5/14 Suzie PMPS 366 - late for shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Maria & Suzie

Member Since 2010
I'm not going to bore anyone with the details of the bad day I had, but it was one of those "everything went wrong" days and I didn't make it home on time for Suzie's pm shot. I was an hour late, so I gave it to her anyway, the new 3.75 IU dose we started yesterday, but am now wondering what happens next - should I give her her am shot at the regular time tomorrow morning or shift it by an hour?

Since we are still in the zone of high numbers and working on finding the right dose, I'm not really worried about super-low numbers happening, but am of course bummed that I was an hour late when we are working hard to find the right dose, transition her to wet food, find a routine, etc...

She was really hungry when I got home too, no wonder, nothing worked as planned today. I normally work from my home office a lot, so can deal with her inbetween working, but had to go "off-site" today, so no chance to test her during the day today at all. :sad:

So, tomorrow morning - the 3.75 IU dose at the usual time, or should I do something different? confused_cat

Thanks !

Maria
 
It's not a big deal -- it happens. In most cases, you can shoot up to two hours late. However, your AM shot time is 12 hours from this shot. If you need to make up the lost time, you have a couple of options. The typical course is to adjust the time back by 15 min. at each shot time or by 30 min. at one shot time per day. However, if Suzie's numbers are over 300 at PM +11, you could shoot an hour early and make up the time. If you do the latter, I would make sure you could test early in the cycle.

Just as an FYI: a late shot acts like a dose reduction and an early shot acts like a dose increase due to the effect on the overlap period between shots.
 
Hi,
think Sienne has covered the bases.

Don't beat yourself up-beans have to earn a living :mrgreen:

The sugar dance is just that, not a sprint, more a marathon!
 
Thanks so much for the quick replies !

Now I can go to bed with an easy mind and not fret over it.

So I'll test her at PMPS +11 which is her regular AM shot time, see what her numbers are like and then either shoot then or delay it a bit, but no later than PMPS +12. Good thing it is Saturday tomorrow so I have flexibility! (and can test her more often during the day too!)

Other than being really hungry, she seems to feel fine despite the 366 reading. Her ears are probably glad to have gotten a break from the blood-testing! ;-)

Thanks for the info & the re-assurance !

Maria
 
Hi Suzie!

i know that you are sleeping right now, but tomorrow, or when you have a chance, go have a look at Do Lou's SS. You'll see what the change of food can do... it's very powerful!
Ni ni
 
Thanks Helene,

I am working hard at figuring out which soft foods local to here in Belgium are suitable for Suzie and getting a lot of help from Monique. Then the next step is convincing Suzie, who is eating about 50/50 dry/soft now. Since she is toothless, I made a "soup" for her this morning as suggested by others with toothless cats, but I got the "you don't seriously expect me to eat this, do you?" look from her.... you know what cats can be like... sigh...

Maria & Suzie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top