5/15 Gracie PMPS 321 +2 193 +3 125 +4 95 +5 102

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

Recap:
AMPS: 323 19th cycle sk .75u
+2: 323
+5.5: 268
+10: 285
PMPS: 273
+2: 142
+3: 113
+4: 148
+6.5: 220


Good morning!!! We are happy to hear Jill's DGS is at home but are sending healing vines to help him totally recover. Also sending them to Sienne's sister, Butthead, Miss Emily, Zoe, and any others who need them today. Sending extra special positive thoughts for Squirrel and Tommy....Squirrel's attitude is amazing and Tommy is doing great under her diligent care.

I woke up this morning to find Gracie sitting on the nightstand with her front paws folded on the window sill watching the critters in the courtyard outside our bedroom window. Not too many snuggles or purrs for the bean last night but she is moving around the house and seems quite chipper. I'm not sure where she is planning to lead me today but paws crossed it will be better than the 5/13 cycle. She broke the bounce last night and got into blue for a little bit.....just not enough to sustain a good number for a while but I'm happy for any time at all below the renal threshold. Jill is studying her SS to come up with some thoughts for me as to the next step: dosecrease or hold here. If she repeats 5/13 cycle, I think we need dosecrease.

Have a splendid day....another gorgeous start in Tucson with the weather. I'm off to do kitty and property chores and will try to check in later. Thinking of you all.
 
Re: 5/15 Gracie AMPS 247

Hope you have a great Sunday and someone can unravel the mystery that is Miss Gracie!!
Big Hugs from us! :razz:
 
Re: 5/15 Gracie AMPS 247

Nice to see the blue last night. I hope it was a paw dip for more to come.

Don't overdo the yardwork, but it's nice to be outside to enjoy the day.
 
Re: 5/15 Gracie AMPS 247

Fingers and paws crossed that whatever you and Jill come up with works to keep Gracie's numbers down! Just picturing her in the window has me smiling! Hope you enjoy your outdoor day!
 
Re: 5/15 Gracie AMPS 247

Aw...sounds like Gracie was having a relaxing time, critter watching! It's so cute when they fold their little paws in front of them like that.

I'm sure Jill will come up with the ideal master plan for Miss Gracie!!!

Have a woderful Sunday!!
 
Re: 5/15 Gracie AMPS 247 +2 277

" I'm off to do kitty and property chores and will try to check in later."


Sounds like an all to familiar saying around here also :lol:
Marjorie, First thank you for last night and the wonderful words of encouragement. Knowing that you will be around makes it all so much less scary.
And for today, when i came here to your condo to thank you and see how Miss Gracie is doing only to find you sending out more good thoughts for us as well as the other kitties, well, you gave me tears again dangit!

Is there really anything more beautiful and warming to the heart and soul than to witness cute little soft paws all crossed and eyes all squinty enjoying the rays of sunsine coming down on you?
Just gives me warm fuzzies thinking about it..
I hope you have a wonderful day... Could you please send some of that sunshine up here.. It's icky and rainy right now :-D
 
Re: 5/15 Gracie AMPS 247 +2 277

Hi Marje!!! You're such a positive person that it's hard for me to doubt that everything will always be alright with the world!! Gracie sounds like quite the contented cat. How nice that all it takes to make a kitty happy is a window to look out and a bit of nature to look at!! :-D Champ spends his days in front of my daughter's bedroom window, watching the hummingbirds and bees circle around our tree in the yard (it flowers), smelling the breezes coming in, or taking his little kitty naps. Ahhh...what a life!!

I'm sure ya'll will come up with a good plan for Gracie and start to see consistent blues again. I hope your Sunday is oh so relaxing!! :-D
 
Re: 5/15 Gracie AMPS 247 +2 277 +4 299

Hi everyone! Hope you are having a marvelous Sunday. Guess Gracie has decided which way to lead me today :-D Looks like she and I have a differing opinion :lol:

Roni: I think the mystery of Miss Gracie is her crazy beans! :lol:

Ann: Gracie needs some lessons from Tess. Not too much yardwork...just putting out bird food/water for the critters and watering plants. Finally got through all my kitty chores (pill boxes, etc).

Christie: I think Gracie does not know a single position which is NOT at the top of the adorable chart!!!

Amy: hope you have a great Sunday, too. What would we do without those wonderful ladies who sacrifice their time to help us through the dosing quagmire?

Squirrel: aaawww....special hugs to you and Tommy. You know a kitty is happy when he/she is sprawled in the sun with the little whiskers quivering as they dream of mice!!

Patty: well....before FD I would definitely say I was 150% a glass half full person but it's beating me down :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I think God is trying to teach me some very important lessons here!!! So I better listen up!
Can I come live at your place? I think Champ has it MADE!

