5/15 HAPPY 12th BIRTHDAY LEO! AMPS 373, PMPS 329, +2.5 122

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
The Story of Leo,

When i was just a young gal, 21 to be exact, my parents called me up one afternoon to tell me that one of the guys who worked for my dad had brought up a litter of kittens to the bush camp. My father was a logger and ran a 'bush' camp in northern Saskatchewan and had at the time about 50 men working for him. They asked if i wanted a kitten and they had a perfect kitty in mind for me, i told them "of course i'd love a kitten!" They weren't due to come home for another couple of days and i was pretty excited to see what my new kitten looked like. The day came when they were supposed to come home and they bring in the cutest, most filthiest orange kitten i had ever seen!!! It was love at first sight. I asked why he was so dirty, they told me they had planned on leaving for home that morning and were going to grab Leo and their dog Nike had chased Leo up a tree, they tried and tried to get him down but couldn't. So something had come up last minute with my dad and work so he was tied up for another hour or so, my mom waited around for him. They tried finding Leo again before they left and no sight of him. They were thinking they'd just grab him next week for me. They drove down a gravel road for 2 hours and stopped at a gas station/restaurant for coffee and my dad ran in leaving my mom in the truck. She heard meowing when my dad shut the truck off, dad came back and she told him "Hector there's a cat under the hood". They checked it out and sure enough there was my Leo sitting on the wheel well of the truck right beside the battery.....purring and happy.

I got him in late June, we knew he was born in May sometime so i just have always said his birthday was May 15th. My parents took his brother Toban and found another home for Leo and Toban's other brother as well.

Leo is one tough cookie and the day i got him is a great example of it, this FD is peanuts to Leo! No AMPS yet for Leo, when i called my parents hadn't tested his BG yet or given him his shot.

Now pictures from the day i got my new baby!
 

Attachments

  • 1.JPG
    1.JPG
    220.8 KB · Views: 559
  • 2.JPG
    2.JPG
    273.5 KB · Views: 548
Re: 5/15 HAPPY 12th BIRTHDAY LEO!

Happy Birthday to Leo! What a story, and he is one tough cookie! I hope you both have a nice birthday celebration today.
 
Re: 5/15 HAPPY 12th BIRTHDAY LEO!

Oh my goodness, I loved reading every word of how you and Leo met! He was such a cute kitten, no wonder why you fell in love with him!

Happy birthday Leo! May you have a wonderful today and every day!
 
Re: 5/15 HAPPY 12th BIRTHDAY LEO!

Happy Birthday to LEO!!!!! Your condo made my day today.

His kitty picture is just precious. Here's to many more happy birthdays for Leo.
 
Re: 5/15 HAPPY 12th BIRTHDAY LEO!

Have a HAPPY BIRTHDAY, LEO! That is some story! You are a lucky kitty to have found such a fine home. Love your kitty pics. Lots of kitties will be visiting you today, and surely there will be a birthday cake (cinnamon, of course). :RAHCAT

Ella & Rusty
Hi Leo, Chef Mannie and we Sous chefs will be baking you a cinnamon birthday cake and will come over later to help you eat it. Happy Birthday!!
Rusty
 
Re: 5/15 HAPPY 12th BIRTHDAY LEO!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY LEO!!!

What a fantastic story. That is indeed one tough cookie you have there - and a gorgeous one too. The photos are wonderful. Happy Birthday Leo - celebrate well!
 

Attachments

  • cat_birthday_cake.jpg
    cat_birthday_cake.jpg
    151.5 KB · Views: 530
Re: 5/15 HAPPY 12th BIRTHDAY LEO!

Happy Birthday, Leo!!!

Wow, that is some story!!! What a lucky kitty Leo is...obviously he was meant to be wit you! And his baby pics are adorable!!!
 
Re: 5/15 HAPPY 12th BIRTHDAY LEO!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY LEO!! YOU ARE ONE BEAUTIFUL & LUCKY BOY!!- Great story-Have a wonderful day!! Hugs from us party_cat party_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 5/15 HAPPY 12th BIRTHDAY LEO! AMPS 373, PMPS 329

Thank you all for the wonderful kind birthday wishes, i wish i was with Leo so he knew all the people that were thinking about him today and the kitties that baked him a cake! I ordered him some nanners so it will have to be a belated birthday present to my little man. I especially loved all the pictures.......too cute! :-D

Have a great night everyone!
 
Re: 5/15 HAPPY 12th BIRTHDAY LEO! AMPS 373, PMPS 329

HAPPY BIRTHDAY LEO!!!!

What a wonderful story for LL today!!! Leo hit the lottery that day he found you!!!

birthday%2Bcat%2Bpotential%2B2.jpg
 
Re: 5/15 HAPPY 12th BIRTHDAY LEO! AMPS 373, PMPS 329

I can't believe I haven't visited Leo's condo today, especially with it being his BIRTHDAY. Happy Birthday, darling Leo!!! He's one of my most favoritest kitties ever. He's as cute today as he was when you first got him!!!
 
Re: 5/15 HAPPY 12th BIRTHDAY LEO! AMPS 373, PMPS 329

Hey Tracy: well all this bouncy stuff for this many days is not like Gracie so sumpin's going on. If you look back a bit, you'll see she was clearing them really fast.

The longer a cat stays at higher numbers, the greater the chance they will get "comfy" there and develop a bit of resistance to the insulin....makes it a little harder to bring them down. As Jill says..."some" cats; not all and hard to predict which ones. I don't like Gracie up there because it is above the renal threshold which is in the mid 200s depending on the cat. What that means is above a certain number, let's just say 260, the kidneys start dumping sugar into the urine. That increases the opportunity for a urinary tract infection. So.....for all those reasons, it's good to get them to their fitting dose per the protocol and start seeing some healing range numbers. But starting out, you can't do it quickly.....it just takes time to increase as you will see Patty has been doing with Champ.

Hope your work week is going well. Good question!!!
 
Re: 5/15 HAPPY 12th BIRTHDAY LEO! AMPS 373, PMPS 329

Leo is dropping down and in a hurry.....had a PMPS of 329 and 2.5 hours later he's at 122, just got a phone call from Grandpa. Amazing and i'm very happy for Leo because my dad was in a pretty big funk when i talked to him 2 hours ago, he was me last week! All frustrated and doesn't want Leo to suffer anymore than he already is. Asked me "what are you going to do if he doesn't get better?" All i said was "dad i am not going to talk about that because Leo will get better".

I understand that Leo is new at this, and we should take it slow. But that comment from Jill caught my eye and had me worried for a second! Again i learned something new today.

Thanks Marje, you're the bestest! ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top