5/14 Shadow AMPS HI

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shadowboy

Member Since 2013
Oh no.... What do I do now? Why is he reading HI? I checked him twice.... His numbers from PMPS and on last night had looked so good. Did his body not like the 261 at +3 last night? Is this a bounce?

Yes, I'm stressed... I have to leave for work and won't be back to test him all day =(

I went up to 3 units this morning.....

Thanks
 
J.D. has a HI sometimes. He just had one last night, and he brought himself down just fine. He was just bouncing.
I don't know if I would have gone up by a whole unit this morning. We generally make dose adjustments by the nadir (lowest point) in the BG numbers, which normally happen around +6 or so. So any dose adjustment would be made based on the 261, not the HI which is just a bounce.

I hope you see better numbers tonight. Please test as soon as you walk in the door from work.
 
Don't panic - a high number is not as dangerous as a low number, a HI is frustrating but not life threatening.

Best to read up on the dosing if you can and steady away before going up the scale? I am relatively new to this but you need to try and go up by .25 of a unit and watch your nadirs (lowest point) to judge your dose increase rather than focusing too much on the AMPS/PMPS.

The thing is (the really ANNOYING things about diabetes) is that a higher dose can actually produce the higher numbers - so although you think you're doing right by increasing (and so do lots of vets!!) you could actually be making it worse because you're inducing a bigger bounce - which is why it's best to go steady away and watch the numbers, and why the nadir is so so important. Additionally, the more you give, the less effective it can be (ironically!!) so when they're high, the insulin can be less effective than if they're lower to start with (% wise). It's tempting to give them more, especially when the meter says 'HI' but to start with, you might be better off just watching, and observing the pattern your individual cat throws out.

Can give a better explanation of a 'bounce' if you're not sure what is happening? (biologically speaking) - I'm not sure how far on with your research you are yet :)

These guys will give you the best dosing advice and the more numbers (tests) you can get the better.

x
 
Jen:

One of the hardest aspects of managing your cat's diabetes is patience -- especially when you see a high pre-shot number. The immediate reaction is to try to use the insulin to 'squish' the number down. If you were using a short-acting insulin or an insulin where dose was based on the pre-shot number, that might be a possibility. Unfortunately, with Lantus, it doesn't work that way. The thing many people struggle with is that dosing is based on the nadir, not the pre-shot. In addition, the Tight Regulation Protocol, while aggressive is also safe because doses are raised in small amount and in a systematic manner so you don't miss what could easily be an effective dose. So, for dose increases:
[url=http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581:16s6n9sb][b:16s6n9sb]Tight Regulation Protocol sticky[/b][/url] said:
Increasing the dose:

  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
If you can get the tests in like Libby suggested last night, then you could raise Shadow's dose after 2 days/4 cycles. It's very likely that Shadow is seeing nadirs that are below 300. It's just as likely that he's bouncing off of those numbers.
 
Thanks for the help. The thing I'm confused about is his numbers don't seem to follow the same pattern each day.

On 5/13 he was still droping at the PMPS... on 5/11 his low was at +3 after the AMPS then steadily went up, but on 5/10 his low was at +7....

Tonight should I go back to 2units?
 
I wouldn't be concerned about Shadow following a particular pattern. Even a cat that's well regulated can be full of surprises. (After all, we're dealing with cats and they believe it's their job to keep us confused.)

As for tonight, I'd probably bring the dose to 2.25u. Let's see what others have to say, as well.
 
Hi guys .. Sorry to see that Shadow was HI this morning .. I know it's hard seeing our kitties so high, or so low .. but it happens and they recover from it .. it's harder on us then it is them! have a great day!
 
Got home from work tonight at 8pm and did a check. This was a +2.... my husband gave the 6pm insulin 2.5 units (he doesn't check BGs yet). So +2 read HI- repeated with a different meter and got 536. Then I started to worry about DKA. Was able to check for ketones and they were negative. Yay!! I'll do a +4 then will have to go to bed- working again tomorrow.

Thanks again for everyone's help!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top