Stephanie: I hope you, DH, and the gang are also getting some of that fabulous AZ sun!!!
 
Re: 5/15 Gracie AMPS 247 +2 277 +4 299

Morning guys - so sorry so late in visiting. another day that got away from me.

Good luck with Gracie's dosing. I am sure Jill will give it good though, present you with what will be good options. Gracie is a tough nut to crack. You could well be right, maybe she needs more juice. I dunno.... Frustrating isn't it when there are no clear cut obvious answers. Nice though that she did find blue last night. YAY! That +3 was sooooooo close!

Enjoy those property chores. I hope that they are just that - enjoyable. I usually do, when not rushed and can take my time taking care of whatever it is. Nice to be outside, and not a a computer or with a lancet in one hand an a meter in the other... :lol: :lol: :cool:

have a great day guys! Nice visual image of Gracie this morning. very cute.

Gracie!! HURRY! canoeing today in Rusty's cellar - then the bucket brigade. :cool: Tobey all limbered up? See you soon! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 5/15 Gracie AMPS 247 +2 277 +4 299

i feel like we've been here before with gracie. :lol:

gracie requires intensive monitoring when her dose is anywhere around that 1u mark. if you should decide to increase the dose, i think you'd have to be prepared to do more of the same. that's a decision/commitment only you and mike can make.

the other option is to hold the dose. it's not something we see a lot of these days, but it's a method which has worked for many, many cats. i know it's hard to believe, but it wasn't that long ago when doses were held for a lot longer than most hold them today.

i've spent quite a bit of time staring at gracie's ss. i cannot tell you which option would be best for her. i wish i could, but i'd be dishonest saying otherwise. they call this a dance for a reason... one step forward, two steps back, side-step, side-step, move to the left, 3 steps to the right... and the CAT is leading! you've tried increasing the dose. perhaps it's time to try holding the dose.

trial and error. i used to hate hearing that when alex was first diagnosed. when you get to where gracie's at... all you can do is try and see what works.

i'm sorry. i know this isn't what you wanted to hear, but it's the best advice i can give. not every cat has read the manual. heck, gracie's written her own!
 
Re: 5/15 Gracie AMPS 247 +2 277 +4 299

Jill....oh, yes...you are so right! Seems like Gracie LIKES for us to be here. And yes, you are also right that moving her up around 1u requires alot from us.

you've tried increasing the dose. perhaps it's time to try holding the dose.
Here is what I don't understand: when we do increase the dose up to the sk1u, she does GREAT. Back to back normal cycles but lots of monitoring and lots of carbs; quick bounces. So it works...it just takes AlOT of work. Holding the dose.....my question here is doesn't holding the dose and having high numbers while waiting for something to happen ....doesn't that increase her chances of insulin resistance and if she is rarely getting good numbers, how does her liver ever adjust to them? Right now she's bouncing on blue numbers (lil stinka).

Thank you so much Jill.
 
Re: 5/15 Gracie AMPS 247 +2 277 +4 299

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Here is what I don't understand: when we do increase the dose up to the sk1u, she does GREAT. Back to back normal cycles but lots of monitoring and lots of carbs; quick bounces. So it works...it just takes AlOT of work. Holding the dose.....my question here is doesn't holding the dose and having high numbers while waiting for something to happen ....doesn't that increase her chances of insulin resistance and if she is rarely getting good numbers, how does her liver ever adjust to them? Right now she's bouncing on blue numbers (lil stinka).

yes, the sk1u does work. when she's at that dose i'm always wondering how long the two of you can keep it up. for sure, i know a single caretaker couldn't. even with the two of you... it's a grueling schedule. that's why taking the dose up has to be your decision. no one else's.

you do run the risk of gracie becoming comfortable in higher numbers when the dose is held. "but"... there's always a but... some cats do respond well when the dose is held. right now, we don't know if gracie is one of them. the dose has never been held longer than where she's at right now. is it worth trying? could be. the only way to know is to try it.

like i just told you in a PM... you have my full support whatever the two of you decide to do.
 
Re: 5/15 Gracie AMPS 247 +2 277 +4 299

Jill.....thank you; you are so great to us and so supportive. We know you know we are taking every single bit of your suggestions and thinking about them in depth....listing pros and cons. No decision for us is quick or taken lightly.....your input is invaluable to us.

We talked and decided to split the difference and hope that one drop more will allow us to have her at a dose we can hold. It's not that we don't want to hold a dose....we would love to. But we just feel for Gracie's long term health because she is so young, that we want to give her the chance to be in numbers below 200 as much as possible.

