? 5/14 Ivy Amps 305, +2 117, +4 121, +6 Lo, +9.5 68, Pmps 117, +3 163 Libre, fasting for echo

Staci & Ivy

Very Active Member
5/13/24
Amps 305 Libre
+2 117 Libre
Good morning,

Yesterday a.m. circle was active for Ivy. Last night we gave a partial fur shot when she decided to jump as I injected her so she was yellow on her Libre all night.

This morning she’s already back to work at +2. She’s down to 117 on her Libre. Looks like she’s on the move. :rolleyes:

She’s been having some rapid respirations that I want make sure everything‘s OK given she’s hyperthyroid and on methimazole now. And her vet hasn’t tested her blood pressure since she feels she can’t get an accurate reading because Ivy is so fractious.

We are due to have a cardiac Echocardiogram tomorrow, seeing a board-certified cardiologist at noon,
(which is +6 in her schedule).
My plan tonight is to give half a dose and skip insulin in the morning since they want me to fast her.
They told me to fast 10 to 12 hours ahead, but I think that’s way too long.
My question is how long do you advise Not giving her food before a noon appointment.

They said we could be there for up to two hours.
My plan would be to feed her a very small amount when we got home after the appointment, which might be around 3:00 to 3:30 PM, but by 4 PM I need to start withholding food because that would be +10 in her cycle and I wouldn’t want to feed after the two hour window, before her next scheduled feed and shoot time.
(That is at 6 PM tomorrow evening.)

They plan on needing to give her some kind of injectable sedation for her to be still she as is very fractious.

I will pre-sedate her tonight and tomorrow morning with gabapentin and trazodone, as I do for all appointments since she is so feisty.

Tomorrow evening meal will most likely need to be hand fed by syringe since she always has a reduced or no interest in food/appetite after sedation.

Trying to figure out what is the best advice on how much to feed her and when is the latest you think I could give her some food just to have something in her system (and how much).

I did tell the vet hospital she’s diabetic and they still told me to fast her for 10 to 12 hours prior. (I don’t think they listen).

@Wendy&Neko @Suzanne & Darcy

Thank you so much. Have a great day everyone :cat:
 
I don't have any qualified advice but I want to assure you, that all paws and fingers are crossed for the appointment tomorrow! :bighug::bighug::bighug: So good you are seing a cardiologist tomorrow and I pray he is helpful to understand what is going on. You are really doing anything possible to manage Ivys health. Did you ever try Bach flowers before going to the vet? I know this might be not sufficient but for Binie it really has a calming effect. Let's see what the experts are saying if it comes to fasting!
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!

Pretty in pink but already on the move. I think she will be a busy bee today.
Also sounds like you have your hands full for tomorrow. You're managing everything so so well. You're a jugling master. I hope you get some good advice on how long to fast her. Good luck with the sedation and the appointment itself. I'm sure it will be very stressful for both of you. Remember to breathe. Boys and I will be sending PAWsitive vibes and thoughts your way. :cat::bighug::cat::bighug:
Happy taco tuesday
upload_2024-5-14_10-48-49.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-5-14_10-48-49.png
    upload_2024-5-14_10-48-49.png
    42.7 KB · Views: 169
Ok, so it turns out I cancelled the appointment with the cardiologist tomorrow. Will reassess if issue continues. My regular vet thinks not necessary at this time to stress Ivy for this appointment. She doesn't think Ivy is having a breathing problem.
However, I would still like to know the suggested best protocol for fasting her when I do this type of testing in the future.
Thank you all :)
 
Neko had several echocardiograms. She was never fasted for any of them. They did sedation, not anaesthesia. And yes, she got the label feisty at the cardio vet. One time the cardio vet told me he knew something was wrong when she wasn't feisty. :p When she did have anaesthesia, she had full shot the night before, 1/2 shot the morning of - one time I gave a token cause she looked like she wanted a reduction. And her most recent (we are talking 2015 now, so hardly new) guidelines were 1/3 meal before 6AM.

If they must give anaesthesia which means fasting, the second post in this thead gives the latest guidelines, including for diabetics:
Info on Dental Procedures (including pictures)
 
I don't have any qualified advice but I want to assure you, that all paws and fingers are crossed for the appointment tomorrow! :bighug::bighug::bighug: So good you are seing a cardiologist tomorrow and I pray he is helpful to understand what is going on. You are really doing anything possible to manage Ivys health. Did you ever try Bach flowers before going to the vet? I know this might be not sufficient but for Binie it really has a calming effect. Let's see what the experts are saying if it comes to fasting!
Neko had several echocardiograms. She was never fasted for any of them. They did sedation, not anaesthesia. And yes, she got the label feisty at the cardio vet. One time the cardio vet told me he knew something was wrong when she wasn't feisty. :p When she did have anaesthesia, she had full shot the night before, 1/2 shot the morning of - one time I gave a token cause she looked like she wanted a reduction. And her most recent (we are talking 2015 now, so hardly new) guidelines were 1/3 meal before 6AM.

