5/14 Lanky AMPS 360, PMPS 352

Status
Not open for further replies.

sehjak (Susan & Lanky)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Good Morning Lantus Land- today bring a dose increase for Lanky as we are still trying to rid the pink. All cat Ps look good. We did not like the 13th & we are glad it is a beautifu,l new day on this 14th day of May in the year of our Lord 2010. We avoid cracks in the sidewalk and walking under ladders too. But we love black cats!

Hope you all have a productive & pleasant day.
 
Re: 5/14 Lanky AMPS 360

Come on Lanky!!!! Happy Friday the 14th Susan!!! :lol: Hope you are feeling good...and hoping that Lanky uses that new dose well!
Use the force, Luke....uh...I mean Lanky.... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/14 Lanky AMPS 360

I like when you put the xxx's in the SS + hr box for when you are going to test next. Makes it so I know when to come back.
Grab a +6.
 
Oh, I do hope & pray this dose takes care of those nasty #*!!@?!!-I won't even say that 4-letter word tonight!

Lanky ate 2% carb-Fancy Feast, ate well, and seems pretty happy. Thanks for all the twinkle dust everyone, we desperately need it. No sure what else to say, just have to wait, watch, and test...
 
good luck with the dosecrease!

Watch this one (I know you always do anyway, I'm posting largely for the benefit of others who are reading). It's pretty aggressive to increase by 0.5 units after only 2 cycles (or were you calling the skinny 6 the same as straight 6?), with nadirs in the blue. I know the blue was probably influenced by the preceding early shots, but we don't know for sure so it's necessary to keep testing. We don't want to go too fast and end up over dose.
 
Re: 5/14 Lanky AMPS 360, PMPS 352, +7 366

FYI - I did hang it up and go to bed after +6 (347) but I lay there worrying about Lanky & mulling over everything that has been going on. So at 5 minutes to +7 I got up because that was better than tossing & turning. Why not, one more test, ugh still climbing.

I still do not understand how all of this is supposed to work. [Otis just hopped up to help type & give me hugs because he knows how sad I am] But I do have faith that there has to be an explanation why Lanky can't get regulated. I've come up with 4:
1 - bad box of Lantus pens (I am on #2 of 5)
2 - something is going at the injection site. I spoke to the vet about this a few weeks ago when I took Lanky in to double check his teeth, look for infection, or other problems going on etc.. At the injection site [nap of neck area between shoulder blades] I can feel a puffiness or thickening of the loose skin layer. The vet thoroughly examined the area, no problem. The puffiness persists & Lanky doesn't seem to be bothered by it. When I inject, I try to move around, be sure I am sub-Q, check for fur shots. Only once has Lanky reacted to a shot & that was by wincing a little.
3 - I should call the vet and request we do the ultra-sound we discussed doing previously to make sure there is not some other problem.
4 - Realize it takes time, try to keep my emotions in check, and as General Noisy would say: "Soldier on..." with what we are doing.

If anyone has suggestions or words of wisdom, please share. Doing this post is a heck of a lot better than just laying there worrying. Maybe tonight was an opportunity to get more sleep but sleep just wouldn't come. I wish I could figure out/understand what is going on so I would know I am doing the best thing for Lanky. If some kitties have to go thru a process like this then so be it. That in itself would be helpful information.

I'm blue, wish Lanky would turn blue...
 
Re: 5/14 Lanky AMPS 360, PMPS 352, +7 366

Hi Susan,

try not to be disheartened, Dihahn is right-soldier on :-D The sugar dance is more of a marathon than a sprint. It has only been a couple of months since diagnosis so still early days.

Can't comment on your shooting plan, but couple of things spring to mind.
You either haven't found break through dose yet or Lanky could be a high dose kitty.
I can see your a dedicated bean and provide lots of info which is good and helps you cover all the bases and other beans offer advice.

Just keep lugging away for now-Lanky doesn't care for his numbers, he's still your kitty :mrgreen: and likes his lovings.

Keep an eye on his 5 p's.

As for the skin thing-yes want to alternate shooting site. Numerous pokings thicken skin. Just keep an eye on it for now and always ask vet to check it when you go in if it worries you.

If his dose requirements do continue to rise, then there may come a time to check for Acro or IAA, but maybe just not yet. D will give her thoughts to (think she's helping you with your shooting plan?).

All is good in Lankys world with a mommabean like you :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/14 Lanky AMPS 360, PMPS 352, +7 366

Libby, I counted the skinny 6u as a regular 6u, hold for 4 cycles (then raise by 0.25-0.5u) -- his dose is high and numbers are not moving. A "skinny" at 6u is whole lot less juice than a skinny at 1-2u. Factor in the early shots we gave, then backed off from them -- to me, that equals the call for a 0.5u increase. I was waiting for 7u before suggesting an IAA test and and acro test.

IMHO, If he can handle all, and there were a lot of them, of those early shots and now we are on a 12/12 he can handle, and needs, aggressive increasing.
 
Re: 5/14 Lanky AMPS 360, PMPS 352, +7 366

Lisa, I think it would be a good idea to get vet to check as many things as possible. You could also get an IAA and acro test done. If he's IAA or acro our hands are not tied so tight and if he's not, we'll know and can work with a clearer picture.

Cats with Insulin Auto Antibodies (IAA)

[petdiabetes.wikia.com]
When insulin is injected into a diabetic cat, the body views it as a foreign substance and the immune system sets out to destroy the "invader" insulin, just as it would destroy cold and flu viruses. When this happens to injected insulin - most of it never reaches the bloodstream thus being unable to control blood glucose. Insulin doses may be increased but the immune system only goes into higher gear and continues to effectively destroy any additional injected insulin. Over time this becomes officially known as insulin resistance.

Sharyn and Fiona states: One article on humans suggests that changing insulin doesn't work. IAA is supposed to be self-limiting, meaning it goes away at some point. (See article link below) “We have a couple of anecdotal reports of kitties who, by continuing to raise the insulin doses, were able to overwhelm the antibodies, eventually lower the insulin doses and gain control of the BG’s.”

Currently 10/09 Sandy and Black Kitty seem to have done just that. At one point Black Kitty was needing 27 units of Lantus insulin/day. He is now OTJ. GREAT JOB BK!!!!

Link to have blood sent for IAA testing:
[www.animalhealth.msu.edu]
A result > 20% is considered positive for IAA.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top