You are right about the sk1u and it is grueling for all three of us (thank God Gracie is such a wonderful, patient girl with pokeys). We just have to believe there is a dose that allows her to have some great cycles without us all becoming so exhausted. She almost got there with the sk .75u. We want to just try .75u....she hasn't been at that dose other than just passing through for a few cycles on her way down. When she was at a sk 1.25u, we had to go up and down several times before she was able to do well at sk1u. Maybe she isn't so difficult...maybe we just haven't found "that dose" we can easily hold until her liver decides to get with it. We can deal with the bounces..we can deal with waiting on them. But the cycles she's been having coming out of them...those are tough. Maybe one more drop will just be enough to give her just that edge for better cycles in between the bounces, will allow her pancreas to heal, her liver to settle. Maybe the .75u will be the dose we can hold!!!

Bless you, Jill. Bless all of you for your support and love. I say this with tears in my eyes for all you all do for us each day.
 
Re: 5/15 Gracie AMPS 247 +2 277 +4 299

Here is Ann: :idea: :idea: :idea: :idea:
Here is me for not thinking like Ann: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

Ann asked me about the pen. I was thinking I was due to change later this week. Turns out the 28 days is tomorrow night. Don't know that that is the problem, however, it makes oh so much more sense to change the pen, leave the dose for a couple more cycles and see rather than upping the dose and then changing the pen in a couple days only to have Gracie drop into low numbers. Not saying it is for sure the pen but looking at her numbers when she has done so WELL on this dose before and started out doing well on it....certainly worth a try before I jump to another dose.

Thank you Ann. Mea culpa.
 
Re: 5/15 Gracie AMPS 247 +2 277 +4 299

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Here is Ann: :idea: :idea: :idea: :idea:
Here is me for not thinking like Ann: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

Ann asked me about the pen. I was thinking I was due to change later this week. Turns out the 28 days is tomorrow night. Don't know that that is the problem, however, it makes oh so much more sense to change the pen, leave the dose for a couple more cycles and see rather than upping the dose and then changing the pen in a couple days only to have Gracie drop into low numbers. Not saying it is for sure the pen but looking at her numbers when she has done so WELL on this dose before and started out doing well on it....certainly worth a try before I jump to another dose.

Thank you Ann. Mea culpa.

Hehe, don't feel bad!! I just did this today! I was talking to DH about potentially tweaking Willy's dose a little more either tomorrow AM or the following day (DH has a lot of catching up to do-- he's still kinda "behind" a bit on what's going on and future plans) but he's like "we should probably wait until after we try new vile of insulin, shouldn't we?" :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:
 
Re: 5/15 Gracie AMPS 247 +2 277 +4 299

LIL G-MONEY...WE lOVE THE MYSTERY OF YOU....BUT COULD YOU SAVE FOR NON-HEALTH ISSUES????
 
Re: 5/15 Gracie AMPS 247 +2 277 +4 299

LIL G-MONEY...WE lOVE THE MYSTERY OF YOU....BUT COULD YOU SAVE FOR NON-HEALTH ISSUES????
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

ROTFLMAO!!! Oh Celi...how we miss you when your responsibilities keep you from visiting. Thank you...I needed that!!

Ok..started new pen. Stephanie...paws crossed we both have good luck with the new pens.

I have to say that for not being snuggly last night, Gracie has made up for it today. My gosh she has been purring, chirping, headbutting me, licking me, and generally acting like I am the BEST thing since catnip (which she loves). I cannot figure out how she can be so sweet to me after all the pokeys. I LOVE YOU GRACIE!!!
 
Re: 5/15 Gracie PMPS 321 NEW PEN for LIL G MONEY

Awwww Gracie....makes me heart melt a little. She sounds like such a sweetheart. Thanks Marje for the birthday wishes for Leo.

You know i look at Gracie's SS and i see alot of similarities between Leo and Gracie. So hard to tell if they need dosecreases or not, and they bounce for days and days on end. One thing i did not know was about the insulin resistance, makes me very worried since my parents aren't comfortable increasing when i'm not around, are we really doing more harm when we hold them at a dose for too long?

I'm hoping the new pen is the answer for you and Gracie and have a wonderful night!
 
Re: 5/15 Gracie PMPS 321 +2 193

Tracy....she is a little sweetheart....my tiny girl!! I left you a post on your condo about your questions.

Looks like she is going to try again tonight so we'll see.....jury still out...old juice vs new :lol: :lol:
 
YES!!! She's popping up a bit now but she came down a heck of a long way. Maybe she'll surf and .......well, tomorrow is another day.

THANK YOU ANN!! Ni Ni.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top