If they must give anaesthesia which means fasting, the second post in this thead gives the latest guidelines, including for diabetics:
Info on Dental Procedures (including pictures)
I assume the reason for fasting her is because they knew they will need to sedate her with injectible (not anesthesia). Ivy definitely needs sedation even to take labs (even just an office visit with gaba and trazodone). Sometimes it's just gaba/trazodone, sometimes they add an injection for labs.

Every time she's had an xray (last summer and Fall after her broken leg, they gave injection as they needed her very still for the xrays).

It's interesting Neko didn't require fasting for the sedation for echocardiograms. I wonder why they want her fasted (they did last summer as well to be fasted for those xrays and sedation protocol).
 
I don't have any qualified advice but I want to assure you, that all paws and fingers are crossed for the appointment tomorrow! :bighug::bighug::bighug: So good you are seing a cardiologist tomorrow and I pray he is helpful to understand what is going on. You are really doing anything possible to manage Ivys health. Did you ever try Bach flowers before going to the vet? I know this might be not sufficient but for Binie it really has a calming effect. Let's see what the experts are saying if it comes to fasting!
Hi Heike, well I bailed on the appointment, for now. I have used Bach's rescue remedy and actually use it 2x daily just to chill her out (a few drops only). It's great it really helps Binie!

Ivy is much more stressed and needs heavier stuff than herbals :)

Much love to you both today!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!

Pretty in pink but already on the move. I think she will be a busy bee today.
Also sounds like you have your hands full for tomorrow. You're managing everything so so well. You're a jugling master. I hope you get some good advice on how long to fast her. Good luck with the sedation and the appointment itself. I'm sure it will be very stressful for both of you. Remember to breathe. Boys and I will be sending PAWsitive vibes and thoughts your way. :cat::bighug::cat::bighug:
Happy taco tuesday
View attachment 70111
Thanks, Karolina! I need to keep breathing....so much to manage....cancelled the cardio appointment....hope I did the right thing.

Love to you 3 :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Gosh, anytime we have to take any of the kitties to the vet, I feel that it's me who needs sedation :rolleyes:
It's so stressful! Hope all goes well and fast for you and Ivy.
Your plan sounds solid to me, but I'll tag a few more to see if you can get further suggestions:
@Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee
I agree Kit. They should sedate me :rolleyes:
I actually cancelled the appointment. Will wait to see what happens and will monitor her.
My brain is like :blackeye::blackeye:
Thank you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I have nothing helpful to add about dosing and fasting visits, because I don't know a thing about it. I haven't had to cross that bridge yet.

But, it seems you have a bit of a reprieve since you cancelled the appointment, and now can get that game plan together. :)

I hope this means you have a more relaxing evening! For both you and Ivy.
 
I have nothing helpful to add about dosing and fasting visits, because I don't know a thing about it. I haven't had to cross that bridge yet.

But, it seems you have a bit of a reprieve since you cancelled the appointment, and now can get that game plan together. :)

I hope this means you have a more relaxing evening! For both you and Ivy.
Agreed, Janet. I’m sure it will happen. Just not tomorrow. Back to our regularly scheduled programming.
Hope you have a calm night with Purrl :bighug::bighug:
 
Have a good night, Staci. Sometimes it’s good to follow your instincts. I cancelled an echo and later a dental for Bella because it did not feel right. She ended up not needing the echo after all, and thr dental was much more relaxed when pmanned a few weeks kater, with the vet I preferred.
 
With Max when under general for teeth cleaning he got his normal dose the night before, I picked up food at midnight, and skipped in the morning. I don’t think you would need to skip with an injection..
 
Have a good night, Staci. Sometimes it’s good to follow your instincts. I cancelled an echo and later a dental for Bella because it did not feel right. She ended up not needing the echo after all, and thr dental was much more relaxed when pmanned a few weeks kater, with the vet I preferred.
Thanks, Cecile. That’s good to know :)
 
Hi Staci, go with your gut, especially if your vet said
she thinks it's not necessary at this time to stress Ivy for this appointment..
Try and relax a little bit. What's going in with the
methimazole, did your vet up the dose ? :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I hope Ivy has a nice dark green cycle tonight
 
Hi Staci, go with your gut, especially if your vet said
she thinks it's not necessary at this time to stress Ivy for this appointment..
Try and relax a little bit. What's going in with the
methimazole, did your vet up the dose ? :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I hope Ivy has a nice dark green cycle tonight
Hi Diane, no she wants to keep the dose the same. She thinks Ivy is stable in all areas and she doesn’t want to cause her to stop eating or make her kidney values worse (they look good at present).
I just hope she knows what she’s taking about. She said if it were her cat she wouldn’t increase the dose.
She wants to retest her labs In 3 months.
And I hope my gut is on target and that I did the right thing. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top