5/15 Garbo AMPS 89 - Shoot or Not Shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa&Garbo

Member Since 2011
This scenario has played out twice now in a single week, so I'm hoping you might be able to help me sort it out.

On 5/12 her PMPS reading was 98, so I did not shoot her (usually 3 units) because I didn't want her to go hypo while I was asleep. However, on 5/13 AMPS she was off the chart at 588! The insulin only brought her down to PMPS of 400. +4 later she was down to 253. Things seemed ok yesterday (5/14), but this morning her AMPS is 89.

What should I do? Should I not shoot at all? Or should I shoot 1 unit to keep her from escalating so much during the day?

Thanks in advance!
Melissa
 
Hi Melissa, I hope that someone more expert than I in these matters will be along soon, but in my opinion, to be safe, you might consider shooting a smaller dose, maybe 1 1/2 or 2 units this morning. You don't want to deplete the shed too much. Then make sure to keep monitoring today.
Is Garbo still taking antibiotics for the UTI? They can have an effect on bg.
In any event, bumping your post up to the top to get more eyes on it.

Good luck, and welcome to LL!

Ella & Rusty
 
Morning Melissa,

Just wanted to pop in and say good morning. No good advice from me on the dosing here. Giving ya a bump for the xpert eyes on the board.
 
Thank you guys for the advice and bumps! I'm going to go head and shoot her 1.5 now because I have to run out for some errands. Will test as soon as I return.

I guess my lingering questions are about how long I have to make the AM shot decision and how to know how much to shoot when the numbers are kinda on the normal/low side?
 
How is she doing?

Re: your questions, I hope the experts can step in. My understanding is that you shoot to stay on time but you test frequently starting at +1 to see where they are and whether or not the number is dropping or rising. This was Libby's response earlier this week to another bean. If you wait too long, you're in a worse position because the number will continue to drop because of hunger.

I'd be curious to see what the experts say about how much to shoot.
 
Sorry so long for the update...got caught out in traffic and took forever to get home. Papa Bean kept an eye on Garbo while I was out and reported that she was doing her normal thing. I just tested her (around +4) and she was at 116. I wil test again in a couple of hours to see if that is rising or dropping.

Thank you for the info! I'll not wait next time so that she doesn't get off schedule for the next shot.

~Melissa
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top