5/15 Connor's surgery day AMPS 77 then 66,46,396,123

Status
Not open for further replies.
Connor had his fibrosarcoma surgery today and is resting up from it with his Elizabethan collar on and a 6 inch incision on his right hip. He crashed after surgery. Surgery was at 10:53. Here were his readings:

9:00PM +0 109 4 units
19 May 7:00AM 77 Surgery Day - no dose
10:20AM 66
2:15PM 46 Dextrose via IV
4:45PM 396
9:30PM 123 2 units

Whoever recommended he have an IV inserted prior to surgery for dextrose - THANK YOU!

The vet took out alot - she said the lumps had noticeably grown since she saw them about a week ago. She had to take some muscle and they were very vascular. The margins will be biopsied to see if she got it all.

Poor thing - he looks pretty miserable. But I"m sure glad those lumps are out of there!
 
poor guy, what a day. :sad: He'll be feeling better in no time, I'm sure.

Please get a spot check or two tonight to be sure he isn't dropping. Some cats drop significantly overnight the night after surgery. Others don't, but it looks like Connor might fall into that category. Of course, his drop could also be due to the dextrose wearing off.

For tomorrow, if he’s in his normal range, and if he’s eating ok, and you’ll be there most of the day, it’s probably ok to shoot your normal dose. I would get a mid-cycle check somewhere tomorrow so we can be sure we notice if he starts needing dose reductions because of the surgery. If he’s lower than normal or if the eating situation isn’t good, then be safe and give a reduced dose again. If he drops a lot tonight, then reduce in the morning (3.75 would be the next dose reduction normally, but let your gut lead you since he’s not feeling 100%).
 
Glad the surgery is over and I hope the surgeon got all the cancer and that the margins are clean. Sending Conner lots of healing vibes and some pain relieving wishes. He's a trooper. Keep us updated on how things are going.
 
Mannie and I are sending many healing vines. I hope all is well, that Connor is feeling better soon. Positive thoughts that they got it all, that recovery is smooth and quick. best of luck wishes for you both!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top