5/14 Corduroy AMPS=170, +1.5=38, +4=63, +5=111, +7=287

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/14 Corduroy AMPS=170, +1.5=38... Here we go again.

Whoa.... .looks like Corduroy is going for some drama this morning....
Glad you caught it and are there with him...
 
Re: 5/14 Corduroy AMPS=170, +1.5=38... Here we go again.

Hey Brandon,

Are you always "on duty" when Corduroy decides to dive? You're very experienced, so I have no idea you'll do great getting Corduroy through the low numbers. Keep us posted!

Shelly
 
Re: 5/14 Corduroy AMPS=170, +1.5=38... Here we go again.

Hi guys .. wow! Corduroy is a man on a mission today .. Nice catch with that 38 .. Now back up you go cords! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/14 Corduroy AMPS=170, +1.5=38... Here we go again.

Shelly & Jersey said:
Are you always "on duty" when Corduroy decides to dive? You're very experienced, so I have no idea you'll do great getting Corduroy through the low numbers. Keep us posted!

Brandon:
Hi Shelly,
He hasn't been low in a long time before this past Caturday. We kinda went off the protocol for a while because of this issue of him going low on a regular basis; and we needed sleep. I think we were content with keeping him in 'comfortable' numbers rather than pushing to get him in the greens all the time. He seemed to feel good in the 100-200 range and being that it was less stress on us, we were content with that range too. Brigitte has recently decided to get back on track with the protocol again so here we are.. pushing it to the limits. I'm not totally on board with this protocol idea, but of course, I'm going to support her in this decision and do my best to do my part to share the sleep deprivation and keep him safe. Since B works outside of the house and I work from home, I'm much more available for situations like this when his numbers are low. It just so happens that these past two times have happened on days when she's working.
 
Re: 5/14 Corduroy AMPS=170, +1.5=38... Here we go again.

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. wow! Corduroy is a man on a mission today .. Nice catch with that 38 .. Now back up you go cords! have a great day guys!
Brandon: Thanks Peter! Hope you have a great day too!
 
Re: 5/14 Corduroy AMPS=170, +1.5=38, +2=42... Here we go aga

Hey Brandon,

I can relate to your questioning of TR - the idea of the TR protocol terrified me. When I was first starting, I saw people shooting numbers in the 70s and 80s, and I thought, "They're absolutely crazy!" It was especially hard right before Jersey went into remission. She had to barrel into it rather than take it slow and easy. It was nerve-wracking! nailbite_smile
 
Re: 5/14 Corduroy AMPS=170, +1.5=38, +2=42, +2.25=38

It looks like Corduroy is really fighting coming up this morning. Are you still giving Karo?
 
Re: 5/14 Corduroy AMPS=170, +1.5=38, +2=42, +2.25=38, +2.5=3

looks like Corduroy wants a dose reduction.....

you said you haven't noticed any crunching lately, has anyone looked in his mouth to see if maybe he lost a tooth...
 
Re: 5/14 Corduroy AMPS=170, +1.5=38, +2=42... Here we go aga

Shelly & Jersey said:
I can relate to your questioning of TR - the idea of the TR protocol terrified me. When I was first starting, I saw people shooting numbers in the 70s and 80s, and I thought, "They're absolutely crazy!" It was especially hard right before Jersey went into remission. She had to barrel into it rather than take it slow and easy. It was nerve-wracking! nailbite_smile
That's interesting, so Jersey went OTJ, eh? Congrats!!! :mrgreen: How long was she diagnosed as diabetic before going into remission? I guess my feeling is that Cords is past the point of being able to go OTJ. I know, pessimistic, but it just seems to be we've been at this so long that he's past the point of no return. Maybe I'm wrong? It's encouraging to know that Jersey was aggressively hitting the low numbers right before going OTJ, so maybe I should look at these past couple lows as potential for Cords to go OTJ. If that's the case, I'll certainly be on board with sticking to this plan!
 
Re: 5/14 Corduroy AMPS=170, +1.5=38, +2=42, +2.25=38, +2.5=3

there are kitties here who went otj after 2 years.... it's one of those ECID things.
If it was a tooth issue causing troubles and it gets fixed.... cats often start doing better. That's how critical teeth issues are for cats.
 
