5/15 Eegie AMPS=269;+4=211;+7=183;PMPS=374

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sgans and Eegie - GA

Member Since 2015
Looks like switching back to a shoulder shot may have been right what he needed. Starting the day in the yellows again! YAY!

If it's like this another day at this 1u, I'll probably just do the normal increase of .25u - he's been at 1u for quite a while now... despite my furshot the other day. That'll be at least 6 cycles since...
 
Hi Stephanie,

I'm just catching up on your comments/tag from last night. There are meds that definitely increase blood sugar, but typically we suggest people increase the dose in response to the increase in blood sugar numbers, rather than increase because it's anticipated they will raise the blood sugar. In other words, you would still be increasing based upon the test data you've got.

With SLGS (would you put either TR or SLGS into your signature line?) you would hold the dose for a week after that fur shot and then increase by 0.25u. In a week, you'll know if he's going to get back to blue numbers again or not - on the 1.0u dose and with the depo-medrol. If not, then you increase.

Does that make sense?

I know you said you can't check blood sugar in the pm cycle - but that would be one more reason that I would not increase more than the tests that you DO have suggest. Cats often have their lowest numbers in the pm cycle, so in my mind, it would be risky to increase by 0.5u unless the numbers tell you to do so.
 
Hi @julie & punkin (ga) , I didn't say I was increasing because of anticipated levels. Since the shot, the levels have been bad - and yesterday they were VERY bad - I was reacting to numbers - didn't react at all to the shot until I saw what the shot did to the numbers. If you see the reds and magentas in my SS, you'd see why I'm timing this change as I am, I think...

He's over a week and a half with the depo medrol - but the reaction to depo is not finite - it varies - sometimes it takes longer to take effect and holds the effect longer, sometimes, the physical reaction is quick (this is the first time while on insulin, so I have no idea how it's affected BG with past shots). I do understand what you're saying - and as I mentioned, we're having to modify some of the standards due to all his other issues and requirements - and the limitations I have on life and timings. I'm afraid that prevents me from putting TR or SLGS into my signature line, because all vets and specialists with whom I've conferred (and my doc's conferred) have confirmed that he has to be on a modified treatment for this to do him any good at all.

I did mention in my morning post that I'm quite pleased with the change of shot location's affect on his morning BG level - the best we've had in days. So, I do plan on upping .25 at this point.

I know it's frustrating to deal with the variations I have to make - I know people are frustrated that I'm not sticking to a specified regime. That's exactly why I had to put in my signature that I'm doing the best I can. I really value ALL the input I get on these boards - they help me balance what I have to consider, and that's a wonderful help to me.

His history will give you some idea of what he's dealing with, if you wish to see... and that changes frequently as does his med chart. My needs and results may be a bit different from those of others, and so I ask questions here, as I do have to think outside the box with Eegie's treatments. I love the input, and appreciate it - but I do seriously comprehend the "rules" and settings as put out for TR and SLGS. They're not too difficult to follow in reading them. It's these extraordinary circumstances for which I come here and compare the responses I get here, the responses I get from my vet, from my cat, and from the specialists we can manage to get involved (I have NO money, so their input is something for which I'm grateful - although it's a bit sparse, which makes sense because it's favors for my vet).
 
I SAW BLUE!!!!!!!! YAY!!!!!
Since the new (old) location seems to be an improvement, I may delay increase for a few days to see if this trends....
 
Looks like 374 is a bad number. Didn't get too low, just a touch of blue earlier in the day. Think we are raising it .25 units in the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top