. (And neither do I!)..I've got a houseful of cats to tend to and there is just not enough time in the day for me or for him.
 
Re: YIKES! 5/15 Rocky PMPS 325 +1 120 +1.5 93

I don't know what I'm going to do if Rocky is green in the morning and I have to go to this appointment. I just fed him 1/4 can of the 11% FF Grilled Turkey and Giblets with one drop of Karo in it at PMPS +1.5.

I'm trying to keep the numbers propped up so that he doesn't need to take a reduction. This is so hard to decide whether to feed him 33% carbs or 11% carbs, when his BG was still dropping with the 11% carbs. Will re-test in a few minutes to see if he's come up any. I hope he can surf the blue or yellow tonight. The green is just too much to manage during the overnight hours when I have to get up early and be out of town tomorrow.
 
Re: YIKES! 5/15 Rocky PMPS 325 +1 120 +1.5 93

That pink is known as the high before the break. It is common and it's a good thing to learn how to spot. Anytime I see a lot of flat yellow on a SS followed by a pink number, I suggest holding the dose to make sure if that is the high before the break. And that's what you saw in Rocky tonight.

Keep in mind that feeding changes take time. I believe what I had suggested was a food in the 4-6% range. So I wouldn't throw the baby out with the bath water ;-) the Wellness chicken, turkey, and chicken/beef are all 4% and many of us feed those. There are also several fancy feast classics that are in the middle range of LC foods
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top