Re: 5/14 Corduroy AMPS=170, +1.5=38, +2=42, +2.25=38, +2.5=3

rhiannon and shadow said:
looks like Corduroy wants a dose reduction.....

you said you haven't noticed any crunching lately, has anyone looked in his mouth to see if maybe he lost a tooth...
Hi rhiannon, Cord's is still grinding/crunching, but not as much as he was a couple weeks ago. We've taken him to a dental specialist who wasn't convinced it was a mouth issue (although he did say his teeth were looking pretty nasty) and said it could be "referred pain" making him grind his teeth. Instead he was given a dose of Convenia to see if that helped clear any infection. We have an appt with another dental specialist to get a second opinion on May 30th.
 
Re: 5/14 Corduroy AMPS=170, +1.5=38, +2=42, +2.25=38, +2.5=3

I'm glad you have another opinion coming.
There is another cat here right now that was having crunching issues and it was a tooth... it was popping in and out of it's socket.... and the vet reached in
without anesthesia and plucked it.... ( and we wonder if that wasn't good enough - )

with a cat, I have a hard time believing anything a vet says if there isn't an xray to back it up.
My cat has Feline odontoclastic resorptive lesions....http://veterinarymedicine.dvm360.com/vetmed/article/articleDetail.jsp?id=146613

it's not like a cat opens wide and say look inside....
it's too quick to just look ....
 
Re: 5/14 Corduroy AMPS=170, +1.5=38, +2=42, +2.25=38, +2.5=3

I saw on the SS that you were giving more Karo, which doesn't seem to be bringing Corduroy up too much. I might suggest that you start giving a bit more and/or more often to get above 50. I think - and I hope someone will correct me if I'm wrong - that you want to try to get Corduroy above 50 as soon as you can.
 
Re: 5/14 Corduroy AMPS=170, +1.5=38, +2=42, +2.25=38, +2.5=3

Yes. You don't have anything to prove... he went below 50.... even below 40.
You can give him a higher carb gravy.... or a little more syrup....
You really want him to get back up in the 70's.... without the influence of food.....
 
Re: 5/14 Corduroy AMPS=170, +1.5=38, +2=42, +2.25=38, +2.5=3

That's interesting, so Jersey went OTJ, eh? Congrats!!! :mrgreen: How long was she diagnosed as diabetic before going into remission? I guess my feeling is that Cords is past the point of being able to go OTJ. I know, pessimistic, but it just seems to be we've been at this so long that he's past the point of no return. Maybe I'm wrong? It's encouraging to know that Jersey was aggressively hitting the low numbers right before going OTJ, so maybe I should look at these past couple lows as potential for Cords to go OTJ. If that's the case, I'll certainly be on board with sticking to this plan!

Jersey was diagnosed with diabetes right before Thanksgiving (2013). Our vet, who I later found out wasn't very knowledgeable about FD, put her on a high-carb dry food and said that the food change might bring her into remission. He didn't prescribe insulin (Humulin) until January. We used it inconsistently (because of the hard, fast drops) until switching to Lantus in mid-February. From that point, it took about 2 months before Jersey went OTJ.

She really did barrel into remission. We couldn't reduce the doses fast enough, it seemed. She just kept dropping below 50 no matter what we seemed to try. We started reducing on 4/2 and stopped insulin on 4/11. We couldn't even seem to taper off slowly per the protocol. We were extremely blessed that Jersey did go into remission and so quickly.

BTW - I just saw the 55 on the SS. Yay!
 
Re: 5/14 Corduroy AMPS=170, +1.5=38, +2=42, +2.25=38, +2.5=3

rhiannon and shadow said:
there are kitties here who went otj after 2 years.... it's one of those ECID things.
If it was a tooth issue causing troubles and it gets fixed.... cats often start doing better. That's how critical teeth issues are for cats.
ECID? Yeah, we'd like to get the teeth/mouth issue fixed ASAP, unfortunately we have to wait our turn to see the specialists. :-|
 
Re: 5/14 Corduroy AMPS=170, +1.5=38, +2.25=38, +2.5=39, +3=5

Shelly & Jersey said:
ECID = Every cat is different. :-D
Thanks! Google didn't help much with that one! :-D

And yep, 55 is good to see.. will test again in 15min. He's already not very enthused with me but at least he's not protesting too much. If he could roll his eyes at me, I'm sure he would. :roll: :smile:
 
Re: 5/14 Corduroy AMPS=170, +1.5=38, +3.5=52, +4=63, +5=111

He's comfortable and sleepy. I hope it doesn't go too high by PMPS! Looks like we're out of the woods as far as hypo goes so I'm going to give him some time to relax and get some kitty zzzzzs :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top