5/15/2022, Carlton, AMPS 392, +2 315, +5 199, +7 253, PMPS 374, +2 337

Welcome to the LBL forum, Jennifer :)

I am linking your first post for continuity: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/carltons-foster-momma.263231/

Carlton is still bouncing from the 50s he saw on 5/13. Bounces can take as long as 6 cycles (3 days to clear). I would give him another day (that is, tomorrow) to clear the bounce and take a call on dosing after that.

We follow 2 dosing protocols here - TR and SLGS. If you could look at them and pick one that suits you, we can advise you accordingly.
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

In a nutshell:
SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90 mg/dl (on a human meter). The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50 mg/dl (on a human meter). The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.
 
Let me know your thoughts on keeping him at 1.5u or going back up to 2u

On TR, you'd still need to hold the 1.5U dose at least 1 more cycle. You hold each dose for at least 6 cycles (unless he drops below 50 on a human meter) so stick with the 1.5 for the AM cycle and let's see how it goes.

On SLGS, you'd hold the 1.5U dose for 7 days (14 cycles) unless he dropped below 90

On TR, you can increase the dose as often as every 3 days (6 cycles) if he's not getting the numbers you want but, as @Bandit's Mom said, you have to be feeding a canned or raw diet only. No kibble. And you have to be able to test at least 4 times a day (which isn't a problem for you right now with the Libre). The benefit of TR is not holding a dose that's not getting the results you want any longer than necessary.

On SLGS, you have to hold it for a full 7 days (unless they drop under 90) and do a curve on the 7th day (again, not a problem with the Libre) but it also means leaving them in numbers you might not like much longer than you'd wait on TR.
 
Yay! So happy you made it over here! Trust me when I say you’re in good hands! Continue to post daily :) I’ll be keeping my eye on you both :bighug:

I’m a big fan of TR, it wasn’t until we started TR that we saw the most progress - take a look at Gus’ Spreadsheet to see our progress - check 2021 tabs also!

It’s up to you and what you feel most comfortable with but picking one of the protocols will ensure that he’s not staying on a the wrong dose for too long and that’s important

PS. Title is good but you can leave out the year.. there are only so many character spaces in the title and you might need them.
 
Last edited:
The sensor is done in 4days. I wouldn't be in the position to test 4xs a day, only twice a week on my days off would my schedule allow for that :/
So I'm guessing the SLGS method is best unless we put another sensor on.
 
Back
Top