5/14 Neko PMPS 404 +2 448

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70940

This is the 8th cycle at this dose, and I still don't know what it can do. I guess we'll wait at this dose a while yet until it gets a chance to show itself.

After last nights partial fur shot, and Neko's early morning noises from the kitchen, I knew she would be high this morning. Poor girl, I wish there was more I could do for her. She seems to be recovering, and has done a couple of yard patrols and got some good purring done on the lap this morning.

I talked to the vet last week about the possibility of doing a dental if Neko didn't seem to be settling down soon. I think I'd like to go ahead with it since she has never had a dental and Neko is at 5.0 units with not much green showing. The vet was recommending either a half dose or no dose the morning of a dental. What other questions/instructions should I have for the vet before the operation?
 
Re: 5/14 Neko AMPS 512 +3 397 - dental questions?

Wendy&Neko said:
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70940

This is the 8th cycle at this dose, and I still don't know what it can do. I guess we'll wait at this dose a while yet until it gets a chance to show itself.

After last nights partial fur shot, and Neko's early morning noises from the kitchen, I knew she would be high this morning. Poor girl, I wish there was more I could do for her. She seems to be recovering, and has done a couple of yard patrols and got some good purring done on the lap this morning.

I talked to the vet last week about the possibility of doing a dental if Neko didn't seem to be settling down soon. I think I'd like to go ahead with it since she has never had a dental and Neko is at 5.0 units with not much green showing. The vet was recommending either a half dose or no dose the morning of a dental. What other questions/instructions should I have for the vet before the operation?

Are her teeth very bad? There are a couple other things you could do as well.
You can consider switching to Levemir; my Shadoe had much smoother curves on Levemir and her numbers reminded me of Neko's when Shadoe was on Lantus.
You can also consider having her tested for acro and IAA because if you are feeding proper low carb wet food and getting to a 5u BID dose on Lantus, it may be time to consider it. I mention this now because a dental may well give you a big drop in BG and you will think HEY! all we needed was the dental, but nope. If you have resistance, the BG will climb again. Also, you are holding doses a bit too long and if Neko has some resistance going on, you are letting the resistance win. Stick to the 6 cycles like in the protocol, then increase the dose.

I did not have my Shadoe tested for acro & IAA till she was up to 9u; I kept thinking I was doing something wrong, then the vet did not think she should be tested and I had to fight over that issue for over a month. She had also never had a dental, so I convinced the vet to send out her tests 2/21/10 and also had her set for a dental. By dental day 3/18/10, she was up to 14u BID and had tested positive for acro 3/5/10, not IAA. We dropped her dose to 10u on the nite before the dental, then no shot in the am as her dental was set for just before noon. I gave her 10u that nite, big mistake as the anesthetic kicked in to pull her into solid greens all nite and we skipped the next morn. She went into a freefall with her dose stopping at 2.75u BID.

Now this story is to say, yes, the dental is a good thing, it was Shadoe's first and she did have one extraction, but I am glad I tested her for acro before the dental because I could have been fooled with her drop after the dental.

Just a thought to keep in mind because the tests cost under $100 and then tack on the FEDEX and your vet's blood draw/shipping costs. The dental will cost more.

I'd switch to Lev to get a more level curve for sure.
I'd ask your vet for a quote to draw the blood and ship via FEDEX to MSU labs for the acro/IAA tests.
For the dose before dental, it depends when the dental will be done but I think I'd request it to be early and then shoot less for the pm before the dental, skip the am shot, keeping in mind that you will still have shed action to carry her through the day, then see what she measures at pmps..
 
Re: 5/14 Neko AMPS 512 +5 369 - dental questions?

FWIW, I disagree with Gayle. I think making sure any health issues, including dental, are addressed makes good sense. Teeth and other sources of infection or inflammation are the most common cause of higher numbers as is glucose toxicity. Most vets will want to run baseline labs before a dental procedure if you haven't had blood work done within the last couple of months. You could certainly ask about having acro and IAA tests run if a blood draw is done. If the issue is teeth, you're still going to have to get that taken care of, no matter what. The cost for the acro and IAA testing isn't that much -- the shipping, on the other hand, is expensive.

