5/15 Esse AMPS 162 PMPS=164 Eeyore AMPS=455 PMPS=368

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele and Esse

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14529

Esse Daily Digest:
AMPS=162. Wellness Beef/Chicken. Shot 3U
+4=58
+8=134
PMPS=164 3u
************************
Eeyore Daily Digest
AMPS=455. Wellness Beef/Chicken, f2
+4=210
+8=220
PMPS=368 f2
************************
Morning, LL!

Yesterday was a study in opposites. Eeyore went to 502, while Esse went to 59. Eeyore is less than a happy camper this morning, and I can't blame him...he's got to feel blechy with numbers like that. Esse, OTOH, thinks that she should take advantage of feeling good, and is running (o.k., lumbering) around, playing tag with Malachi.

I don't know what happened to Eeyore's numbers...I suspect yesterday's 206(?) was on the way up, from probably something quite low overnight. Considering he topped out at over 500, it had to be a rebound, since no donuts have been consumed (he, them, or I...I'm not bringing them into the house anymore...they're too good).

Compared to Esse's run in the greens, it wasn't the food. She's pretty carb sensitive (I try to stay at less than 5% carbs, or she pops up...), so for her to maintain most of the day in green tells me it's not the food...and also not the insulin. So Eeyore just had to be bouncing from something.

As for me, I did not get to the barn yesterday. I went over to Dad's instead, just to hang out. I hope to get to the barn today, and tomorrow...he needs a bath, I need to ride...perfect match. If I don't get there today, I will absolutely get there tomorrow, and every day from here on in. I **need** it...kwim?

Hope everyone has a great Caturday...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 5/15 Esse AMPS 162 Eeyore AMPS=455

I'm getting out the noodles.... You really need to get PM spot checks on both cats. You don't know if Esse is dropping low or what's going on with Eeyore.

I think it may be time to increase Eeyore's dose, providing you can get spot checks.
 
Re: 5/15 Esse AMPS 162 Eeyore AMPS=455

Sienne and Gabby said:
I'm getting out the noodles.... You really need to get PM spot checks on both cats. You don't know if Esse is dropping low or what's going on with Eeyore.

I think it may be time to increase Eeyore's dose, providing you can get spot checks.
See, I don't think it's time. I think he's bouncing from a fairly sustained low...his liver just shrieked, you know? He is right now at 210...the big swings have been something which I am trying to figure out how to handle, without sending him too low. If you look at his SS, he can go from mid400s to green in a few hours...and it's not a one-off...it's part of his pattern. So I'm still looking at ways to bring him more level, even if it's from 300 to 200 and then back to 300.

As for Esse, she's running a good pattern right now...let's see how long she can stay green.

And I hear ya about the spotchecks...no noodles needed. Eeyore did not get a lot of poking yesterday because I figured out that he was going up, so figured I could give him a bit of a break...and I was correct. I should get at least one PM check, though...and will try to do better.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 5/15 Esse AMPS 162 Eeyore AMPS=455

Atta Girl Michele! :mrgreen: Hope you had a nice visit with Dad....and that you will get out to the barn tomorrow for yourself! Hope you have a good day! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/15 Esse AMPS 162 Eeyore AMPS=455

Hi Michelle,
Im having the same problems with Latte. yesterday she went from mid 400's to 80's by +5, then into the 500's by +7! Only because Latte is not an OTJ candidate, I have been decreasing her dose drop by drop each time she shows me she is going too low...or low enough to cause such a horrendous bounce. The goal is to get a flat curve...even if its in the 2 or 300's and then go from there. I will let you know if there is any success. The thing is, I have not had much time to get spot checks like I used to. And because she can drop 150pts in one hour and the next hour rise 200+ pts, unless I am checking hourly...I cant know whats going on. Im not suggesting you check hourly (unless you want to or can). Im just saying, they can do some tricky things behind our backs w/o us ever knowing. because we see one thing, we react....but if we saw the entire picture, we may be able to do something different.

Anyway, I feel your frustration. I dont know if what we are doing will work or back fire. But what I was doing was NOT working.

Im sorry to hear of your rough times. I really hope you can get out and ride this weekend. So good for the soul! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/15 Esse AMPS 162 Eeyore AMPS=455

Hi Michele, I hope you will get in some good rides this weekend, too (Tango would enjoy that). Also hope that Eeyore's numbers get straightened out. Esse looks really good. Have a good rest-of-the-weekend!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 5/15 Esse AMPS 162 Eeyore AMPS=455

Yes, Carolyn, exactly...they do some mighty sneaky things behind our backs. LOL. I am planning on doing a 2 hour curve over 16 hours this coming week on Eeyore, to really get a good picture as to what's up. I, too, have considered decreasing simply to level out the giant V he loves so much. I will do the curve first, to make sure he's not getting into the 30s or something (which would mean a bigger action), and then go from there. Let me know how you get along, all right? Maybe we can figure this out together.

