5/14 Ella pmps 499 +2=472

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68373

Hello LL,

So I woke up a few times throughout the evening to check on Ella as her +3.5 was a tad lower then expected. The last bg I took was at +10 and it was 295. Looks like my insulin is working:) Unfortunately, I took the cap off the new one as I was going to use it last night:(
Ella is begging hard for food but I don't want to influence her number at ps so I'm not going to feed her. I will expect to see a lower number due to lack of carbs.
I think Val's syringes are magic:) and the new dose is kicking in!
 
Re: 5/14 Ella +8= 331 +10=295 amps 256

So I just got an AMPS of 256. That's the lowest in 13 days! Of course this happens as I'm on my way to work. Do I shoot her the .75?

I won't be home to monitor.
 
Re: 5/14 Ella +8= 331 +10=295 amps 256 (dosing question)

Oh, that's a much better AMPS today, Ella cat_pet_icon
That's a nice slow drop of 39 points in 2 hours. I think you can go ahead and give her the insulin. If you give it now, it would give you time to get a +1 and a +2, right? Once you feed her, her numbers should go up a little.
If you're uncomfortable, you can give her a touch of MC with her regular LC, and leave some of that mixture out for her to eat during the day. Or, you could, if you wanted to, give her a BCS shot. Or, you can stall and then shoot the regular dose. Or, you can skip. The last 3 options could impede her progress just made, but you can start all over again tonight, if you so choose.
 
Re: 5/14 Ella +8= 331 +10=295 amps 256 (dosing question)

I shot her the .75 u before reading this as I had to squeeze it in so that I could get my +2. I might be more of a +1.75 as I shot at 6:15. I hope that's ok.
Thanks for checking in and offering your advice:) I hope she doesn't pull any dramatics but when looking at her ss i saw nice and easy drops si I went for it.
 
Re: 5/14 Ella +8= 331 +10=295 amps 256 +1=230

+1=230...ok I'm getting a bit nervous now nailbite_smile
 
Re: 5/14 Ella +8= 331 +10=295 amps 256 +1=230

Tamara, can you give her a little bit of MC food, to put her on a surfboard? Because she's Ella, that's what I would do.
I would also leave some MC food out along with some LC food, for her to snack on during the day. If you think she won't eat the food left out for the day, maybe you can try to add some yummy toppings to it. Just some thoughts.
 
Re: 5/14 Ella +8= 331 +10=295 amps 256 +1=230

+2 202 she's not eating her breakfast ohmygod_smile

i'm going to have to drop her off at the vet
 
Re: 5/14 Ella +8= 331 +10=295 amps 256 +1=230

Oh Ella. What are we going to do with you?
I think taking her to the vet for the day, is a good idea. Be sure to instruct them not to give her kibble.
Take her regular LC and some HC if needed, for them to feed.
And a T shirt with your smell on it to lay with.
 
Re: 5/14 Ella +8= 331 +10=295 amps 256 +1=230

And call them, to make sure they test. Leave your glucometer for them to use.
I remember last time they didn't test until 2:30pm or something like that.
 
Re: 5/14 Ella +8= 331 +10=295 amps 256 +1=230

I guess Ella just needed a little jump start with a dose increase to get her rolling again. It looks like your old insulin is still OK. If all you did was take the cap off the new vial, that's not a problem: it's when you actually insert the needle through the rubber stopper that the count-down begins.

I hope Ella will be OK today. As Dyana says: Don't let them feed her kibble!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/14 Ella +8= 331 +10=295 amps 256 +1=230

Ella....Gracie thinks you should be called Lil Stinka II for doing this to your mom when she was home all weekend.

I hope they get the instructions right this time and don't over carb her.
 
Re: 5/14 Ella +8= 331 +10=295 amps 256 +1=230

Oh, Ella. I vote for "OTHA STINKA" (said with a Boston accent)

MJ
 
Re: 5/14 Ella +8= 331 +10=295 amps 256 +1=230

She is the otha stinka!!!

Unfortunately I did insert the needle into the other bottle as I thought I was going to try dosing her with it last night:( Gah!