This is a link to a post I put together on dental information. My vet has great information on their website about dental procedures and how to determine whether a vet is well set up to do dental work on your cat.
 
Re: 5/14 Neko AMPS 512 +5 369 - dental dose?

Hi Gayle, Neko is on primarily raw food. I got the "as fed" numbers and they are 4-5%. She occasionally gets Wellness LC as well. Neko does have some tartar on her back teeth on one side, and one of her front canines is showing a little darker pink, but not red. Otherwise, her tooth look pretty decent.

I just called the vet to book an dental, and there is a slot open tomorrow if I want. She has never had a dental, so I'm OK with the cost. It sounds like a good idea to get them to draw blood and get the IAA and acro tests done at the same time.

The reason I've been holding longer than the protocol is because it was suggested that I wait until she stop bouncing before increasing. I have recently been told that is not so. For this particular dose there has been so much bouncing it hasn't been given a chance to show what it can do.
 
Re: 5/14 Neko AMPS 512 +5 369 - dental dose?

Sienne, you posted the same time as me! I asked my vet last week about blood work, and she said the one's I had recently were good enough for the dental. This vet did dental on my civie Theo (front canine extraction) and also my previous cat years ago who needed several extractions over the years. The same staff are there, they do X rays, and use anesthesia so I'm pretty comfortable with them doing the work. The biggest concern is that they are not familiar with Lantus, as they are the ones who started me on Caninsulin. Hence the question about dosing tonight and tomorrow.
 
Re: 5/14 Neko AMPS 512 +5 369 - dental dose?

Tonight's dose should be fine.

My vet gives the same suggestion re. dose on the day of the procedure -- either half or none. It may depend on your AMPS. The thing to remember is that anesthesia can lower BG. You don't want Neko's numbers to be running lower than usual and the vet having to start giving dextrose, if it's avoidable.

I would suggest bringing some LC food with you so Neko has appropriate food for after the procedure. Most vets will give food and I suspect you'd prefer he not be given kibble.
 
Re: 5/14 Neko AMPS 512 +5 369 - dental dose?

I agree with Sienne on waiting out the dental to see how her numbers do. Also, while I think levemir is a great insulin, lantus also works extremely well for many cats. I would not recommend changing insulins just yet. If a
kitty has been on one insulin for a while and it just isn't working, then I can see changing. Tess and Gracie both were on lantus a year before we switched.

Sending Neko great dental vetty vines for tomorrow. Please let us know how she does, Wendy.
 
Re: 5/14 Neko AMPS 512 +5 369 - dental dose?

Thanks Marjorie and Sienne. I subsequently heard back from the vets office, and she suggested half dose tomorrow. Sounds like she has been doing some research on Lantus. Part of my reason for sticking with her is I like her for everything else and maybe I can convert her to Lantus which would be good for other kitties. After me, she managed to now convince a second client to blood test. Progress!

I already asked about food and will take along some of her Wellness. They don't deal with raw there.

I will keep everyone updated on progress and will probably have questions about dose tomorrow night.

The vet says I can wait until just before 10 to bring her in, to minimize the wait time in the office. I am so NOT looking forward to not feeding her tomorrow AM.
 
Re: 5/14 Neko AMPS 512 +5 369 - dental tomorrow

Good luck with the dental tomorrow Wendy! I can understand the anxiety with taking them for dental. Ive always dreaded that process unless really necessary. But it is much needed if its Neko's first time for years.
Tug along an used blankie for Neko to feel familier with. Hugs!
 
Re: 5/14 Neko AMPS 512 +5 369 - dental tomorrow

Wendy, sending my good luck and vines for a good dental tomorow for Neko. Yes, we all get a little nervous with dentals, but Neko will be fine. Sounds like you have a good Vet.
 
Re: 5/14 Neko PMPS 404 - dental tomorrow

PMPS 404 - according to Marje's comment in Ella's condo, this qualifies as a pink :lol: Slowly getting rid of that bounce. Now Neko, no antics tonight! I'm not supposed to feed you after midnight.

Thanks all for the well wishes. Truth be told, I dread more the time I have to withhold the food from Neko before she goes to the vet! cat(2)_steam This is her first operation under anesthesia so that will be something to worry about.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top