Ella and Carolyn, yes, tomorrow I will ride. I am helping some fellow students getting ready for some of their finals (keeps me in the habit of studying, or at least exposing myself to the material), but I think that for the most part, I'm going to stop having such a pity party, and get out and ride hardcore this summer. Show season starts next week...and I'm not ready. Tango is, but I could use some serious work. LOL.

Riding is good for my heart, soul and spirit...not to mention my body. So I really need to get out there and do more of it. And just being at the barn is luxurious, too...really refreshing and mentally soothing. Dunno why, but it is that way for me.

Esse has had a great two days, hasn't she? So proud of that kitty...

Best-
Michele
 
I think you could have made a better argument for the big drops a month ago. Eeyore's numbers look like they are trending up. You saw a bit of green on 5/12 and that's been it except for 5/6. The last few days have been yellow, red, and a black. I think Eeyore needs more insulin and certainly not less. The only thing less insulin will do is cause the lows to drop out completely and drive then entire level up. It may be flat but it will be a flat pink or red.

You can use food to manipulate the curve. Jill suggested I do this with Gabby to try to alleviate the bounces. While you were in school, this probably would not have been possible. If you look at Gabby's SS from this morning, you'll see that she got HC at +3 and +4 to prevent her from going too low and there was a negligible bounce tonight.
 
Esse is looking good! And I'm sure you will get Eeyore feeling good too, if he isn't already. Such a sweet kitty who loves you and is so obviously loved by you.
Enjoy your day at the barn and recharge body and soul!
 
I don't see that Eeyore needs less insulin. I would say probably more, but a curve or at least a few more spot checks should help make that clear.

Rebound checks aren't necessary when you build up to the dose the way we do here. I totally understand that you needed to see that for yourself when you decided to reduce to 1.5 last month. I'm like that too, blind trust is hard. But that reduction didn't work out, so you went back up in dose. So far, so good. Can you point out where on Eeyore's spreadsheet you think you might have missed a dose reduction earning number?
 
Libby, I don't know if he's earned one, but on 5/6 and 5/12 we have green and no other numbers (yes, my fault...).

Sienne, honey, you're coming on strong again. It's a bit frustrating. I know you think he needs more. My concern is not that he needs less/more, but that these huge drops are NOT leveling out, and I know it's hard on his body. Yes, he was black last night...and according to his usual giant V, yesterday was a climb all day to black, and then ever so slightly down again.

If you look at his pattern - that is one valuable reason we keep spreadsheets; to find patterns - you'll see that the giant swings are fairly normal for him. Not into black, though, and not after a long climb. He V's...but this was a V without the front stroke. My thinking is that his amps of 206 was him coming up, considering he was red within hours (+4), black at 9, and high red again at pmps. And he did recieve insulin...which had no effect (which also leads me to believe that his liver freaked...).

I am NOT trying to reduce his dose simply to reduce his dose; I was talking to Carolyn about her cat, and her experiment, and am interested in seeing where that leads. I am looking to see what other things I can do which will help him NOT have the highs/lows/highs that he has...getting them flatter and less abrupt (which has got to feel horrible...and he did feel horrible yesterday) which has to be better for his body. If that means reducing, then fine, I'll reduce. If that means hold, then I'll hold. But I really don't think increasing is going to do anything other than making the V steeper. I will work on getting them lower once I can get them flatter, kwim? He's not responding normally, and that means nothing more than I need to think outside the box. Why does everyone want to jump on me because I'm considering different alternatives?? I'd rather discuss with you all the pros and cons of things instead of being told "just increase his dose."

I am thinking a third shot really might be a good idea...as an alternative to increasing/decreasing. They get noms at +4 and +8 when I am home; if not home, they get lunch at +6 or +7. So the food is there. He had no ketones, thankfully. But there has to be something I've missed somewhere, and I honestly, truly don't think it's all about increasing, at least with him. It may be the answer, but why get out the noodles when I talk about doing something a tad out of the box? Why not try? It's not like I've got any momentum to lose or anything...

And yes, CD, I think a good long sweaty ride will do me good...

Best-
Michele
 
Using food to manipulate the curve is different than mini-meals. Jill can probably explain this better than I but if you want more info, let me know.

My instinct is to hold on TID dosing until you've tried everything else first. It's a tough schedule. I can think of only one kitty who is on TID dosing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top