I went to visit over lunch and she was pretty bummed out at me. I specifically told them NO dry kibble and they listened this time and I went to feed her myself to ensure she only ate lc. Her bg was similar a bit after she arrived this morning and then she was on the rise over lunch...I took the AT as they are familiar with that meter. They think I'm a total nut case for bringing her in when she was in the yellows. They have never seen a hypo and don't believe she can get there with the small dose that she's on. They also don't believe she rebounds even though it's so obvious in the data! I told them about my hopes for remission and the less desirable doctor said that diabetic cats never go into remission. I told him I had still had hope and then he said " I guess you're the doctor now!"
It's a bit discouraging to hear that from the vet. The other one feels like she can get there as she is getting results on low doses but says that all her cases still receive insulin once a day to ensure they stay in the normal range.

This might be kind of odd to think...but I only started seeing results when I used the new needles. Is there a chance that they are better for absorption for her? Or are her results merely the fact that we increased the dose. Probably the latter but I had to ask:)

Going to get my baby in an hour. I'm hoping this dose will not make her dive. I don't want to take her back to the vet...she hates it and I just get bad vibes...like I'm an idiot for taking her there.
 
Re: 5/14 Ella +8= 331 +10=295 amps 256 +1=230

geesh, some vets really act like horse's behinds sometimes :-| Care to give them the list of OTJ FDMB kitties? :roll:
As far as I know, absorption is only sometimes a factor if you're shooting in different locations. Some have found better "results" from shooting in the side instead of the scruff, for example. Don't go crazy trying to figure it (or Ella) out. But heck, if you think those needles are working better, by all means keep using them. Mental attitude is huge in this game. What matters in the end is that her BG numbers improve, though some PREDICTABILITY and CONSISTENCY would be very nice, hm? Silly Otha Stinka...

MJ
 
Re: 5/14 Ella +8= 331 +10=295 amps 256 +1=230

My reaction was exactly the same as MJ's except my language to describe the less liked vet was considerably more colorful! We've had over 200 cats go into remission. Perhaps, the issue is the vet and not the cats he's treating!
 
Re: 5/14 Ella +8= 331 +10=295 amps 256 +1=230

I'm glad to see Ella getting into better numbers again. Good luck on that new dose and the new needles.
 
Re: 5/14 Ella +8= 331 +10=295 amps 256 +1=230

Oh he's a character! Greg has heard me use very colourful language as well. One time he told me that treating diabetes is an art not a science...I really had to keep it together when I heard that. He says he's been treating diabetes for 30 years. He doesn't like to be challenged and I'm a pain in his butt!
I was hoping they would learn something about diabetes from my experience with Ella but they just think all this testing is Looney Tunes!
I'm going to look into alternative options. Another thing that peeved me was when I asked the better vet if they had a microwave I could use to heat up Ella's food she said no. I had seen one in the basement when Ella was being treated for pancreatitis so I asked the vet tech and she did it in 10 secs for me and Ella lapped it up. Really??? Why ya gotta lie? The cat needs to eat and that's the way she likes it...
Sorry to rant...
 
Re: 5/14 Ella pmps 499

PMPS 499 Should I dose her? :lol: :lol: :lol:

With her history I was expecting a bounce but you can never be too safe...right?
 
Re: 5/14 Ella pmps 499

tpr said:
PMPS 499 Should I dose her?

I'm glad today didn't make you lose your sense of humor between the vial, the vet, and other things. :-D :YMHUG:

I also like "OTHA STINKA"
giggle.gif
Of course, as long as we all acknowledge the uniqueness of the one and only Lil Stinka! And I think you should, Tamara, or
you will get the LL famous Gracie stinkeye photo on your condo :lol: :lol: :lol:

Ok Ella...little drama queen....get that vetty stress off your BG and come down.
 
Re: 5/14 Ella pmps 499

Gracie... You are the original LS...the Queen of the stinkas...the one and only stinka of stinkertons!

There, I said it..so no stink eyes please:)
 
Re: 5/14 Ella pmps 499

Priceless photo! Makes this a "condo of the day".

Ella - good thing you didn't hit the blacks! That's a bounce Neko would be proud of.
 
Re: 5/14 Ella pmps 499

Wowzas...that is some serious stinkeye! I am officially scarred for life! :shock: :shock: :shock: I will have nightmares until I'm 99 years of age...I'm sure of it!
 
Re: 5/14 Ella pmps 499

Awe man but we were only one point off the blacks! Ella has been known to wear the bouncing crown...stay tuned!
 
Re: 5/14 Ella pmps 499

I say red is red no matter how close to any other number unless it is 405 or below...then it is pink.

I betcha never imagined that such a sweetie could lay such a stinkeye on someone.
 
Re: 5/14 Ella pmps 499

I have never see anything quite like it! Gracie is truly full of surprises!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top