5/15 Callie Mae amps & +1

Status
Not open for further replies.

totallybeachin

Member Since 2011
I am at a state of confusion at this point.
Her amps were 156 so I went ahead with the .4 dose.
Checked her in an hour, and she's up to 188.
Wish I could figure out WHAT was going on.
Seems like on the days she doesn't receive any insulin, food will cause her numbers to come down.
When she does get insulin, the food causes her to go up.
This makes no sense....lol
Gonna get a few more spot checks in,but this has me stumped!
Could be that neither the food or the insulin has had enough time to do anything yet, but if that's the case, why would her bg go up?
Questions, questions and more questions.
Callie Ma's is going keep me guessing for a while, I'm sure.
confused_cat
 
Someone will be along with a scientific explanation. The only one I can think of is that in the first few hours after the shot, there usually is a rise. One of the reasons we say to start testing at +3.

But, I would urge you not to get hung up on the numbers. (180/150 are within the 20% variance). She is doing great and you will probably have some action later in the day. Big picture reminder.....
 
Boy, I'm with you on the confusion! I've been in a constant state of confusion since April 1st when Thumper was diagnosed! I keep thinking I will get it but I just don't. Guess there's something to that old saying " you can't teach an old dog new tricks!"

:dizcat
 
Your shot hasn't had enough time to take effect yet. I believe prozinc onset is somewhere around 2 to 3 hours after the shot, but it might be up to 4 hours. I can't remember anymore. Only Humalin N and R will start working within an hour. So that rise today is more food related than anything. This just shows that her pancreas isn't completely ready to handle everything on its own. ;-)
 
hate to be the one to say this...me? the over-doser? but i would stick with the .2 as it is just as likely as not she is on the way down w/o insulin and it is just getting in the way at that "massive" :lol: .4 dose.
IMHO
 
ooops, i thought that rise was at +4. incompetent me, well, from the looks of your chart so far so good.
 
It's sooooo easy to get hung up on the numbers at this point in the game - trust me, I've been there! We are all cheering you guys on no matter what. We're all crossing paws, tails, fingers and toes that she can get to OTJ, but that's like winning the lottery - not the ultimate goal. The goal is regulation and thanks to the job you are doing, she is very well regulated. So pat yourself on the back!! If this is as good as it gets, it's really OK, 'cuz these are excellent numbers.

While we are all very numbers driven, all this is really about your extra sweet furry Callie Mae. How is she doing today? How is her urine? Did you get to call the vet? I noticed in your SS notes from yesterday that she didn't seem to be drinking. Is she drinking and eating OK today? If she's eating but not drinking you can try mixing some water into her food to keep her hydrated and flush out that urine. Hope you can get to the bottom of this really soon. Depending whether or not there is something going on, there might be an effect on BGs.
 
I wouldn't be too worried about overdoing it until you get to the 1u mark. She tolerated 1u just fine a few days ago on a 141 PS, so you have some data here. I wouldn't shoot that much right away b/c it did push her a little lower than ideal by the +3 the next night, where the dose did look a little too strong. But I wouldn't be surprised if you end up needing something like 0.6 or even 0.8 to get to greens.

I think we had you overreduce too quickly and go to super-micro doses when you should have been going with something between 0.5 and 1u. My bad for ever mentioning a fat 0! :oops:

More or less the rule of thumb if you want results is to shoot the last known good dose. That was 1u, though again it looked a hair too strong. But as someone said while ago, there is a big difference between 1u and 0.2. I'm not saying you need to rush into raising the dose up, hopefully 0.4 will be all she needs and you'll be fine, but just mentioning that so you aren't scared of going higher if the 0.4 doesn't do the trick. Also when you were shooting 1u you had momentum from shot to shot, and now the shots are isolated so are likely weakened slightly due to that. So even less to fear.

Sticky excerpt below. I do not know if there is any specific data in on ProZinc onset timing.

Onset/Nadir/Duration Overview

Onset, when the insulin starts taking effect, is typically around 2 hours after injection. The numbers will continue to rise until the point of onset, when they start to go down again.

Nadir, when the insulin is at its peak and BG values are lowest, is generally between 5 and 7 hours after injection. With ProZinc, the nadir can move around in the first 45 days of usage, as their body adjusts to the insulin.

Duration, the time until the insulin loses most of its effectiveness and BG values start to rise again, is often between 8 and 10 hours after injection. Read more about Duration on the Pet Diabetes Wiki.
 
Thanks for all the input.
I'm trying not to concentrate to much on the numbers, she just has me feeling that her progress in such a short time, she's just right on the edge. Yea, it would be like the lottery, but she's just coming so close, so fast. :mrgreen: I can't help but be excited for her and do the best I can to help push her along.
If this is where she's gonna stay, I can live with that. And, I know it's possible to happen later, doesn't have to happen overnight, I just can't help being optomistic!
I have been watering down her meals. And she is consuming everything in the bowl, water and all. I won't be able to call the Dr. till tomorrow, and with my work schedule this week, most likely won't be able to get her in until Wed. Just gonna keep her as flushed as I can with the food bowl. No traces today, so far.
I think I like the idea of shooting .4 depending on her pmps #'s. Even if over the course of another day or so. Just to see if she's going to settle into a particular pattern on a consistent dose. If I'm not getting any closer to the green, then go ahead and try shooting a .6.
How does that sound?
 
totallybeachin said:
Thanks for all the input.
I'm trying not to concentrate to much on the numbers, she just has me feeling that her progress in such a short time, she's just right on the edge. Yea, it would be like the lottery, but she's just coming so close, so fast. :mrgreen: I can't help but be excited for her and do the best I can to help push her along.

If this is where she's gonna stay, I can live with that. And, I know it's possible to happen later, doesn't have to happen overnight, I just can't help being optomistic!

And we're excited with you - she's so close! Here's hoping there will be an OTJ celebration party to attend. Cross paws antijinx, antijinx :mrgreen:

totallybeachin said:
I have been watering down her meals. And she is consuming everything in the bowl, water and all. I won't be able to call the Dr. till tomorrow, and with my work schedule this week, most likely won't be able to get her in until Wed. Just gonna keep her as flushed as I can with the food bowl. No traces today, so far.

Looks like you have everything covered until you can get her to the vet. It's odd that she's not interested in water alone. Is she walking up to the bowl, sniffing and/or licking her lips and then walking away? Taking a drink and walking away, or just ignoring completely?
 
She's just completely ignoring it!
I make sure it's always fresh.
Maybe she just decided she likes it better beef flavored. :lol:
Whatever works for her. She's getting plenty with her food. It's pretty water-y. I gave her .4 units at shot time and am gonna do a spot check around 9:30'ish. Going straight to bed after that, but if anyone's curious, I'll post it to her SS so you can have a peak.
night all. o:-)
 
totallybeachin said:
Maybe she just decided she likes it better beef flavored. :lol:

Miss Callie sure has her staff trained up right. :lol:

totallybeachin said:
I gave her .4 units at shot time and am gonna do a spot check around 9:30'ish. Going straight to bed after that, but if anyone's curious, I'll post it to her SS so you can have a peak.
night all. o:-)

132 at + 3. Great call on the dose! You're a seasoned pro.

Sleep well. I-)
 
Really nice #'s for Callie yesterday and today (yay!). Not sure about the trace of blood in her urine, but, now my Max is getting better #'s, he hardly "drinks" any water and gets it mostly from the wet food that I water down. I read somewhere that that was natural for a cat (may have been Dr. Lisa; can't remember now for sure). Anyway, paws crossed for some nice healing time at .4u. Go Callie!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top