5/15 Bingo AMP 333

Status
Not open for further replies.

BrandyMom2AFew

Member Since 2011
This is my first post in this forum (not to this site). Just started home testing we had a hypo incident yesterday and I know that will throw some high numbers out so how long should I wait to do a curve?

Thanks!
 
Hi, Brandy!!

just stopping in to say WELCOME to you and Bingo!!

glad yesterday is over...and hoping Bingo has a great day today.

(I MISS oregon!)

i will let others with more experience answer your question...

celi & binks
 
Hi Brandy,

Welcome to Lantus! I wanted to give you a bump, and what limited advice I have. Props to you for home testing and catching the hypo!

I'm posting your condo from the main board concerning the hypo so everyone is able to quickly reference the situation if need be.

viewtopic.php?f=28&t=43425&p=463227#p463227

Personally I see no harm in grabbing a mini curve today (3,6,9); especially since lantus is long acting and it looks like he got a shot last night and this morning, and he got some dry food during the hypo incident yesterday (please let me know if i'm miss-quoting). It may not be a curve in term of a "this is my cat on a normal day" curve, but it will help you out to get some light posts, especially after the hypo.
 
mococo said:
Hi Brandy,

Welcome to Lantus! I wanted to give you a bump, and what limited advice I have. Props to you for home testing and catching the hypo!

I'm posting your condo from the main board concerning the hypo so everyone is able to quickly reference the situation if need be.

viewtopic.php?f=28&t=43425&p=463227#p463227

Personally I see no harm in grabbing a mini curve today (3,6,9); especially since lantus is long acting and it looks like he got a shot last night and this morning, and he got some dry food during the hypo incident yesterday (please let me know if i'm miss-quoting). It may not be a curve in term of a "this is my cat on a normal day" curve, but it will help you out to get some light posts, especially after the hypo.

That is correct. I was thinking of doing the 3,6,9 today just to keep track of him today. Then just 2x a day for awhile, he seems not to appreciate the ear sticks today, LOL.
 
Welcome Brandy!

Here are your posts from Health:
5/2 - New to site
5/14 Mini Bingo update
5/1 Low BG
5/17 BG at 25

If you've not had a chance to do so yet, reading the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board will help to familiarize you with the dosing protocol we use as well as most of the ins and outs of this forum. The following is an overview;
  • Tight Regulation Protocol: This sticky contains the dosing protocol that we use here. There are also links to the more formal versions -- the Tilly Protocol developed by the counterpart of this group in Germany and the Queensland/Rand protocol developed by Jacqui Rand, DVM and published in one of the top vet journals.
  • New to the Group: Everything you wanted to know about this forum and more. Info on our slang, FAQs, links to sites on feline nutrition and to food charts containing carb counts, how to do a curve and the components to look for, important aspects of diabetes such as ketones, DKA, and neuropathy, and most important, info on hypoglycemia.
  • Handling Lantus: how to get the maximum use from your insulin and what to not do with it!
  • Lantus depot/shed: This is an important concept for understanding how Lantus works.
  • Becoming Data Ready: What data you need in order to be able to work toward remission or tight regulation.

I'm really glad you opted to drop Bingo's dose after that 25 at AMPS yesterday! It looks like you're starting over on dose. It may end up that Bingo needs more than 1.0u but you'll get to his dose safely.

Do you happen to know when Bingo was diagnosed with diabetes?

Please let us know how we can help.
 
hi brandy, i'm in corvallis if you're nearby and need anything. there's another member in albany too. i've only been doing this since february so am not an expert, but i'm glad to cheer you on and help if i can.

just saying welcome!
 
Hi Brandy and Bingo and welcome to Lantus Land!

I saw Bingo's picture and what a very handsome gentleman, he looks like he has some extra toes? (there is a name for it but i can't remember it)
 
Fabulous all; I am right between you two in Lebanon, how funny.

What vet do you two see? I am seeing the ones at the Lebanon Animal Clinic and they have been great with phone support with out an appointment (if I just have questions)

So I forgot to do the +9(whoops) but his number was just 264 so I gave him 1u.. depending on the morning number I may leave it at 1 or increase to 1.5.

So yay, Monday is over!
 
sighh, y'all are making me miss the west coast. I'm originally from Seattle.

Great job today!

You can always post a dosing question tomorrow morning and the experts can take a look. If you can grab additional numbers tonight (like a +1, or +3) they'll have more information to go off of. They are big on data here, so any data you can get I'm sure they will appreciate.
 
hi brandy - there are maybe 4 or 5 people who give dosing advice - sienne who posted earlier here is one of them. you can post a question in your subject line in the morning asking about dose, but in general, lantus "wants" you to stay on a dose for a few days at least to let it settle down. every time you change a dose you get some wonky numbers for a few days. It takes that long for you to see how the body really responds to the insulin dose.

Bingo's low blood sugar yesterday and the dry food are probably the reason he's high today. i just read yesterday's posts and the people on the main forum were telling you to expect it to go high and not to increase the dose for a few days.

read the sticky's at the top of this forum and ask lots of questions. oh yeah, and also, we make changes by .25u unless someone tells us to do differently. you wouldn't believe how much difference .25u makes in a cat's numbers. Sienne, Jill, Libby, Miriam - hmmm, not sure if i have everyone - but those are people who will give you advice if you think you need to change the dose.

Here's the link to the sticky that pertains to dosing "Lantus & Levemir Tight Regulation Protocol." You're in the beginning & "increasing the dose" phase:
"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.


Increasing the dose...
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

a cycle = one shot and the following 12 hours, the nadir is the point during that cycle where the insulin is at its most effective and the blood sugar drops the lowest. the nadir can change in different cycles.

all the information is a little overwhelming, so feel free to ask lots of questions. everyone is happy to help you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top