5/15 - BUDDY AMPS - 76

Is it really possible he could have gotten to a good place this quickly?

Fingers crossed for you that this is the case, but I think you will need to keep monitoring for a while to really know the answer. Others might know beetr but a cat is considered "off the juice" when it keeps on green for 14 days without insulin.

Can I ask how was buddy diagnosed, and whether there were any recent "life-changing" events that could have caused a sudden spike in BG?
 
Fingers crossed for you that this is the case, but I think you will need to keep monitoring for a while to really know the answer. Others might know beetr but a cat is considered "off the juice" when it keeps on green for 14 days without insulin.

Can I ask how was buddy diagnosed, and whether there were any recent "life-changing" events that could have caused a sudden spike in BG?


Thanks. So back in October he got a suspected Giardi infection from driking pond water out back, nasty diareah, mucus, some blood. Recovred from that, but then got a URI, which turned into some excessive urination for liek 2 weeks. Then he just got better.

Fast forward to mid-APril he got a URI again and started peeing excessively. We took him off kiibble and changed to wet food, but also went to doc. Doc Found the high glucose and recommended INsulin, and here we are.
 
It could be that solving the infection and changing the food did the trick.... many cats reduce their BG considerable by switching to low carb food. Let's hope so!

It might be too early to think about this, but I thought I mention that I believe the advice is to keep kitty in low carb wet food even if they are off the juice, to reduce the chances of diabetes coming back.
 
Hi! Nice green there :D Here's your previous thread for continuity/history - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-13-buddy-amps-136-6-76-pmps-148.247333/ Perhaps Elise @tiffmaxee or @Wendy&Neko can stop by again when they are online.

Since you didn't shoot this AM, are you able to get a test ~3-4 hours after breakfast? Would be interesting to see what is happening thought he depot is still in play. When you shoot at night, it would be great to get a +2 to have an indication of what is happening - right now, we only see half of the picture (and often kitties go lower at night).

Are you following a dosing method? On SLGS, he earned a reduction going <90 making his new dose is 0.25u (picture below from the Fine Dosing sticky). On TR, he hasn't earned a reduction technically (<68 on a pet meter or <50 on a human meter) but it looks like Wendy had suggested going to 0.25u the other day for safety until you had gathered more data.

To help with dosing, a lot of people use magnifying glasses (I used jeweler glasses personally) but a smartphone camera with zoom also works wonders!

49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg


If it was me, I'd see what Elise and Wendy say as for dosing tonight. Hope that helps a bit :bighug:
 
I would not stop insulin at this point. Get the test 3-4 hours after eating and let’s see the bg. When you get a low preshot, stall, DON’T feed, and retest in a half hour. If the bg comes up post for dosing advice. If down, feed and skip. As Susanne said we need you to decide on a dosing method, even if it’s only for a short time. It does look like the pancreas is coming back to life. Exciting! Let’s take this cycle by cycle. If you stop too soon you might not get a strong remission. What time do you shoot?
 
I agree, it looks like you have some pancreatic healing. If you can get a cat regulated very quickly after diagnosis, it does help the odds for remission. But like the others, I'm not sure he's there quite yet. Tonight it might be worth trying a 0.25 unit dose.
 
Back
Top