5/15 Jupiter PMPS/289 --civie sick? back from vet!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to yesterdays condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=95351


Yuck - whats up with all these high numbers?! Really hoping to see some blues again soon!


Todays Numbers:
AMPS-245
+2-333
+5-365
+8-295
PMPS-289
+2.25-309
+3.75-299

Recap of yesterday:
AMPS-318
+2-369
+4-312
+6-318
+9.25-303
PMPS-309
+2-291
+6-291
+9.5-353
 
Re: 5/15 Jupiter AMPS/245 +5/365 +8/295

hmmm if this is still a bounce... why would he be bouncing for so long? is there a reason for a longer bounce?
 
Re: 5/15 Jupiter AMPS/245 +5/365 +8/295

It could be that you reduced the dose two times, 2 cycles apart. Leo used to do this - bounce his way through more than one reduction in a row. It can take a few cycles after a reduction for the BGs to settle out a bit, and it is not uncommon for the bounce that follows the first reduction to clear into another dip...causing the cat to earn a second reduction. So Jupiter may be at a lower dose than would be optimal at this point. If a cat tends to do this you'd want to watch for these higher numbers because this means that the reduction failed. And it looks like this second reduction very well may have failed. If I am not mistaken, the protocol would call for a dose increase after 3 days of nadirs in the values you have seen, so Jupiter would get a dose increase tomorrow morning.

Dosing experts should confirm.
 
Re: 5/15 Jupiter AMPS/245 +5/365 +8/295

Ohh okay. I was just confused why a bounce would last so long. Thanks for the reply. I understand a little bit better now.
 
Re: 5/15 Jupiter AMPS/245 +5/365 +8/295

Sure! It takes a lot to ponder out how these little stinkers decide to behave, and then they change!
 
Re: 5/15 Jupiter PMPS/289 =(

Yes he sure does need to work that juice. Of course the second someone mentions an increase - he may go back down... as he always does as soon as an increase is mentioned lol
 
Re: 5/15 Jupiter PMPS/289 =(

Hey Jupiter, did you hear that... INCREASE IS ON THE HORIZON. I'm shouting from the mountains of Virginia! There is a clear and present threat that momma bean is gonna give you MORE juice! And I'm talking to Mr. P too! Let's get in the game please. There's a whole bunch of us cheering you on so let's do this! Here's a suggestion... let's pop in the movie "BLUE" Hawaii and then after that take a dip into the nice calming waters of the "GREEN" Lagoon to cool off. :-D

I hope he has some better numbers soon Jamie. At least you've been able to catch up on rest hopefully these last 3 days.
 
Re: 5/15 Jupiter PMPS/289 =(

Just wondering if anyone can give me an opinion on wether or not I should increase his dose tomorrow if his numbers are still high? It is really hard for me to get online and ask before shooting in the AM - and really do not want to shoot late tomorrow since I have been just staying on this 1 hour late schedule.
 
Re: 5/15 Jupiter PMPS/289 opinions on dose?

If he doesn't clear the bounce tonight, I'd increase the dose to 1.5u tomorrow. Good luck!
 
Re: 5/15 Jupiter PMPS/289 opinions on dose?

Hi Jamie, assuming that Jupiter's nadir tonight is above 200, I think you could increase tomorrow morning to 1.5u. Jupiter's nadirs have been in the 200s, that would warrant an increase. You will be around to monitor tomorrow?
Liz
 
Re: 5/15 Jupiter PMPS/289 opinions on dose?

Yeah I will be here to monitor. I am considering maybe increasing at night instead of in the morning. For some reason I think he normally responds to the 2nd dose of the increase. So I am thinking if I raise it at night- hopefully all of his lower numbers will be during the day the next day...

Any opinions on this?
 
Re: 5/15 Jupiter PMPS/289 opinions on dose?

I like your thinking Jamie. Now, let's hope Jupiter is on the same page. Sending you "in-sync" vines. :lol:
 
Re: 5/15 Jupiter PMPS/289 opinions on dose?

Danes cat - his name is Lumpkins. He is fiv positive. He is kept separated from my cats because my cats have not been vaccinated yet. He has been rubbing his butt on the floor for the past few days - the room he is in looks horrible - and his butt looks very very sore. I am going to try to call around to local vets and see if any have a low appointment fee. The vet we usually go to is 45 min drive away which is going to be hard because Dane cant miss work this week. I think he went to the vet for this before... and his anal glands were full and they somehow emptied them... I dont know.. I am not sure why this is happening. I mean his butt loooksss really really sore - I feel bad for him. He still eats dry food sometimes- like the bowl of dry food is in there - but I frequently take him a small plate of the canned food. I am not sure if this is making his problem worse... I am not really sure what to do either then call the vet.

If anyone has any opinions on what could be the cause of this - please let me know, thanks.
 
Re: 5/15 Jupiter PMPS/289 opinions on dose/civie sick?

Hi Jamie, good luck on the dosecrease tomorrow. I found that Neko sometimes responds better the second cycle after the increase too.

