Tina & Rocky
Member Since 2013
Good afternoon!
Yesteday's Condo:
posting.php?mode=reply&f=9&t=118773
Yesterdays SS recap:
AMPS 348 +1 431 +5 338
PMPS 356 +1 302 +3 287 +8.5 343
Hi Libby, Jill, and Elise,
I kept with the current 1.75u for this morning's shot.
Rocky is surfing a lot of yellow numbers during this AMPS cycle, so I'm not going to raise his insulin dose to 2.0u tonight. Plus, I have an appointment tomorrow at 11AM that's about a one hour and a half drive from home. I won't be able to do any blood tests until I get by late afternoon, hopefully.
I was thinking more in the future that I might raise his dose more quickly, say every 2 days, by .50u each, if he gets reductions all the way back down to .75u again. When his nadirs hold steady in high yellows and then the rest of his numbers are MOSTLY in the 300s or above, I think he needs more insulin. When he has enough insulin he can clear a bounce at a faster rate.
I had to keep reducing him way down, and I did so quickly, on those higher doses from 2.25u to 2.50u. I think that next time we reach that stage of that much insulin that I need to feed him a higher carb food, maybe 10%, to be able to keep him on those higher doses. Well, that's what my plan is for now anyway. :roll:
Thank you for all of your concern about Rocky. I feel so grateful that you are looking out for him and offering me advise from your years of experience.
Yesteday's Condo:
posting.php?mode=reply&f=9&t=118773
Yesterdays SS recap:
AMPS 348 +1 431 +5 338
PMPS 356 +1 302 +3 287 +8.5 343
Hi Libby, Jill, and Elise,
I kept with the current 1.75u for this morning's shot.
Rocky is surfing a lot of yellow numbers during this AMPS cycle, so I'm not going to raise his insulin dose to 2.0u tonight. Plus, I have an appointment tomorrow at 11AM that's about a one hour and a half drive from home. I won't be able to do any blood tests until I get by late afternoon, hopefully.
I was thinking more in the future that I might raise his dose more quickly, say every 2 days, by .50u each, if he gets reductions all the way back down to .75u again. When his nadirs hold steady in high yellows and then the rest of his numbers are MOSTLY in the 300s or above, I think he needs more insulin. When he has enough insulin he can clear a bounce at a faster rate.
I had to keep reducing him way down, and I did so quickly, on those higher doses from 2.25u to 2.50u. I think that next time we reach that stage of that much insulin that I need to feed him a higher carb food, maybe 10%, to be able to keep him on those higher doses. Well, that's what my plan is for now anyway. :roll:
Thank you for all of your concern about Rocky. I feel so grateful that you are looking out for him and offering me advise from your years of experience.