? 5/15 Marmy'samps 334, + 7-59, +8-46

Status
Not open for further replies.

tonimarmalade

Member Since 2015
because Marmy seemed to be stuck above my beloved green and blue numbers at 1.25 I gave her 1.4 this am and now I think I made a mistake. Because of the 46, I should go back down to 1.25, correct? Any enlightenment on why these numbers have been so wacky would be so appreciated. I just gave her some wet food with gravy and 14% carbs and I will test her again shortly.
 
For newly diagnosed cats yes, when you get a test under 50 (if you're following Tight Reg) you can decrease by .25u. If you start seeing that Marmy can't hold the reduction, ie, her numbers trend back up after the reduction, then at some point you have the option of going to one of the other methods of reductions.

One option is to let her go 3 times under 50 before you decrease her dose by 0.25u.
A second option is to just shave the dose a tiny bit with each dip under 50.

The important thing to note is that this isn't a mix and match system. Don't let her go below 50 three times and then just shave it. That sets her up to be overdosed.

When you reduce the dose the goal is to have the numbers continue to stay in green. If you reduce the dose and her numbers don't continue in green you would call that a failed reduction and immediately go back up to the last good dose. There's info on that here.

You're at about 6 months since diagnosis so I think if you want to choose one of those other options, you could. She's been stuck at the "1.25u isn't enough, 1.5u is too much" for a little while now.

That's all assuming you're following Tight Reg, which I think you are. Would you put that in your signature line, please, to help make sure you're getting advice that's appropriate? thanks!
 
Are you using a human glucometer? I'm assuming those numbers are, but thinking I should just double check.

Just to encourage you a little bit, often when you shoot a lower preshot without reducing the dose, you can cause a huge change in the spreadsheet. Lantus and Lev work great at lower numbers and they can hold the blood sugar flat. You can cause the whole range to come down and flatten out, eliminating the higher numbers when you've shot low.

Here's some info for you to read about it on the Where Can I Find? post
....Shooting Low
....Tight Regulation Protocol, Myths Debunked - look for the post called "Shooting a dropping number."
....Shooting and Handling Low Numbers yellow sticky, look for the section on "shooting a low preshot"

And ask if you can't find any of those, or if it seems confusing. You are likely to be faced with a low preshot before long, and it's good to see (from other's spreadsheets and examples) what is likely to happen if you shoot it.
 
Since Marmy seems to fail her reductions, you have a couple choices:

  • you can leave the dose at 1.4u for now and once she goes between 40 and 50 on three separate days, reduce by 0.25u OR
  • you can just shave her dose to 1.3u if you can consistently draw that
Both of these methods are more aggressive than just reducing her back to 1.25u but that dose didn't seem to do much for her and the 1.5u dose was too much. If you try either of the above, you will need to be sure and monitor her, especially if you elect the first option. You can also manage her curve with food to try and keep her from going below 50.

And as Julie also said, even though she bounced high and she probably won't come back down tonight, she could.
 
I went with the 1.3 or at least my best effort at measuring 1.3. We,ll see. Sorry to be such a thick brain with all of this. I read your and yours colleagues long discussion/ debate with Sandman last night and was totally confused.
Wow! There is a lot to learn here.
 
Fortunately you don't have to understand it all at once. I found that as something was relevant to punkin's particular situation at that time, then it made sense and I understood it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top