It does sound like Lumpkins (love the name :-D ) needs his anal glands expressed. It is something that should be looked at. If it's red it might be abscessed. Some cats just need them expressed periodically. You could ask the vet to show you how to do it at home. I think Deborah of Deborah and Shasta does hers. You can google it and see descriptions of how to do it, but it may depend on how well the cat reacts to handling "back there". I got the vet to do my civie's. She did it for free as part of an appointment for something else.
 
Re: 5/15 Jupiter PMPS/289 opinions on dose/civie sick?

It does sound like anal glands, but you might want to bring a stool sample just in case they ask for it, because I think worms can cause butt scooting too. When J.D. had his anal glands expressed they just charged me for the office charge, no charge for the expression.
 
Re: 5/15 Jupiter PMPS/289 opinions on dose/civie sick?

I 3rd the anal glands. I do My civvie's at home, but she is relatively easy to do.

As for the FIV+, talk to your vet and read around. Leo is FIV+ and he is allowed to mingle with the other cats (well, we have some completely unrelated integration issues, especially with a new cat). FIV+ tends to spread through deep bites and puncture wounds, which is how he was infected (cat fight outside before we brought him in and 11 stitches on the tail from the bite). Transmission is very much less likely from batting each other, even with claws extended. I just read some studies of infection spread in large cat facilities, and it was pretty darned small ... I can look for them if you PM me. Recommendation is to keep the cats separated if you absolutely want no transmission, but cats in a stable social structure in the house tend not to become infected.

If you get the vaccination, then the cat will likely test positive for FIV+ from then on out, even though it doesn't have FIV *at that point*. Then you will never know if the cat were to become FIV until symptoms are quite advanced (although arguably that is why you get the vaccine in the first place). The vaccine is not always successful. However, if the cat ever gets out and is picked up and ends up in a shelter, unless it is no-kill, the cat will be put to sleep because it is assumed the cat is FIV+. One alternative is to put on his collar something to the effect that he is NOT FIV+

Anyway, it is a decision that we had to make, and we decided to really work the integration issues with all the cats. Yes, the other 2 cats may become infected. But they are out forever cats and will be well cared for. If we decided no to keep Leo when we get his DX, he would have been put to sleep. And Mako, who we just adopted, would still be in a shelter. I rationalize it this way ... if Mako is infected, he still gets many more years of quality life than he otherwise might have gotten in a shelter situation.

Well, sorry, I didn't mean to soap-box there, but there is some thinking to do on the topic.
 
Re: 5/15 Jupiter PMPS/289 opinions on dose/civie sick?

Well I called my vet and they said the VERY soonest they can see him is next wednesday as they are completely booked. I dont know - I feel like thats a really long time to wait since his butt looks so so sore.
 
Re: 5/15 Jupiter PMPS/289 opinions on dose/civie sick?

Is there any other vet you could see sooner? Anal glands can get infected and burst. That's a lot worse of a situation than you're dealing with. I wouldn't consider this trivial enough that you should wait a week.
 
Re: 5/15 Jupiter PMPS/289 opinions on dose/civie sick?

I would definitely get him in sooner if you can. Infected anal glands, if that is what it is...and it sounds like it, can make them quite sick. Jill's vet used a cold laser on Alex's anal glands and it really sped up the healing.

I agree with Lisa on the FIV. Cats with FIV can live a very, very long time if supported with a good diet and kept healthy as possible. At the no kill shelter where we volunteered, the only FIV+ cats that were separated from the others were the more aggressive males that had been tomcats and not neutered until they were adults.
 
Re: 5/15 Jupiter PMPS/289 opinions on dose/civie sick?

Okay I am still trying to call around to see if someone can see him sooner and how much it will cost. I just dont know what to do if its too expensive.. I mean I will pay all the money I have right now but not much I can do if it will cost more then I have
 
Re: 5/15 Jupiter PMPS/289 opinions on dose/civie sick?

Wow...all I can say is I can't believe a vet won't see a sick cat right away.....

Sending healing vines your way. One of my civvies did have an abscessed gland that burst, and he needed several ABs and a betadine wash every night. It's definitely not something to mess around with....I hope you find someone to help you, and I hope he feels better soon.
 
Good news - I did end up finding a vet that would see him today! Expensive - but really glad they could see him today. They said his anal glands were full and they emptied them and they gave him Animax ointment??? Vet said it is for cats ears but she said it would work for this too??? Has anyone else heard this before??
 
Also I apologize for not making a new condo for today - just abit busy and wanted to let everyone know that Lumpkins is back from vet
 
So glad to hear Lumpkins got taken care of today. Just what you needed right before a dose increase huh? ohmygod_smile I hope things continue to improve for him. No more scooty butt! Thank heavens!
 
Great news! A nice simple fix. Jupiter may be a cat that needs regular expressing, so that's something to keep in mind when the meows start and you can't figure out why. If it does, as the vet how to do it yourself. For some cats, it's easy. For Molly, I don't even have to put a finger in the butt and it's over in about 15 seconds.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top