? 5/15/17Sprocket,AMPs/274.+2.8/264,+5.5/218.PMPS/211,+2.75/213.+5.1/228.Food/dose changes to come??

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nice to hear sprocket is playful today.

Standing by for today's questions .

As for yesterday's question, take the reductions when he earns them. Don't worry about the food changing.
On days where it might be necessary to steer him because of dropping into low numbers, just give him what he needs to keep him safe.

Fwiw
George gets about 10 Oz of food daily. Between 270-240 kcal. His healthy weight should be about 15llb, he weighs about 16, his weight holds steady with that intake. I have difficulty getting him to loose, i have reduced him to 200-220kcal, and he just does less, sleeps more, BG goes up :rolleyes:
ECID, so let the scales be your guide.
 
Nice to hear sprocket is playful today.

Standing by for today's questions .

As for yesterday's question, take the reductions when he earns them. Don't worry about the food changing.
On days where it might be necessary to steer him because of dropping into low numbers, just give him what he needs to keep him safe.

Fwiw
George gets about 10 Oz of food daily. Between 270-240 kcal. His healthy weight should be about 15llb, he weighs about 16, his weight holds steady with that intake. I have difficulty getting him to loose, i have reduced him to 200-220kcal, and he just does less, sleeps more, BG goes up :rolleyes:
ECID, so let the scales be your guide.
Hi Gill !

It may be helpful to share what do you feed George ? And what does your feeding schedule look like ?
 
Hi Gill !

It may be helpful to share what do you feed George ? And what does your feeding schedule look like ?

I feed
Thrive chicken 75g amps and Pmps

Then he gets 1 teaspoon every 3hrs (+3+6+9) of
The following (I rotate the flavours)
Feringa chicken squash+catnip
Terra faelis chicken
Terra faelis turkey
Granata pet chicken
Granata pet salmon and chicken
Granata pet venison

The above is not going to be too useful, unless you are in Europe, I don't think the above brands are available in us/Canada)

George is in remission now and the above is his current feeding schedule, when he was in insulin he got about the same, but he would get his regular snacks at +2+4+6, I usually tried not to feed after +6, unless I had too so as not to bump his numbers up at the end of cycle ( feeding after nadir can have that effect on some cats)
I did vary times and what I fed, depending on numbers and what sort of cycle he was having on lantus, ( ie I fed the curve to try and manage the numbers) I made notes on the SS, if you look back at 2015/2016 you can see the info on there of what I did in different conditions, you can also find links to the condo of the day, where you will, in most cases, find the reasoning for my actions.
 
I feed
Thrive chicken 75g amps and Pmps

Then he gets 1 teaspoon every 3hrs (+3+6+9) of
The following (I rotate the flavours)
Feringa chicken squash+catnip
Terra faelis chicken
Terra faelis turkey
Granata pet chicken
Granata pet salmon and chicken
Granata pet venison

The above is not going to be too useful, unless you are in Europe, I don't think the above brands are available in us/Canada)

George is in remission now and the above is his current feeding schedule, when he was in insulin he got about the same, but he would get his regular snacks at +2+4+6, I usually tried not to feed after +6, unless I had too so as not to bump his numbers up at the end of cycle ( feeding after nadir can have that effect on some cats)
I did vary times and what I fed, depending on numbers and what sort of cycle he was having on lantus, ( ie I fed the curve to try and manage the numbers) I made notes on the SS, if you look back at 2015/2016 you can see the info on there of what I did in different conditions, you can also find links to the condo of the day, where you will, in most cases, find the reasoning for my actions.

Hi Gill & Holly.
Great question Holly. Gill, sorry for delay in posting question. Was too tired. Had to sleep this am. Yesterday was my question that I was to post and you answered that.
Thanks.

??? Also wondering, i know ECID but on average now he is trying to settle on food schedule & eating less & feeling better.
What is average to happen? Will he settle with a dose and stay in safe healing bgs in mid cycle(lower 100s & little under) then higher at amps & pmps?? Or keep dropping on dose to get to those lower bgs??
Once his organs start healing, will he start dropping again to reduce dose??

??? Great question to all today: what does your cat eat? Amt, times, carbs?


1245pm update. He ate his 10am meal with fotiflora encouragement. Not sure if he is sick of some flavors or he doesnt want it or food. He was acting hungry then walked away till I added fortiflora.
This is what he did before, he ate less n i added encouragement (like treats crushed up...bad mommy. But this is in past). I would freak out and try to get him to eat more which is probably what screwed him up before. I didnt know he would eat less when feeling better.

He is coming down slowly today. Could be bounce from last night or ?
Wish he would drop in morning rather than overnight. His body on these things have not been nice to me.
He has had 3.75oz so far today & is chilling on table on his bed watching wind throw stuff around. Its his perch even though he has many perches by window. Table is better...lol.

So there are my questions for all...
Thanks.
 
think of his new lower carb diet like if you were put on a heart smart diet....
suddenly you can't have butter, salt, fat, all the things we like..... suddenly our diet becomes very boring.....

it's the same for him....
he's been having all these carbs which cats don't need but he still has to get used to it. Suddenly he's on a new diet and all the tastier food is gone.
So we have to find things to sprinkle on top to get them interested.
suddenly they can't have the pizza anymore and I've never had a cat that didn't try to steal some of my pizza.


His dose will continue to change depending on his needs.
He could go back up in dosing if he has health conditions start up....
He could work his way down the dosing scale and go in remission.
Just remember, remission is not a cure..... it's just a break from insulin.
Once a diabetic, always a diabetic.
This is a new lifestyle. But it will become more routine for you and you will know his patterns well enough to know how he responds when he finds
his normal.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top